Chevron Left
Вернуться к Задачи государственной политики в 21 веке

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Задачи государственной политики в 21 веке от партнера Виргинский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 1,321
Рецензии: 342

О курсе

This course introduces class participants to the political significance and societal consequences of challenges facing U.S. and international policymakers. It is designed to help participants develop skills to analyze policy proposals and advocate for their preferred options for issues on the public policy agenda ahead. The class assumes basic knowledge about governing institutions and democratic processes, while recommending supplemental materials for further study to complement reading links provided. The course focuses on future policy challenges, while examining the broad historical context in which policies are adopted and implemented. As the course evaluates how issues are advanced by private sector interests, non-governmental organizations, and government policymakers, it examines how groups become effective policy advocates. Particular attention is paid to how winning coalitions are formed and how issue framing shapes the outcome of policy campaigns. The goal is neither to produce partisan talking points, nor to favor one governance philosophy over others. Rather it is to clarify the public policy challenges ahead and to enhance participants’ understanding of how policy options are adopted in the real world arena of contemporary politics. This course will be officially closing on November 5, 2021 and all course work must be completed by May 15, 2022 to be graded....

Лучшие рецензии

TA
26 сент. 2019 г.

To know the "Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century" is more essential for the global people in this era. Thanks for the opportunity. I hope it will give a concise idea to learn on it...

GM
23 апр. 2020 г.

This course does not focus on any partisan interest but rather inspires you to think deeply, challenges you to reason beyond the status quo, and empowers you with the tools to make an impact!

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 342 отзывов о курсе Задачи государственной политики в 21 веке

автор: Lauren L

20 сент. 2015 г.

I am very pleased with the structure and content of this course. I have taken over a dozen clases on Coursera in the past year across a wide variety of disciplines and this is definitely one I am going to see through to the end. If you are interested in how public policy drive governments, corporations , and NGO's behaviour which in turn impacts directly upon individuals and entire populations, this is a great primer. Highly recommended.

автор: Nynke v D

31 янв. 2016 г.

Primarily focused on US politics and the US policy system. Discusses mostly the problems with the US system of governance and it therefore not really useful for international viewers.

автор: Jillian A

23 апр. 2021 г.

This course provided an extraordinary foundation for those interested in pursuing a career in public service. It instills approaches every leader should have at the center of their philosophy -- a will to get things done for the people they represent, whether that means compromising, finding common ground, or applying knowledge of history, both near and distant, where similar initiatives were attempted. I appreciated the line toed between the existence of growing divisiveness in our government, media, and in some ways, our constituency, and how up-and-coming leaders do not need to fall prey to this new status quo. Armed with a conscience dedicated to the goodwill of citizens and knowledge of public policy challenges extending all the way back to our founding fathers, this course inspires courageous leaders who are unafraid to pick up the torch of the American experiment. Each week's topics included lessons that can be applied across a broad spectrum of career paths. Even at a city council level the introductory understanding provided of US China relations or the healthcare debate can contribute to one's critical thinking skills and motivate one to seek forward-moving solutions even when faced with daunting accelerating change. This course transformed my perspective on problem-solving, with an embrace of change, the seeking of common ground, and the importance of timing when it comes to the natural pendulum bouncing between what may at times seem like irreversible extremes now at the core of my outlook. Every guest speaker, coming from a wide variety of backgrounds, presented substantial material articulately from a place of strong reputability. Professor Warburg is an outstanding professor, and I wish I was lucky enough to partake in a semester-long course at the Batten School under his tutelage. Even with this abbreviated online course he was able to convey so many impactful lessons I will carry throughout my career, and be so much better because of it. Thank you to Professor Warburg, the guest speakers, and the University of Virginia's Batten School for putting together this online course whose teachings I will share with pride. With so many able to consume resources like this, I too share Professor Warburg's optimism in the effectiveness of our global young leaders.

автор: Aedrian A

17 сент. 2021 г.

This course is a highly engaging teaser to the bolts and nuts of public policy as well as to the undergraduate/graduate student experience at UVA. While I initially planned to take this offering in a longer span of time (one “week” of videos every week), I felt that I could not get enough of it and finished the material in less than a week. The insights provided by the course creator and the guest resource persons across a wide variety of issues were eye-opening and incisive. Even though I live outside the United States, the challenges and concerns presented are arguably “universal” or transnational – climate change, discontent with governments and politicians, bureaucratic inefficiencies and relations with other nations, among others, are issues that do not respect borders. Furthermore, as a casual spectator of US affairs, the material clarified a lot of details regarding the governance systems in the most powerful democracy in the globe. The importance of caring about politics, even if we are not professionally interested in it as politicians or functionaries, is greatly emphasized. My only suggestion to improve the course is to further expand the content; as mentioned in one of the videos, there are more topics covered in the in-person college course, where the material was taken, that were not included in this MOOC. I highly recommend this course to beginners in public policy – those interested to have a career on this field eventually or those who have already specialized in another line of work wishing to make sense of the apparent dysfunction in the political process.

