Chevron Left
Вернуться к Using Databases with Python

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Using Databases with Python от партнера Мичиганский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 20,495
Рецензии: 3,147

О курсе

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Основные моменты
High quality course material

(рецензий: 143)

Top rated instructor

(рецензий: 176)

Лучшие рецензии

MM

12 мар. 2018 г.

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

JL

22 июня 2017 г.

Wonderful course! I learnt many useful SQL statements and know how to combine database operations into python program. Dr. Chuck's lectures are always comprehensible and clear. Thank you, professor.

Фильтр по:

151–175 из 3,067 отзывов о курсе Using Databases with Python

автор: Pamela M

28 июня 2016 г.

Dr Chuck is an excellent teacher. His examples are clear, his methods are exemplary, his style is engaging.

This course was listed as Beginner Level and it certainly met that expectation.

Now, if he would only teach an Intermediate course on SQL and Python with more challenging examples, then I'd sign up right now!

автор: Josh J

5 янв. 2021 г.

Dr. Charles is one of the best teachers in an online course. He explains each concept with much vigor and enthusiasm in a conversational and engaging manner, such that it leaves you itching to learn for more. His emphasis is on understanding the concepts and how they apply to the real world, which I really liked.

автор: Patrick M

29 июля 2019 г.

This course is a little more "dry" than the other courses in the series but still very necessary. You'll learn about SQL, JSON, and XML. These are important skills to adequately understand how Python can be used to store large data sets. Overall, Dr. Chuck does a great job as usual by keeping the student engaged.

автор: Luke O

16 янв. 2018 г.

This class was great. It was the first computer science class I have completed that took you beyond working trivial "back of the chapter" programming problems. By the end of the course, I felt like I had a decent preview of what real software was capable of doing, and what it felt like to work on bigger projects.

автор: Sebastian J

3 июня 2020 г.

The series of courses has been really great though I have enjoyed courses 1 and 2 way more than 3 and 4. The instructor is the stand out performer throughout all the courses, simply fantastic. The peer graded assignment takes time to get reviewed by instructors, there should a mechanism to assure faster grading.

автор: Ravikanth G

4 февр. 2017 г.

The best ever course, Dr Charles is at his best and I would recommend this course to everyone who wants to start learning Python. I have gained confidence over Python.

Thank you sir for a clear explanation of all the things, and I would definitely go through the videos multiple times in case I have any questions.

автор: Ilias I

7 мар. 2016 г.

Excellent structure. A course I really enjoyed and learned

Perhaps should add optional assignments for more experienced users, in order to intrigue them. Additionally, upon completion, perhaps the e-mail should contain a link to the "correct" files of alla assignments, in order to assess our progress and methods

автор: Dagart A

7 мая 2020 г.

Using Databases with Python was a great introduction to what is possible with Python. It's not extremely rigorous and in-depth, but it gave me the basics to start learning more. If you are doing the certificate, it is certainly worth continuing through this course. A view into the potential power of databases.

автор: Héctor M

7 сент. 2017 г.

I think this specialization is one of the best ways to start programming. I did start with this course and I cannot be more grateful! I'm currently developing my thesis project on python and I'm using databases, which are real hard to get right! Yet thanks to this particular course I got a huge head start!

автор: Sara L

3 июня 2022 г.

As with the previous courses, this is really well structured and I can see my skills developing. Assignments feel easier - not because they are necessarily, but because I have stronger skills. Not least for finding and fixing my own mistakes! I have loved this course so far, and am excited for part five.

автор: JANA G

4 янв. 2021 г.

From my point of view it was a good introduction into databases and how to use them with python. The provided 'code-skeletons' for the assignments were most helpful and did teach me a lot. Only the last (peer-graded) assignment was a disappointment, since it consists of 'run code and post screen shots'.

автор: Lui P

31 янв. 2016 г.

