Chevron Left
Вернуться к Первая психологическая помощь

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Первая психологическая помощь от партнера Университет Джонса Хопкинса

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 10,218
Рецензии: 2,619

О курсе

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Лучшие рецензии

KG

Apr 16, 2020

A wonderful course with clear explanations and case scenarios to help reinforce learning. I was truly engaged throughout the course and felt like I learned a lot more than I anticipated when going in.

NL

Apr 05, 2020

The course is made in a very easy to learn and practical way. The RAPID model is easy to remember and can be very helpful in demanding events, such as the actual global situation and its consequences.

Фильтр по:

2276–2300 из 2,609 отзывов о курсе Первая психологическая помощь

автор: Kathleen N

Jan 18, 2018

E

автор: Mark M

Jun 06, 2020

This course gives an introduction to a PFA, something I had zero prior knowledge of. One should treat this course purely as that, and introduction which is what I was chasing. Further learning and experience would be needed if you want to apply PFA completely yourself. That said it does give you snippets of useful actions/responses that can be applied in general life.

The presenter is very articulate and pleasant to listen to.

In regards to the presentation of the material a couple of comments.

1. The simulation videos are a good attempt to demonstrate how, and how not to, engage. They are simplistic / sanitized to a fair degree without considering a lot of other environmental factors (like pople showing real distress in background perhaps, a setting that isnt so clean and ordered, dealing with kids, seeing physical injuries etc) BUT to do so could have drawn attention away from the core basic message.

2. The main case study type video. The issue of it being old is not a problem, but it didnt involve actualy discussions with people immediately after the event, rather these were all some time after the event. These people have moved on (one way or another) from PFA already.

3. Speaking of Videos. Although lecturer introduces each lecture on video himeslef, the main lecture videos are just going through slides. This is less engaging

4. The content was good for a first timer.

A number of others reviews have given a more detailed critique of where the course should have gone. I recommend reading one By Fernando H C, April 2020 (Filter for 3 stars) which is a very insightful and useful review

автор: Claire C

Jul 02, 2020

This course is a good starting point for those without experience in mental health care but want to show up and be there for their communities. It is well designed to meet the course objectives. Reflective listening and assessment of needs are relatively easy to understand, but the course could include more case studies, and more complex case studies, to facilitate the learning of prioritisation (triage) and intervention, as these two aspects are harder to imagine or relate to, for people like me without field experience. The course is meant to be general and introductory, but more emphasis on how PFA changes when working with populations with different characteristics, would be more inclusive and beneficial to everyone, for example children and elderly, people with disabilities, people from non-western/ westernized cultures, groups that are already marginalized or traumatized to begin with. Even if no explicit guidance could be provided because the topic may be too complex for a beginners level course, at the very least, an emphasis just to raise awareness, and some further reading material, are necessary.

автор: Nurul A

Aug 26, 2017

It was concise but certainly informative to learn and understand the techniques involved in PFA. For those with a background in psychology, the course will be an "add-on" to your knowledge on a method that is slightly distinctive from those that we might learned in therapy (especially in terms of PFA's goals and applications of techniques). The course will outline the difference between clinical psychological help vs. PFA - and that will be the crux of the difference between the two. One thing that I hope can be improved in the future is that, in assessment quizzes, when choosing an incorrect answer, I'd appreciate an explanation on why that answer is wrong - especially on question that requires analysis and application of the techniques taught. In my personal experience, it is often due to a lack of understanding on what might set the two techniques a part - rooted in an inability to distinguish their difference. Hence, an explanation can be helpful. Regardless, it has been an interesting!

автор: MD. R A

May 22, 2020

Thanks to John Hopkins University and Professor George Everly (PhD) for providing a dice for such a Beautiful learning. I completed the Certificate course selection successfully.

Also thanks to #Coursera for bring this

The information, simulations and assessments all worked perfectly and now I feel better prepared for any sort of adversity and eager to help those in need.

It has helped me a lot to gain a whole view on the best way to help others when they are facing psychological distress situations. This can help me on my work environment.

I am happy to know some techniques which can help me help others.

The way Dr. George Everly explains the contents of the course is beautiful, easy to understand. Even the tone of his voice makes easy to follow him and listening to him.

The fact that there are transcripts helped me a lot incase I would not understand something (my mother tongue is not English).

автор: Marc G

Sep 06, 2017

The subject matter of this course was very interesting, and definitely applicable by large layers of the population. Given the importance of knowing how to do psychological first aid and how to do it well, I wish the instructor would have spent more time going into more detail in each of the five stages of RAPID. I felt that the course provided a very good overview of the Johns Hopkins model, but didn't delve deep enough into its actual implementation; in other words, the course provides the skeleton of PFA, but could benefit from fleshing it out a bit by discussing specific instructors, protocols, and techniques. Either way, the course has been helpful in showing that this is an area of interest where I would like to do some more work, so thank you for that!