автор: Desi L P S

26 февр. 2021 г.

As I began to learn the enormity of Public Policy challenges, my first semester of learning Public Policy went on a voyage full of questions; some founded the answers, some still need to be discovered. Joining the "Public Policy Challenges of The 21st Century" course generously made available by University of Virginiais freshwater to my thirst of knowledge, especially in light of practical challenges policymakers experienced, right on the table of where difficult discussion raised, or outside the formal and constitutional environment in which public policy widely perceived to be likely progressed. I found a session brought by U.S. Senator Tim Kaine on War Powers, which left a strong impression on my understanding of public policy challenges. Senator Kaine had stetted an example and elaborated clearly how public policy is not always dealing with dreams of society's progressive development and grueling efforts to ensure any political agenda worth the battle that may arise or unavoidable. I also echo Professor Gerry Warburg's opinion that knowledge is power. There is urgency in steering the knowledge exploration beyond our known and precedent viewpoints in addressing public policy challenges.

автор: Benjamin P J

26 сент. 2020 г.

This was a very enjoyable and thought-provoking course which examined a variety of policy issues. I particularly liked the non-partisan nature of discussions, and the presence of a broad range of speakers with different experience and viewpoints. The pre-lecture readings, lecture transcripts, note-taking option and on-screen discussion questions all helped to create a very learner-friendly experience. While the discussions centre on American policy issues, many of these are invariably general enough to apply to any country (e.g. healthcare challenges, governance structures, etc). I would recommend reading the National Intelligence Council report (found under 'suggested readings') before beginning module 2, as this provides a global overview of many of the issues to be discussed in subsequent weeks.

автор: Diptarka S

15 окт. 2020 г.

I thoroughly enjoyed the course and had the opportunity to re-evaluate and analyze my own class lessons as a MA Public Policy and Governance student back in India. The key element about this course is the unbiased universal approach to the public policy challenges the world faces today at transnational, national and local levels. Even an average non-policy student will be able to comprehend most of the talks in this course. Though this course focuses more on the US perspective, the challenges talked about in here are global which may benefit a citizen of any country influenced by public institutions.

Key takeaway- The GT 2030 report reference in each session made all the discussed policy challenges easy to understand.

автор: Stephen M

4 февр. 2021 г.

I thoroughly enjoyed the structure of the course, selection of topics, and broad spectrum of political and ideological beliefs represented. I work in the private sector in a government affairs role and found this course helpful in re-aligning and strengthening my foundational skill set in how I assess and critically thing about public policy. I only hope the Batten School will add a graduate level online course in the future. Thank you for making this terrific course accessible virtually. We would be a better nation of citizens if it was required learning for adult Americans.

автор: Andre d G C

23 июня 2021 г.

As an introductory course on public policy and leadership for the 21st century, this course covers the great issues involved in the challenges the new generations will face in the near future. The course offers talks from key speakers who have a long experience and excellency on public policy analysis and administration, and this allows the students to view things from different perspectives and how any policy maker will have to engage in all of these angles to be able to find solutions that are efficient and up to the challenges of the 21st century.

автор: Lorelyn D

31 окт. 2020 г.

I am from the Philippines, advocating Constitutional Changes for Federal and Parliamentary and for strong political parties system. Passionate as I am in public service, I became one of the founders of the Centrist Democratic Party of the Philippines which vision and goals were so clear to me. But reality is harsh. ... Yet after having this lesson here, I have learned so much and emboldened and empowered to use these aspirations and realizations in my own country and to perserver.

автор: Dana T

21 февр. 2021 г.

As someone that has been watching the changing political landscape, this course was a helpful introduction to the world of public policy. I walk away feeling more equipped to engage in articulate discussion. Also, given that it's 2021, and this course was filmed in 2014/15, it's interesting to see what things have come to pass. I'd definitely recommend this course. The material is strong, and ages well since it looks at both the past, present, and future.

автор: Edgar C

1 нояб. 2020 г.

