Chevron Left
Вернуться к Первая психологическая помощь

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Первая психологическая помощь от партнера Университет Джонса Хопкинса

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 16,100
Рецензии: 3,946

О курсе

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Лучшие рецензии

KG
15 апр. 2020 г.

A wonderful course with clear explanations and case scenarios to help reinforce learning. I was truly engaged throughout the course and felt like I learned a lot more than I anticipated when going in.

ED
22 мая 2020 г.

I am very happy and satisfied with the course program. In fact, I am excited to apply what I have learned and also looking forward to enroll in another course. Thank you for this learning opportunity!

Фильтр по:

3476–3500 из 3,953 отзывов о курсе Первая психологическая помощь

автор: Claire C

2 июля 2020 г.

This course is a good starting point for those without experience in mental health care but want to show up and be there for their communities. It is well designed to meet the course objectives. Reflective listening and assessment of needs are relatively easy to understand, but the course could include more case studies, and more complex case studies, to facilitate the learning of prioritisation (triage) and intervention, as these two aspects are harder to imagine or relate to, for people like me without field experience. The course is meant to be general and introductory, but more emphasis on how PFA changes when working with populations with different characteristics, would be more inclusive and beneficial to everyone, for example children and elderly, people with disabilities, people from non-western/ westernized cultures, groups that are already marginalized or traumatized to begin with. Even if no explicit guidance could be provided because the topic may be too complex for a beginners level course, at the very least, an emphasis just to raise awareness, and some further reading material, are necessary.

автор: Ljiljana E

31 дек. 2020 г.

Informative, well structured, rounds up at the end in much needed summary, especially if you were attending to the lectures when you could; easily digested and followed. It should be taught at school together with the first aid to make us more functional humans. To know things that matter such as how to help each other. I would always think as with anything else 'it can always be done better' , hence 4/5 - but that's just me. Perhaps more examples where PFA was applied . I know that during this pandemic my first response was to switch off TV, open window, observe nature and set up as many regular calls with friends and family . None of that shopping craze , just daily walks, distance and masks . I wonder whether PFA would be extended to or branch out in a separate thing for what we are experiencing now for future pandemic response or was that embedded in regular conferences by Government and TV ads with somebody asking 'No really how are you?' ?

Anyhow, I enjoyed the course, so thank you !

автор: Nurul A

26 авг. 2017 г.

It was concise but certainly informative to learn and understand the techniques involved in PFA. For those with a background in psychology, the course will be an "add-on" to your knowledge on a method that is slightly distinctive from those that we might learned in therapy (especially in terms of PFA's goals and applications of techniques). The course will outline the difference between clinical psychological help vs. PFA - and that will be the crux of the difference between the two. One thing that I hope can be improved in the future is that, in assessment quizzes, when choosing an incorrect answer, I'd appreciate an explanation on why that answer is wrong - especially on question that requires analysis and application of the techniques taught. In my personal experience, it is often due to a lack of understanding on what might set the two techniques a part - rooted in an inability to distinguish their difference. Hence, an explanation can be helpful. Regardless, it has been an interesting!

автор: MD. R A

22 мая 2020 г.

Thanks to John Hopkins University and Professor George Everly (PhD) for providing a dice for such a Beautiful learning. I completed the Certificate course selection successfully.

Also thanks to #Coursera for bring this

The information, simulations and assessments all worked perfectly and now I feel better prepared for any sort of adversity and eager to help those in need.

It has helped me a lot to gain a whole view on the best way to help others when they are facing psychological distress situations. This can help me on my work environment.

I am happy to know some techniques which can help me help others.

The way Dr. George Everly explains the contents of the course is beautiful, easy to understand. Even the tone of his voice makes easy to follow him and listening to him.

The fact that there are transcripts helped me a lot incase I would not understand something (my mother tongue is not English).

автор: Alicia M L

2 сент. 2020 г.

This is a great next class after an Intro to Psych. It really focuses on being strong mentally and following the RAPID model appears to be a proven approach to the assessment process, providing a direct way to provide assistance in the least amount of time possible. The first and most important thing is the victim/patient receive immediate and direct care as quickly as possible.

Because of the model, a lot is repetitious and it was easy to shift my attention for portions of it, (I understand that some people learn by repetition and it is important to review the information).

I definitely found the area of self care important in a perspective I hadn't thought of before. I appreciate that and what I did learn from this course.

Besides the repetition and sometimes quick speaking of the Professor, overall, It was a great course!

автор: Marc G

6 сент. 2017 г.

The subject matter of this course was very interesting, and definitely applicable by large layers of the population. Given the importance of knowing how to do psychological first aid and how to do it well, I wish the instructor would have spent more time going into more detail in each of the five stages of RAPID. I felt that the course provided a very good overview of the Johns Hopkins model, but didn't delve deep enough into its actual implementation; in other words, the course provides the skeleton of PFA, but could benefit from fleshing it out a bit by discussing specific instructors, protocols, and techniques. Either way, the course has been helpful in showing that this is an area of interest where I would like to do some more work, so thank you for that!