автор: Hailey G

Jun 13, 2020

This course was interesting and engaging. It certainly delivered what it promised, a course in PFA (RAPID model) intended for those without much of a mental health background. While I completed the course with enhanced knowledge and more confident in my ability deliver PFA to those in acute distress, I would've appreciated more detailed explanations in how to carry out some of the steps of the RAPID model. I also would've benefited from seeing more simulations, either of different situations or of different responses to the same situation, rather than viewing the same simulation repeatedly. Ultimately, I am glad I took the course and received the certification. I would recommend taking it if you have the time.

автор: Bianca Y

May 27, 2020

The course was very brief and very direct to the point. I think my only problem was that the teaching was done in a very dull manner–just showing PowerPoint slides and explaining what's on it.

That aside, I really appreciated that they would show a simulation every time a lecture would finish, so you understand how it can be applied or observed. Though the course is not directly related to my field, I feel that I've gained a new sense of appreciation for Psychological First Aid (PFA) because they were able to really emphasize the need for it during the lectures. I really hope more people can take this, because it'd really help improve your capacity to help other people especially in times of crisis.

автор: Abigail J S

Oct 28, 2016

I found the course informative, interesting and well presented, with two exceptions:

a. There was some use of profession-specific terminology/jargon, which is problematic when addressing a target audience from outside the same profession.

b. It is repeatedly stated in the course that no two interventions are done the same, and yet only one intervention simulation is used. I would have liked to see multiple simulations covering a range of possible interactions, to afford a more comprehensive understanding of survivor reactions and appropriate intervention responses.

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed the course and found myself eager, at the end of each lesson, to get stuck into the next.

автор: Katharina T

May 18, 2020

I think for someone who has not studied Psychology this course is a very nice introduction on how to approach and priotize needs of someone in a crisis. As I have studied Psychology, I have to say that most of the knowledge conveyed was fimiliar to me. Also the material is sometimes not that well presented. The videos are short but it would have felt more "interactive" if there would be a visible professor speaking or if sometimes there would be pop-up questions on what has been said so far in the video. But all in all I had the feeling to do some revision which is valuable and I did not specifically know the RAPID model, so I had a little gain in knowledge. Thank you!

автор: Kate O

Jun 16, 2020

Essential information presented in a clear and accessible manner. Would benefit from a more engaging presentation method like more video of the speaker. If slides are to be used exclusively, incorporate color and a more attractive layout.

Actor simulations achieved their goal but were unnecessarily slow-paced.

The disaster video clips were a powerful element and a critical tool that brought all the content together and illustrated many concepts and circumstances discussed. I'm glad there was so much of it to review and that the speakers (storm victims) varied considerably in demographics, emotional reactions, language used, and in their responses to memories.

автор: Monica M

May 04, 2020

Very useful and applicable to real life (even if the trauma is not a huge common disaster, but more personal in someone's life). Professor calm and easy to understand.

I didn't give five stars because the materials and lectures seem dated (there is a point where it becomes clear that the material is more than ten years old) and more efforts could be made to make the talks more animated or add to the slides with graphics (e.g. take a look at the graphics in the 'Introduction to Negotiation' course offered by Yale).

But overall fulfilled my wishes to take a class which is relevant for my professional further development requirements.

автор: Selina B

Feb 03, 2017

Great course! Sometimes it got a little bit boring and in the next moment the important information was too fast spoken to me (no native speaker) - but i enjoyed, that some complicated sentecnes have always been repeated in more simple language without too many foreign words! I also enjoyed the videos with the false/correct methods which were shown. Dr. Everly has a good voice and pronaunciation, so that i was able to listen. also great, that the quiz has no timelimit, like questions need to be anwered in 3 minutes, because i had to translate a view words into german to understand the questions and this needs time. thanks!

автор: Hana B

Jul 01, 2020

The information was presented in a clear and organized way. I found it a little dry at first, since seeing nothing but static slides didn't feel very engaging but later the content got more interesting. I think the course could be improved with added visuals illustrating the key points on each slide. Every person learns differently and some people absorb new information more easily from image or graphics s rather than plain text. Also, as another reviewer noted, I found it amusing how many times Dr. Everly repeats that he's been doing this for over 40 years. Overall a very good course and I appreciate that it's free.