Es un curso muy bueno, creo que hoy día a todos nos tiene que interesar la política porque es lo que marca nuestro destino y el destino de nuestros hijos. Justamente estoy pensando realizar una Maestría en Gobernanza y Política Publica, solamente que aun estoy preparado lo suficiente en el idioma ingles, pero este me ayudo bastante con la modalidad de subtitulo en que imparte el presente curso. Muchas gracias Coursera por la oportunidad.

автор: SAAD W G

30 июня 2020 г.

this course was quite fruitful. I really enjoyed it at large. An amazing thing related to the course was that it put a complete picture of many problems lying ahead in near future and, moreover, some potential ways to tackle them in best possible manners. Additionally, it encouraged the students to come forward with creative thinking to undertake the coming pandorabox full of atrocious setbacks.

автор: Thomas C

23 июня 2017 г.

At this point, the "Public Policy Challenges of the 21st Century" course is one-of-a-kind innovative effort to provide an overview of the field and what a MPP program might look like for people interested in tackling public policy issues. The Batten School is leading the way on this and I hope to visit the program in person in the fall. I also hope to see more like it on Coursera in the future.

автор: Samah A J

26 февр. 2020 г.

The course puts the challenges on the table of discussion and encourages them to find common ground. Although the world needs armchair analysts, passionate women, and men who are creative with policy alternatives are needed. To know when to compromise after considering the principles and crafting the tools is my lesson learned. I passed the course but it is not a 'touch and go' course.

автор: Eloise C

26 нояб. 2019 г.

T

h

a

t

c

o

u

r

s

e

w

a

s

r

e

a

l

l

y

i

n

t

r

e

s

t

i

n

g

a

n

d

usefull for my relfexions about the challenges i'll have to take on in the future. It really encouraged my to think about several subjects. It also really prouve me that I can influence on those challenges, and I feel I can be usfull to my and all the futures générations. A lot was said during those courses, but I know much remains to be said…

автор: Tawni M

29 сент. 2015 г.

It has provided me the knowledge and hope to be able to stay on top of local and federal government. The course was easily accessible and with the ability to go at my own pace to research, daily tasks and disability; I was able to successfully gain the knowledge I have desired for so long. Thank UVA and Frank Batton for providing this opportunity and gift of knowledge.

автор: Mohamed A

5 авг. 2020 г.

In the formation of grand strategies that remains ambitious Proper Puplic Policy formation can address the disconnections in the knowledge management which seems a particular challenge in the post-conflict states. This course is important and it is recommended to all those who are dealing with any of the challenges in the public sector in General.

автор: Stacey H

28 мая 2018 г.

Truly an excellent course with a diverse selection of topics and speakers. I was blown away. However, I am doing this in 2018. Given the drastic changes in American Politics since the November 2016 elections, which is causing tectonic shifts in global policy issues, this course needs to be URGENTLY updated. By the way, I am NOT an American citizen.

автор: Annabella R

19 авг. 2015 г.

Wonderful speakers! Prof Warburg was artful and generous in this curriculum with a great showcase of speakers, topics and richness of content.. I took as a review and refresher of US public policy and also wanting to know the most current issues/ conversations. The Frank Batten School and UVA were amazing, timely and thoughtful. Thank you!!

автор: Alisher J

7 сент. 2015 г.

This course was higly informative. Throughout this course, new things will be learned and lessons are pretty understandable.

What I like most about this course, is that there were actual students, asking questions, which put me into atmosphere of real university.

Thank you, Professor Warburg and all the staff and lecturers that were invited!

автор: Soraia M

3 окт. 2020 г.

Amazing course! Especially if you are a novice and want to comprehend U.S policy. However, it also brings up universal topics that are affecting our daily life and will affect our way to discuss policy. Because at the end of the day, we all talk about politics and give opinions. This course will give fundaments to several opinions.

автор: Ambika K

26 янв. 2018 г.

Fantastic Learning! I am a Public Policy professional in India- working on specific US- India Policies, for over a decade. This Course helped me learn/ reinforce many ideas and idealogies that will help broaden my thinking horizon- and approach towards domestic and multinational public policies ( making and implementation).

Thank You!

автор: Imran U A

21 апр. 2017 г.

A Very informative course that makes ones mind open that rapid technological changes are not enough to put peer presure on the policy making governing departments, rather an input at each level (citizens & Public) and thinking at broader aspect can bring the constant change to a new level and thus will benefit the national interest.

автор: Kevin R A B

29 июля 2020 г.

An informative and very relevant discussion. This will surely help us. future policy makers in understanding issues that affects our nations on a national level and even on an international level. I hope that there will be part two of this course that focuses on Local Government or State Government. Thank you and God Bless.