Chevron Left
Вернуться к Using Python to Access Web Data

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Using Python to Access Web Data от партнера Мичиганский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 23,731
Рецензии: 4,253

О курсе

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Основные моменты
High quality content
(рецензий: 256)
Practical assignments
(рецензий: 217)

Лучшие рецензии

AB

Jun 07, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

JM

Dec 03, 2016

I have not found an easy way to learn how to code with python language. Mentor are really helpful and Dr Chuck is one of the most self explain professor that I have met in my three university career.

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 4,119 отзывов о курсе Using Python to Access Web Data

автор: Melissa G

Jan 21, 2016

This course was awesome. Dr. Chuck is by far, the best professor I've yet to come across, and the only one who taught in a way that I could comprehend. He makes the material easy and fun to understand, without too much hand-holding. I feel confident enough to complete assignments without feeling like I'm just parroting code and not learning anything. These courses are awesome and I can't wait to see what he's going to offer next.

автор: Carlos S

Apr 21, 2017

I definitely recommend to anyone interested in python programming to consider take this course with Dr Chuck. It starts from the basic and become a bit challenging and it is enjoyable whiles you start projecting in ways to use it. I am looking forward to continue learning and be prepared to apply it in my work. Thank you Dr Chuck, the way you teach and interest to integrate student from around the world is very much appreciated.

автор: Ojus P

Dec 05, 2015

The professor does a great job of explaining the content in an easily understandable way and is very practical. The assignments require very minimal adjustments to sample code from the lessons so this is far easier than a typical course or say the EdX MIT intro to python course. I came in feeling comfortable in rudimentary python and leave now feeling a lot more prepared to use those skills manipulating the web and calling APIs.

автор: Shiva h k B

Nov 13, 2015

I was sitting behind a proxy server while taking the whole course, I had to get connected to other network without proxy to perform many assignment... It took me some time to realize that urllib can handle proxy server simple by setting an environmental variable. It would be better if Dr. Chuck can give a gist on how to get past proxy in upcoming sessions.

Wrote a crawler and quite often it gets locked up in some kind of error.

автор: venkata A k

Dec 10, 2018

This course will be completely helpful to the people who are learning web-development with Python .This will not be specific to Django or Flask framework .The target is to read the data from the API calls through Xml and Json data . ALso it will tell you the basic URL Encoding and decoding to send the data over the server . Regualr expressoins are universal and this course will help you to teach how to implement it in python.

автор: Dylan K

Nov 24, 2015

Phenomenal. My second completed course with Dr. Chuck as of now, and I cannot wait for the Databases course. This man is not only passionate, but knowledgeable and energetic as well. His courses are the perfect amount of content, and the presentations are always thorough and applied.

Can't say enough good things about the instructor and the course in general. Python newbie to intermediate user thanks to Dr. Chuck -- I love it.

автор: Abhishek S

Oct 21, 2017

There is one thing I believe is missing in some parts. Like Dr. Chuck provide extra material about how networking works. If its possible, may provide material related to REST and APIs and especially about web scraping. Apart from it, everything is great. Real enjoyed the course. Got to learn lot and lots of things about web and finally know the prestige behind the working of internet. All thanks to Dr. Chuck. Thanks a lot.

автор: Clint

May 19, 2019

well scripted course. i think the instructor makes the journey of learning alot more fun than intimidating. id suggest a smoother introduction of API's and use of JSON, a more introductory explanation to the code used (instead of just letting us use it). might be that the code written for the API calling is too advanced for this class? but just stepping through the code a bit slower can help us. thanks for a great course

автор: Alexis b

May 20, 2017

Thanks for this course Dr-Chuck and thanks to Coursera. It was easily comprehensible and constructed for a fast learning. Your clear voice and sentences made it really pleasant for a fluid and fast learning process. Assignments are also well designed so that one can successfully complete it with few effort and understand it fully at the same time. Finished it in 2 days, hope to find others interesting topics from yours !

автор: Jacob E

Dec 25, 2019

I took the whole specialization which I strongly recommend over individual pieces. These courses go through a book provided by Charles Severance. He includes all the material and TONS of code he made. Charles goes through all the code he brings up in the class and explains each piece. There are fluff pieces throughout that are not necessary to pass but offer some history. Overall a great course with a great instructor.

автор: Vincente D P

Mar 02, 2018

Pretty good, did learn about Json, XML, how it all works together and the coding was challenging but made you think which is good. I liked the course, the instructors were very helpful and responded quickly. Only thing I wish is for the instructions to be a little more clear at the end because they're lengthy.

Other than that I really enjoyed this course and the professor is really knowledgeable!

Videos are quick too!

