Chevron Left
Вернуться к Programming Languages, Part B

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Programming Languages, Part B от партнера Вашингтонский университет

4.9
Оценки: 475
Рецензии: 97

О курсе

[As described below, this is Part B of a 3-part course. Participants should complete Part A first -- Part B "dives right in" and refers often to material from Part A.] This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module of Part A. Part B assumes successful completion of Part A. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Лучшие рецензии

VA

Mar 19, 2018

This course (as Part A and C) is great - Dan is great in teaching and the content is perfect for anyone who wants to learn more about programming languages!\n\nWarning - you might end up loving FP :)

AA

Mar 24, 2018

Great course with really interesting and challenging assignments that allow to get more precise vision on programming languages (especially on PL's typing systems) and get experience with modern LISP

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 96 отзывов о курсе Programming Languages, Part B

автор: Julie L

Jun 04, 2019

This course was awesome. I would caution you to take Dan's claim that "Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined" with a grain of salt. This couldn't be further from the truth. Parts B and C are challenging, with the difficulty increasing as you progress further into the course. This makes the three part series an exceptional value.

автор: Arent S

Feb 03, 2019

The programming languages courses are by far the best Coursera courses that I've seen in my life.

The teacher is passionate and really wants to teach programming 'idioms'. The syntax of a language, or the structure for that matter are not as relevant as the underlying idea. With this course you will learn to recognize the underlying patterns of programming. These patters will always be usefull, no matter the language or environment. I highly reccomend this course.

автор: Sean E

Nov 06, 2018

This entire course (A through C) is gold. Nothing to add, if you have the time, take it! Thanks so much to Dan an the team!

автор: Oleg K

Jan 15, 2019

Some tasks were very challenging but the course is really awesome

автор: Cheng H

Dec 16, 2018

the best online course I've ever taken! expecting more courses from Dan and Washington University

автор: Berin L

Jan 08, 2019

Has to be the best online course, I have ever taken.

автор: Sebastijan P

Mar 08, 2019

TOP course.

автор: Pablo A

Mar 12, 2019

Excellent intro to a Lisp and functional programming in a dynamically typed language. Very hard but rewarding homework. It is worth the effort in my opinion to make you a better programmer if you are already one or to train you right from the beginning if you are new to it.

автор: Ernesto G

Mar 28, 2019

Very good course for cementing programming concepts.

автор: Tang H T

Jan 14, 2019

Dan is awesome! It is best to take part a to c in sequence

автор: Andrii D

Jan 26, 2019

Good course with interesting and challenging assignments

автор: Dingze W

Jul 26, 2018

great course

автор: GoForce5500

Oct 16, 2017

诚意推荐此课程作业,完成之后继续诚意推荐SICP。 

автор: Ivan T

Jun 24, 2017

G

автор: Henrik B

Dec 23, 2017

The racket language is a bit strange and takes a bit to get used to, however after doing the homework and listening to the videos you realize that the choice is a good one for this course. The second homework gives a good understanding of how closures and evaluation of functions really work.

A lot of work, but the reward is well worth it.

автор: Thassilo H

Nov 01, 2017

Part B continues where Part A ended. The second programming assignment is really the heart of this Part, it is about implementing a small programming language yourself which gives a completely new view on the theoretical content so far. This is challenging and a lot of fun. If you liked Part A, you definetly need to continue your journey here.

автор: Jan H

Dec 27, 2016

I took this course about 10 years off the college, and it was excellent refresher on the topics I don't use on a daily basis. Absolutely great lecturer, great videos and study materials!

автор: Sunil B

Mar 19, 2018

Awesome course for programmer's interested in learning programming idioms or otherwise interested in language design

автор: Dario G

Nov 16, 2016

Lovely course! The treatment on closures was great, and I really enjoyed the programming exercise.

автор: Keith R

Mar 23, 2018

I'm a pretty experienced C/C++ programmer and this course has been a brilliant introduction into functional programming and the underlying philosophies underpinning programming languages in general.

автор: Alexandr A

Sep 23, 2016

Perfect course series for me!

автор: Lukáš H

Mar 20, 2018

Extremely enjoyable course! I wasn't exactly looking forward to using the Racket language --- I knew nothing about it, to be honest, but it really impressed me. A beautiful language. But the course is not really about the language used. It covers some interesting topics (delayed evaluation, streams, type systems) and contains two very nice homework assignments: the first is mostly focused on streams (which is actually quite a fun) and in the second one you implement an interpreter for a simple language that contains closures!

автор: John S

Sep 14, 2016

An absolutely high quality class. The instruction is superb, the assignment is on par with top programs at Stanford, MIT, and CMU. Dr. Grossman's lecture is just so clear and energetic that makes learning this hard topic fun.

автор: Devin

Dec 07, 2017

Great!

автор: Greg G

Mar 19, 2018

It's definitely harder than Part A - Racket with its LISP-like syntax was pretty daunting for me. I just can't imagine using it in production after using so many C-style languages, but I know that there are lots of Scheme and Clojure fans out there. But it was great to learn about dynamic typing, macros, and getting to deeply understand how interpreters work. That was a real wow moment!