I happily give 5 stars for this course. In a few words, I appreciated Dr. Chuck's style of teaching being emphatic when needed. The pace of the lessons was good and I could finish the course in a reasonable time, managing to acknowledge all the concepts. Thanks for the teaching, Coursera and UMich team!

автор: Gregory L

8 янв. 2021 г.

Great course, excellent material. My only qualm is that a lot of the work is done for you in the assignments due to the templates, and while fixing what's wrong with them is helpful, a more real life application would (probably) be to build your own stuff from scratch? If I'm wrong, then I'm wrong. : )

автор: Matt W

3 февр. 2022 г.

This was very good in so many ways. I think the bit on object oriented programming needs to be reviewed as I didn't find I gained as much of an intuitive understanding as I did with other parts of the course. On the other hand, I would have like the SQL to go a little further.

Still really enjoyable.

автор: Liu W

1 дек. 2019 г.

Keep going. See you in the next course. You cannot imagine how incredible this course is, and it is especially friendly to those with 0 data/programing/math experience, unless you do enroll in this course and carry on. I start to enjoy programing. Maybe new pages would be revealed in front of me soon.

автор: Aman T

6 апр. 2020 г.

This course very beginner friendly anyone can learn how to use SQL with python . Prof. Dr Chuck know how to teach concept in easy way.. Here I learned how make databases through SQL command and through Python script also. I recommend this course to everyone. At the end Keep Learning and never stop.

автор: Laura S

2 янв. 2017 г.

Love this course! A thoughtful introduction to using python with databases. A great way to learn the basics of object oriented programming and databases. Dr. Chuck explains everything clearly and I like the way he gradually builds upon previous knowledge to explain each new layer of information.

автор: Ewa L

30 нояб. 2020 г.

I so enjoyed this course!

Indeed sql is an excellent language. I learnt so much about database concept and data processing. I had tools and examples to practice and found it very rewarding.

I ever admire Dr Chuck's sense of humour and charisma that makes the corse even more fun and easy to complete.

автор: Ananya P

9 янв. 2017 г.

This was another superb course!! However I'd still suggest the following to make it even more complete:

1) Please also show how to connect/operate with other DBMS like Oracle, MySQL using Python (at least briefly).

2) Please delve a little deeper into OOP topics in Python, it looked a bit cut-short.

автор: Umesh R

22 дек. 2015 г.

Dr Chuck,

Databases was a dreaded subject for me. Tried my hands a couple of times and left it alone. Thanks to you and your team (if any), I am pretty confident of designing small scale DBs and play around with it.

Again, simplification of explanations holds the key here. Kudos!!!

rgds,

umesh

автор: Wing J D

3 февр. 2016 г.

I enjoy taking this course and learning how to interface with the database via Python. I also appreciate Dr. Charles Severance for archiving and providing the bonus interview videos with legendary computer scientists such as Niklaus Wirth and Andrew S. Tanenbaum. They are worth watching!

автор: Ricardo B

6 дек. 2017 г.

A little bit of trouble with the Google API. The course materials should be updated, since it's not as straightforward as Chuck says in the lectures. I know this is because Google recently changed some stuff regarding API permissions, but still–course content should always be up to date.

автор: Célia B

29 дек. 2021 г.

I've finished the 4 courses and it was so great! I've learned so much and I wasn't expecting to have fun but I did. What is even more rewarding is that I've been able to write my very first python code for my own poject thanks to what I've learned. So thank you to Dr Chuck and his team!

автор: Abhinuv N P

2 апр. 2017 г.

Excellent course. Really loved the programming assignments as they were short and simple. Mainly focusing on the concepts learned. Instead of having to write the entire program from scratch. Prof provided us with the template which could be edited to practice and implement the concepts.

автор: Craig W

27 янв. 2016 г.

Really enjoyed this part of the course, I work with databases so it was great to add an element of programming to my background knowledge, I felt a bit cheated with the final week as it was more of an over view rather than a programming assignment but it was interesting to see how every