Chevron Left
Вернуться к Using Python to Interact with the Operating System

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Using Python to Interact with the Operating System от партнера Google

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 4,645
Рецензии: 1,089

О курсе

By the end of this course, you’ll be able to manipulate files and processes on your computer’s operating system. You’ll also have learned about regular expressions -- a very powerful tool for processing text files -- and you’ll get practice using the Linux command line on a virtual machine. And, this might feel like a stretch right now, but you’ll also write a program that processes a bunch of errors in an actual log file and then generates a summary file. That’s a super useful skill for IT Specialists to know. We’ll kick off by exploring how to execute Python locally, and organize and use code across different Python files. We'll then learn how to read and write different types of files, and use subprocesses and input streams. We'll also dive into Bash scripting and regular expressions -- both very powerful tools for anyone working with systems. We'll even touch on automatic testing, which allow us to automate how we check if our code is correct. To finish, we’ll put all this together by using the tools that we’ve acquired to process data and generate automatic reports. We’ll also explain how to set up your own developer environment in your machine. This is a key step in being able to write and deploy powerful automation tools....

Лучшие рецензии

MI

19 нояб. 2020 г.

Great course! I had some previous knowledge, but this was perfect to fill in the gaps. Also, unit testing was completely new to me and will be very useful in future projects. Thanks for making this!

AD

15 июня 2020 г.

In starting five weeks , all answers were directly provided and week 6 and 7 were very tough. So i suggest to equalize the toughness level in all weeks ,ie, no direct spoon feed nor abrupt toughness

Фильтр по:

1076–1100 из 1,111 отзывов о курсе Using Python to Interact with the Operating System

автор: Quenita D

19 мая 2021 г.

Good class but I have a lot of problems to finish my assigments and tests. How I can finish this course if the automatic review does not allowme to pass even though my answer were correct

автор: Zachary B

7 авг. 2020 г.

This course was super slow paced until the last two chapters. The final project is way too hard compared to the other projects.

автор: Jonathan W

15 июля 2021 г.

Some of the test were just cut-and-paste to fill in the code.

The final test was challenging and good to write actual code.

автор: cintya l

26 февр. 2021 г.

I wish the instructor would explain some concepts instead of just reading them.

автор: Kenneth M

16 сент. 2020 г.

I felt this course jumped around to too many topics and was not focused enough.

автор: Chi Y M

29 мар. 2022 г.

concepts could be elaborated more clearly

автор: Olajide A

31 дек. 2020 г.

Not info help struggled to finish

автор: maria g t f

5 мар. 2021 г.

always got rejected by qwiklabs

автор: Huai-An H

7 мар. 2021 г.

Difficult

автор: Angus M

9 нояб. 2021 г.

Do not take this course.

The quizzes are fine. They can be a little obscure, but there are tools on the Internet like Stackoverflow for techniques and the Tryit Editor for testing things out without just handing you the answer. The video lessons are flawed - Coursera wasn't designed to handle code, so the text in the questions screws up any time it's indented too far, forcing you to scroll sideways to read every line. And the non-code questions are usually useless vocab or trivia.

But it's the end-of-chapter labs that make this unsalvageable. Google will ask you to do something, then give you nearly every line of code required to write it. If you try to do it a different way, or execute multiple steps at once, there's a good chance it won't work even if the output is exactly what they asked for.

This will continue until Week 7 when they want you to do something in Ubuntu using a program they provide for you, which you can't read. When your attempt fails, you cannot debug it because you can't read that program. Nor can you stop and try again later if you get stuck because your session will be wiped. Even if you know how to copy your code from Ubuntu - something Google never teaches you - it's untestable outside of the lab session because you don't have the unreadable program.

I spent days of my life on programming sites, struggling to build 99% of the code so I could do the last 1% in the lab, refusing to take the easy out and just ask tech support for the answer, and finally I realized, "Why don't I just drop this class and stop spending 50 bucks a month for the privilege of teaching myself through Stackoverflow?"

Do that. Decide on a little project, maybe some simple math or folder organization. Use Regex101 and Tryit to see if your code works. Let Ubuntu run Python on your computer. Check Stackoverflow and other help sites to see how to transfer files. I promise you that however directionless you might feel, it's better than wading through this tar pit of a course. I am not finishing. Goodbye.

автор: Eduardo S

27 окт. 2020 г.

Sure. From the moment the course started I felt I made a mistake since your google instructors are more interested in their appearance and how they read their script than the content of what they are "teaching."

You sent us many times to "read other resources" rather than going deep and EXPLAIN the concepts yourself, not just let the students assume the responsibility to go deeper which I can guarantee you they will not.

Then, I found very well explained Python courses in youtube where the instructor was sincere, knowledgeable and you didn't have to see his face all the time like yours. He spent 100% of the videos showing a screen with CODE and HOW TO DO THINGS one concept after another non-stop, rather than a stupid face with makeup. I mean, seriously, this is not a class about philosophy where you need more talk than action but the opposite.

Yes, it was your course in general that made me quit and continue on my own. Google meant something when it wasn't evil 20 years ago, but now not so much. Besides, getting a badly explained "certificate" from google is like getting a certificate from Oreo Cookies, Inc. Just embarrassing. Don't you think?

Can I get a refund?

Thanks!

автор: Rameses

26 авг. 2020 г.