автор: Nada H

Jul 10, 2020

Personally, I found the course really interesting and engaging. The simulations provided along with the quizzes really made me grasp the concept. It's a great introductory course for beginners in the field as it gives a basic outline of what should happen, but it doesn't provide details for those looking for how to actually provide psychological first aid. (Also, if you're a mental health student or practitioner looking to further you're knowledge, this is not the course for you. In the introduction, it's explicitly stated that this course is aimed for NON-MENTAL health workers with no background in mental health.)

автор: Michael C

Apr 15, 2020

Seems to cover what would be needed in the psychological field, also does a good job in establishing that this is a bit different than therapy, even though there will be plenty of overlap. Being a recent graduate, there were concepts I already knew, however, the experience brought to the table helped me to consider some more of the practical considerations that are necessary for being involved in people's lives like we aim to do. Was a little difficult watching the videos about how not to help someone and I would have appreciated more than one example of how to do it right. Solid foundations to build on overall.

автор: Eva K

Aug 03, 2020

some answers in the quizzes were not at all covered in the material, for example question about evidence based intervention and in the field trauma intervention. the questions were ambigious to me. the score should be 70% to pass, not 80%. Questions were confusing and I learned more from George's dialogue than from any slides or badly formulated, irrelevant quizzes. the question were taken from other modules sometimes not relevant to the module in test. The questions were chaotic. I liked the honesty, committment and humanity of Georgre Everly the most. His attitude was humble and true to the core. thank you.

автор: Wei T H

May 22, 2020

Fairly well presented and taught. Knowledge provide is quite important and useful. However, actual skills and experience is important for PFA and online lectures without practice limits the value of the learning. Might help to include some form of roleplay involvement on the part of students, although this is admittedly difficult to execution online. However, a fairer critique would be that the module on self-care can afford to be more in-depth. Perhaps methods of self-care could be shared, as well as the value of reflection and debriefing.

автор: Maria T R

May 14, 2020

I am very satisfied with the course

I point out the lack of the Italian language as an option of choice.

I'm sorry I have certainly lost the depth and meaning of some language barrier teachings. I believe this was the source of my mistakes.

Given the excellence of the course, I invite you to include the Italian language ..... we are not many in the world ... but we are a people open to learning and inclined to relationships and exchange therefore it is a pity that the Italian language does not is covered in your course.

автор: Naga V K I

Apr 02, 2018

Good introduction to the psychological first aid (PFA). This is the first time I took a course like this. It was ver informative. The speaker introduced RAPID model for PFA and went into detail of each of the steps of the RAPID model. Also provided is simulations of right and wrong ways of using the techniques learnt, which was really informative. Overall, course is great, me bring a beginner in this field. The course is short, and concise and to the point. Thanks Dr. Everly, John Hopkins, and Coursera for the course.

автор: Natalie

Aug 23, 2017

This was an excellent course. It provided a basic understanding of PFA, going through the John's Hopkins RAPID model for treating someone in acute psychological distress. I got a lot more out of the course than I intended. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I am still not quite sure I could go into the field right now and utilize the skills I learned in class. While the fact-based knowledge obtained in class was superior, I wish there was a way to practice. Thank you, Dr. Everly for a wonderful course!

автор: Sarah N

Apr 12, 2017

I liked all the content though I thought presentation of it was a bit boring, a lot of the what not to do examples were a bit obvious or extreme rather than attempting to shed light on the subtle mistakes one might be inclined to do. Some of the quiz questions seemed almost purposefully confusing or worded in a trick way, which felt a little pointless. Otherwise I've enjoyed everything I've learned and would definitely take another PFA course, maybe a level 2 or something.

автор: Vaishali

May 07, 2020

I am psychology student and this course was very helpful to understand the basic things like active listening, forming rapport etc. Psychological First Aid is really a very interesting topic to study and to understand, not only for mental health or social workers but for everyone who wish to know about psychological first aid. The simulation videos were very helpful to understand practically. Thank you George sir to guide us through out the course.

автор: Yueh Q C

May 16, 2020

I think it is definitely a good introduction to psychological first aid. However, the topics weren't discussed in-depth and there were a lot of lingering questions by the end of each module. It would be great to see more examples presented instead of just 1 simulation if possible. If you are looking for something much more informational or detailed, you might probably want to read the book at your own pace or take a more advanced course.

автор: Katherine M

Jun 23, 2020

I thought this course was extremely interesting and useful for people potentially going into healthcare. I am also a leader for an outdoor education group and am grateful to have these tools now in case anything happens while we are in the field. I feel better prepared for my future in medicine and the outdoors! My only critique is that the slides were very boring and I often found it hard to keep focused. Other than that, it was great!