автор: Hailey G

13 июня 2020 г.

This course was interesting and engaging. It certainly delivered what it promised, a course in PFA (RAPID model) intended for those without much of a mental health background. While I completed the course with enhanced knowledge and more confident in my ability deliver PFA to those in acute distress, I would've appreciated more detailed explanations in how to carry out some of the steps of the RAPID model. I also would've benefited from seeing more simulations, either of different situations or of different responses to the same situation, rather than viewing the same simulation repeatedly. Ultimately, I am glad I took the course and received the certification. I would recommend taking it if you have the time.

автор: Bianca Y

27 мая 2020 г.

The course was very brief and very direct to the point. I think my only problem was that the teaching was done in a very dull manner–just showing PowerPoint slides and explaining what's on it.

That aside, I really appreciated that they would show a simulation every time a lecture would finish, so you understand how it can be applied or observed. Though the course is not directly related to my field, I feel that I've gained a new sense of appreciation for Psychological First Aid (PFA) because they were able to really emphasize the need for it during the lectures. I really hope more people can take this, because it'd really help improve your capacity to help other people especially in times of crisis.

автор: Abigail J S

28 окт. 2016 г.

I found the course informative, interesting and well presented, with two exceptions:

a. There was some use of profession-specific terminology/jargon, which is problematic when addressing a target audience from outside the same profession.

b. It is repeatedly stated in the course that no two interventions are done the same, and yet only one intervention simulation is used. I would have liked to see multiple simulations covering a range of possible interactions, to afford a more comprehensive understanding of survivor reactions and appropriate intervention responses.

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed the course and found myself eager, at the end of each lesson, to get stuck into the next.

автор: Katharina T

18 мая 2020 г.

I think for someone who has not studied Psychology this course is a very nice introduction on how to approach and priotize needs of someone in a crisis. As I have studied Psychology, I have to say that most of the knowledge conveyed was fimiliar to me. Also the material is sometimes not that well presented. The videos are short but it would have felt more "interactive" if there would be a visible professor speaking or if sometimes there would be pop-up questions on what has been said so far in the video. But all in all I had the feeling to do some revision which is valuable and I did not specifically know the RAPID model, so I had a little gain in knowledge. Thank you!

автор: Kate O

15 июня 2020 г.

Essential information presented in a clear and accessible manner. Would benefit from a more engaging presentation method like more video of the speaker. If slides are to be used exclusively, incorporate color and a more attractive layout.

Actor simulations achieved their goal but were unnecessarily slow-paced.

The disaster video clips were a powerful element and a critical tool that brought all the content together and illustrated many concepts and circumstances discussed. I'm glad there was so much of it to review and that the speakers (storm victims) varied considerably in demographics, emotional reactions, language used, and in their responses to memories.

автор: Monica M

4 мая 2020 г.

Very useful and applicable to real life (even if the trauma is not a huge common disaster, but more personal in someone's life). Professor calm and easy to understand.

I didn't give five stars because the materials and lectures seem dated (there is a point where it becomes clear that the material is more than ten years old) and more efforts could be made to make the talks more animated or add to the slides with graphics (e.g. take a look at the graphics in the 'Introduction to Negotiation' course offered by Yale).

But overall fulfilled my wishes to take a class which is relevant for my professional further development requirements.

автор: Selina B

3 февр. 2017 г.

Great course! Sometimes it got a little bit boring and in the next moment the important information was too fast spoken to me (no native speaker) - but i enjoyed, that some complicated sentecnes have always been repeated in more simple language without too many foreign words! I also enjoyed the videos with the false/correct methods which were shown. Dr. Everly has a good voice and pronaunciation, so that i was able to listen. also great, that the quiz has no timelimit, like questions need to be anwered in 3 minutes, because i had to translate a view words into german to understand the questions and this needs time. thanks!

автор: Hana B

1 июля 2020 г.

The information was presented in a clear and organized way. I found it a little dry at first, since seeing nothing but static slides didn't feel very engaging but later the content got more interesting. I think the course could be improved with added visuals illustrating the key points on each slide. Every person learns differently and some people absorb new information more easily from image or graphics s rather than plain text. Also, as another reviewer noted, I found it amusing how many times Dr. Everly repeats that he's been doing this for over 40 years. Overall a very good course and I appreciate that it's free.

автор: Christina S

14 дек. 2020 г.

Excellent! Good content. Amount of detail was appropriate. Presenter was knowledgeable and easy to listen to. Format of text slides and video mix was good. Illustration of correct and flawed way of doing things was helpful. Things that could be improved include putting names on the people in the from the ashes video. It would be easier to complete the exercise of triaging the people if they had names. I did not participate in the discussion because it was too awkward to talk about the people with names to refer to them by. Overall, the site was user friendly, but needs some improvement. ould have been nice

автор: Nada H

10 июля 2020 г.