I would have given this course a higher rating if it were not for the terrible labs being offered by Qwiklabs using an arhaic test editor. This is no fault of the instructor who presented the material vocally ok but was a bit too trigger happy in not displaying the demo code on the screen long enough for us to see it. Had to keep rewinding to see the code

In the last module(Week 7) we are supposed to write a program from scratch. This involves substantial programming effort since it uses nested dictionaries. The program needs as input a textfile containing logs and named syslog.log It would have helped us tremendously if this file was made available either in the code window or with the option of downloading. Everything else could be copied from the instructions and pasted into our local editor but this one important file is not available.

Add to this typos in the instructions and a lousy editor and you have a nightmare of a time doing this last important lab

Get your act together, Qwiklabs and Google

автор: Forrest C

10 июня 2020 г.

The content the module intends to teach is great. The execution of the module is a dumpster fire especially when arriving at the final lab and final assessment (Beware Python veterans). Those are the points where the module goes from holding your hand too much to forcing you to guess what results the "Progress Checks" are looking for. You are expected to turn their guided pseudo code to functional scripts and even when you achieve the desired result, the content of your script can prevent you from progressing; then it becomes guess work to give it what it wants due to lack of direction from the instructor and lack of feedback from Qwiklabs. Some of the videos were okay but overall, I can't believe Google is okay with putting there name anywhere near this infuriating module. So happy I got it over with.

автор: Tetiana K

16 авг. 2020 г.

I don't recommend this course. As for novices in Python programming, it has a lot of almost not discussed in lectures things. As for other, it is simply time wasting. Seeing some samples, you realize that not all of them are samples of good code. I am not eager of PEP8, but some things about comparisons with True/False are very reasonable.

In labs is using Python3.5 but not declared in the very begging of the course Python3.7. Maybe this is not so important, but some things from re (discussed in the course, by the way) from Python3.7 is unsupported in Python3.5. Also, labs with only dully typing text from one window to another are time wasting. There are some technical issues in labs with home directory accessing. There are no typed scripts from lecture provided. ...

автор: Soh K B

20 июня 2021 г.

***Not recommended for those without knowledge of Linux system***

1. Never taught us 'how and where' to install Linux system especially I am a Windows user and never experienced how exactly Linux works - It should have tutorial on how to install Linux especially you stated "No prior experience required" on the enrollment page!

2. No .py files provided or no additional buttons to download the .py files that used in the tutorials (also never taught how to create a .py file, you have to figure it out and create your own). The instructor straight loaded the .py file onto his Linux system and says "GREAT", "YEAHHH", "If you don't understand, don't worry just rewatch the videos or check it out on the discussion forum blah x3" 😓

автор: Pablo F

23 сент. 2021 г.

Pretty bad experience with this course.

I'm in the Qwiklabs Assessment, week 1, It took me a long time to get into the first assessment due to the poor explanations. Support from Qwiklabs, useless. This is a matter of click and paste and even then, I ended up with an error.

What annoyed me the most is that there were zero explanations about the network module in the course, even that, google decided to evaluate me for that.

But what worried me the most were all the personal info that they asked, I wonder what for.

Is this the way google recruits new kids?

I don't recommend this course to anyone.

автор: Задойный А

22 июля 2020 г.

Ужасный курс.

Первые 5 недель лабораторные делаются по принципу ctrl+c/ctrl+v.

На 6 неделе неожиданно надо выучить BASH вместо Python и задание делать вслепую (т.к. часть информации необходимой для задания не было в лекциях)

На 7 неделе проект оторван от реальности. Грейдер не показывает в чём проблема. В задании не указано как называть файлы (это можно узнать только на форуме), не указано что файлы потом надо переконвертировать.

УЖАСНО!

автор: Huda

10 нояб. 2020 г.

I am super disappointed of this course. It was very complicated and could've been demonstrated and explained in a much more simple way.

I think google instructors need to take some courses on how to be good instructors.

l believe the instructor is not qualified to be teaching beginners. I had to watch youtube videos and study on my own in order to understand the given material.

автор: Alexander M

19 июля 2021 г.

If the labs provided step by step directions it would be worthwhile.

Since you are learning the concepts, it stands to reason that you have no clue about what you are doing. However, this course throws you into the deep end after just barely touching on a topic and expects you to figure it out.

If I could give this a 0/5 rating I would.

автор: JAIN K

8 сент. 2020 г.

Due to some reason,I was not able to complete the course in given time period so I reset my deadline but all my assignment got locked. Also I review the article related to this but it didn't help. So please unlock all the assignment :(

автор: Frank E

30 дек. 2020 г.

This course was terrible. Just terrible. If you want to take this course, either learn Python and BASH first and then take this course or plan on spending a LOT of time researching how to do what you are asked, but never taught.

автор: Ernesto V

22 апр. 2021 г.

I cannot end this course due to an issue with Qwiklabs.

It seems to be an error in Qwiklabs, but there is not a solution yet.

The error has been documented by email directed to support@qwiklabs.com.

автор: man c y

27 мая 2020 г.

Lab fails already in the first wk which many candidates got the same issue as it is a setting problem of the lab. so disappointed with "Google" branded training, again, I will quit this course

автор: Chasity M

18 мар. 2020 г.

Lacking a lot of knowledge in fundamental language explanations and presentation required to pass exams. Only some seemed to be present.

автор: Martin S

23 июня 2022 г.

The first Qwiklabs assignment is giving me an error, however when I ran the same code in pycharm it worked. Can someone please help?