автор: Paul R

Jan 23, 2016

Dr. Chuck's lectures are helpful and engaging. Without them I doubt I would be completing the lessons. My goal is to learn Python specifically to apply toward improving how we develop medicines for the pharmaceutical industry. I began taking Dr. Chuck's UM Coursera course after trying out codeacademy and preferred using my own version of Python and IDE rather than the web based compiler provided by codeacademy.

автор: Shamir T S

Aug 22, 2019

This course it great! I learned so much about accessing APIs and using XML and JSON in python. I even learned a lot about JSON itself, since it was new to me. Everything is clear and explained. Also everything in this course uses the previous two course as building blocks. Those having a lot of trouble with course may need to review the previous two to be sure that they really grasp what was taught there first.

автор: Aria B

Dec 27, 2018

This course is awesome! It shows how to scrape data from the internet in a very easy to learn fashion. There are about 10%~20% of the material that is repetitive between videos/weeks, but generally it is very to the point. One awesome thing about it is that after you get familiar with the underlying material of each week, you learn about a "shortcut" that simplifies all the previous steps. Highly recommended.

автор: Wade W I

Mar 13, 2016

This is the second Coursera course that I have completed; although, I have enrolled in many. Dr. Chuck is one of the best MOOC professors that I have every encountered by far. This course and the quizzes/projects were challenging, but not intimidating. Typically, I have found a disconnect between the lectures/reference material and the quizzes/projects; however, Dr. Chuck has struck the perfect balance.

автор: Michael M

Feb 09, 2016

I liked this course very much! I love Python and now I use it almost every day! There is only one thing that costed me a little more time than others to get used to. I learned Python3 by myself because I was told that Python3 would be more popular. In this course I have had to pay extra attention to the grammar.

Life is short, you need Python. Thank you Chuck! It has been great to learn Python with you!

автор: Jaroslaw W

Jul 13, 2019

Hello

two issue first, in one of assignment i tried to use request lib but it forced me to use urllib only that a little pity, and in last assignment description of it do not mention that user need to use api_key you can only find out that by reading sample code its this information should be included in description for ppl who want to just write code from 0.

But submitting the whole course was great.

автор: Leon C

Mar 01, 2018

The intro to network pdf provided by Dr. Chuck was very helpful. It touches on the overview of how the how internet works yet without going through paiful details of physics, mathematics, and engineering. The assignments and quizzes tests your knowledge on some of the important and underlaying details of python programming language that would definitely help me as a programmer and in computer science

автор: Suman G

Mar 12, 2016

It was an experience for me for a lifetime ! I always dreaded about XML and JSON but this course to an extent removed the fear of XML & JSON of mine. I have to practice a lot in coming days to master XML & JSON and at the same time the Python module "BeautifulSoup".

The course was just gorgeous and our instructor for this course is just great. This is the 3rd course on Python I completed successfully.

автор: Gaurav B

Mar 23, 2018

Pros

I think this is a great course and the pace is fantastic. Love the insight provided by Dr. Chuck on the practical applications and also the sample code so we can reference it when stuck. He also has a playful way of teaching that makes it fun.

Cons

The peer review method though was a little bit frustrating but it is crowd-sourcing and saves effort from a single resource checking all submissions.

автор: Pavel M

Nov 22, 2015

I found this course very useful and learnt how use of regular expressions and later used them to parse HTML pages to look at various tags and content. The use of urllib and BeautifulSoup make my life easier to scrape webpages. Finally, I learnt how to parse XML and JSON.

Again, Thank you Dr Chuck and your team for creating such an interesting and exiting course. I have thoroughly enjoyed this.

автор: Cindy S

Oct 20, 2018

This course was an interesting look into how the web applications we use everyday store and share data. I am a beginner in this field with no background to computer science and found this course to be fun and comprehensible. I think this course needs more assignments where we practice what we learned, because there is a lot of content that has not been reintroduced since the lecture. Loved it.

автор: Mario

Feb 17, 2019

I loved this course because it highlightes the power of python when it comes to requesting data directly from webpages by means of a few lines of code. This course is more interesting than the previous two from the Specializacion because you have to gather all that you learned to understand the lectures and programming assignments. Exercises are not difficult, but they proved to be insightful

автор: Alicia H

May 08, 2018

I have truly enjoyed learning the python language with all of the courses in the Python for everyone specialization! This course in particular has been the "Aha" moment for me in terms of really grasping the language and feeling comfortable and confident with it. Thank you Dr. Chuck, and everyone involved with the creation of these courses. 3 down, 2 to go! See you at the next course!

автор: GANJI M S

Jan 23, 2017

I feel this course is very useful for someone who is new to python and Dr. Chuck's way of teaching is very good. I felt that only young graduates or IT professionals will take the course, but i was surprised after seeing in the bonus videos that many experienced professionals are also taking this course. I strongly recommend this course to someone new to programming. Thank you, Dr. Chuck.