Personally, I found the course really interesting and engaging. The simulations provided along with the quizzes really made me grasp the concept. It's a great introductory course for beginners in the field as it gives a basic outline of what should happen, but it doesn't provide details for those looking for how to actually provide psychological first aid. (Also, if you're a mental health student or practitioner looking to further you're knowledge, this is not the course for you. In the introduction, it's explicitly stated that this course is aimed for NON-MENTAL health workers with no background in mental health.)

автор: Michael C

15 апр. 2020 г.

Seems to cover what would be needed in the psychological field, also does a good job in establishing that this is a bit different than therapy, even though there will be plenty of overlap. Being a recent graduate, there were concepts I already knew, however, the experience brought to the table helped me to consider some more of the practical considerations that are necessary for being involved in people's lives like we aim to do. Was a little difficult watching the videos about how not to help someone and I would have appreciated more than one example of how to do it right. Solid foundations to build on overall.

автор: Eva K

2 авг. 2020 г.

some answers in the quizzes were not at all covered in the material, for example question about evidence based intervention and in the field trauma intervention. the questions were ambigious to me. the score should be 70% to pass, not 80%. Questions were confusing and I learned more from George's dialogue than from any slides or badly formulated, irrelevant quizzes. the question were taken from other modules sometimes not relevant to the module in test. The questions were chaotic. I liked the honesty, committment and humanity of Georgre Everly the most. His attitude was humble and true to the core. thank you.

автор: Παύλος Α Σ

1 дек. 2020 г.

i actually had to implement some of the techniques WHILE i was reading them and i had a phone call from a lady i know who was contemplating suicide among other things, and for that i thank you very much on a personal level. The only reason i put 4 stars and not 5 is because in the self-care module, the parts in which factors contributing to burnout cite ''right wing conspiracy'' and ''capitalist boss'' seem to be politically biased and actually seem like gray propaganda. Personally i would change them to ''conspiracy'' neutral and nagging about people in your environment. Other than that thank you very much!

автор: Tala A

11 окт. 2020 г.

I understand this was basically just the beginning to psychological first aid, but there are a few concepts I would have liked to listen more about the exam seems to include them. One such example, is that we weren't given enough examples on the techniques or rephrasing, distraction, delaying and such and I was therefore unable to properly differentiate between them. Otherwise, it was a wonderful course that I learned a lot from and truly enjoyed. I learned about things I didn't know even existed before and it made me just a little bot more confident in regards to how to deal with a crisis situation.

автор: Wei T H

22 мая 2020 г.

Fairly well presented and taught. Knowledge provide is quite important and useful. However, actual skills and experience is important for PFA and online lectures without practice limits the value of the learning. Might help to include some form of roleplay involvement on the part of students, although this is admittedly difficult to execution online. However, a fairer critique would be that the module on self-care can afford to be more in-depth. Perhaps methods of self-care could be shared, as well as the value of reflection and debriefing.

автор: Maria T R

14 мая 2020 г.

I am very satisfied with the course

I point out the lack of the Italian language as an option of choice.

I'm sorry I have certainly lost the depth and meaning of some language barrier teachings. I believe this was the source of my mistakes.

Given the excellence of the course, I invite you to include the Italian language ..... we are not many in the world ... but we are a people open to learning and inclined to relationships and exchange therefore it is a pity that the Italian language does not is covered in your course.

автор: Naga V I

2 апр. 2018 г.

Good introduction to the psychological first aid (PFA). This is the first time I took a course like this. It was ver informative. The speaker introduced RAPID model for PFA and went into detail of each of the steps of the RAPID model. Also provided is simulations of right and wrong ways of using the techniques learnt, which was really informative. Overall, course is great, me bring a beginner in this field. The course is short, and concise and to the point. Thanks Dr. Everly, John Hopkins, and Coursera for the course.

автор: Natalie

22 авг. 2017 г.

This was an excellent course. It provided a basic understanding of PFA, going through the John's Hopkins RAPID model for treating someone in acute psychological distress. I got a lot more out of the course than I intended. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I am still not quite sure I could go into the field right now and utilize the skills I learned in class. While the fact-based knowledge obtained in class was superior, I wish there was a way to practice. Thank you, Dr. Everly for a wonderful course!

автор: Lisa I

10 сент. 2020 г.

Learning videos & information is very good. I got frustrated with the language used & how quiz questions were phrased & had to redo quizzes several times. I had to write out each question & the answers, making note of my guesses for when I re-took tests. Very time consuming.

Also was looking to pay for the certificate, but was unable to see where to do it at end.

Thank you for making this course available to us, as I work for a tight budgeted nonprofit helping the houseless community.