Chevron Left
Вернуться к Problem Solving, Python Programming, and Video Games

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Problem Solving, Python Programming, and Video Games от партнера Альбертский университет

4.3
звезд
Оценки: 152
Рецензии: 46

О курсе

This course is an introduction to computer science and programming in Python. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: 1. Take a new computational problem and develop a plan to solve it through problem understanding and decomposition. 2. Follow a design creation process that includes specifications, algorithms, and testing. 3. Code, test, and debug a program in Python, based on your design. Important computer science concepts such as problem solving (computational thinking), problem decomposition, algorithms, abstraction, and software quality are emphasized throughout. The Python programming language and video games are used to demonstrate computer science concepts in a concrete and fun manner. However, a learner can take the knowledge and skills from this course and apply them to non-game problems, other programming languages, and other computer science courses. You do not need any previous programming, Python, or video game experience. However, some computer skills (e.g., mouse, keyboard, document editing), knowledge of algebra, attention to detail (as with many technical subjects), and a “just give it a try” spirit will be keys to your success. Despite the use of video games for all the programming examples, PVG is not about computer games. PVG will still provide valuable knowledge and skills for non-game computational problems. The interactive learning objects (ILO) of the course provide automatic, context-specific guidance and feedback, like a virtual teaching assistant, as you develop problem descriptions, algorithms, and functional test plans. The course forums will be supported by the creators of the course, to help you succeed. All videos, assessments, and ILOs are available free of charge. There is an optional certificate available for a fee....

Лучшие рецензии

AN

2 окт. 2021 г.

excellent course. The syntax analysis was rather hard at times but it gave a more systematic approach to programming. What gained over programming skills is actually efficiency in programming.

LS

27 февр. 2020 г.

I have learnt a lot from this course and it is what i need as well. I do really appreciate that you guys allow me to have this course thank you so much.

Фильтр по:

26–47 из 47 отзывов о курсе Problem Solving, Python Programming, and Video Games

автор: Subhojit S

12 апр. 2021 г.

I had a lot of fun in this course. The videos were very clear and easy to understand and the quizzes were helpful in clarifying the concepts further. I loved the programming quizzes, and I normally hate problem-solving questions. Kudos to the team behind this course. I thank them from the bottom of my heart.

автор: Diego S

30 нояб. 2021 г.

I enjoyed the course. It's not so easy for beginners but it's not impossible. The professors don't take a long time to answer our questions and this is really good. I think there are too many semantic and syntactic quizzes. They could change that in my opinion. Anyway, it's a good course!

автор: Peter H

31 янв. 2022 г.

This is a fantastic introduction to python that goes into the grammatical details (lexical, syntactic, and semantic) in a way that no programming course that I have taken has done. You will emerge with both a deep understanding of python and a good foundation in programming practice.

автор: Alok A (

8 мар. 2022 г.

Very thorough and detailed explanations for the modules that are a part of the course. Learnt a lot about basics, classes, functions, window displays and foundations to build a gamr using py. The faculty also replied quickly and in a precise manner which helps in solving doubts.

автор: Flávio F

26 сент. 2021 г.

Easy to follow for people at any knowledge level, and still more in-depth to how everything works than my 3 year programming course was.

автор: Khôi Đ M

15 дек. 2021 г.

G​ive you a detailed insight of Python programming with various interactive materials. Worth for learning!

автор: Максим К

31 янв. 2021 г.

Интересный курс, понравился подход к решению проблем, буду использовать его в будущем! Спасибо! Thank You!

автор: Rufino M G I

2 апр. 2022 г.

Test was beneficial in retaining the information needed in each topics

автор: yousef A

20 июля 2020 г.

I learned a lot about python. thank you so much

автор: Sahil K

12 июля 2020 г.

This Course was very interesting to complete. It taught me many problem solving techniques, and had a great time to learn Python programming.

автор: Mohajjalin

13 мая 2020 г.

it is very good for students that interested in game industry and want to improve problem solving skills

автор: Francisco D

15 апр. 2022 г.

muy interesante y uitl

автор: Viktor K

31 авг. 2020 г.

At times, I found the quizzes expected responses that didn't match the questions, i.e removing the ":" from the end of the line being requested or the word "if" that would have you pulling your hair out, because you KNEW the answer being provided is correct. The best parts of the course (for me) were the coding quizzes that didn't actually involve the hacking game or poke the dots, because the code was essentially being built from scratch. In the case of the game files, we were using a pre-built module and getting help via videos to a point where I did not feel like it was ME who completed the task. There's an overabundance of syntax and semantic diagram quizzes to a point of feeling overwhelmed by typing text diagrams rather than exposure to typing out and interacting with code that exemplified the lesson being taught. Relatively complicated concepts in object oriented programming (OOP) were more or less glossed over in what felt like a hurry by focusing on name spaces, etc. rather than a more humanistic explanation of why I would want to use OOP over functional programming. OOP is not necessary more readable than functional programming and seems to result in a greater number of side effects to keep in mind. I am just a beginner, but found myself performing the tasks.. getting the OOP code to work relatively easily yet still having this odd feeling as though I didn't understand my own code on the same level that I did with functional programming. It was also a bit odd to skip over dictionaries and slicing entirely before jumping right into OOP. You WILL learn a fair bit from this course, but it seems to fall a little bit short on providing uses for args and Kwargs which would be great considering how many directions python can go in and how vital it is to confidently understand args and kwargs.

автор: Manfred D

13 июня 2021 г.

I liked the programming parts and of the explanations. The Quizes were mostly tedius and for my opinion to theoretical. More programming would have been much better than writing down <fc <ae or trieng to get through the editors for testplans and algorythms.

But maybe thats just me :-)

BUt i learned a lot in this course so everythings fine :)

автор: Adison L

23 окт. 2020 г.

Started off well but with no pervious knowledge in code, I feel this was not a good first step to take

автор: ABABIL I U

30 июля 2020 г.

too much exam

автор: Martin T

9 июля 2021 г.

Awful. Pointless semantic analysis exercises and hardly any actual Python programming. Very disappointed.

автор: S V

14 июля 2021 г.

Mostly irrelevant stuff. Very little of actual programming.

автор: dsdsds

19 апр. 2021 г.

bad tests

автор: Neil B

27 дек. 2021 г.

M​ostly good. However, a little too detailed than warranted. (Like learning about how a cars engine works when you just want to learn how to drive...)

автор: Anmol N

12 апр. 2022 г.

Its difficult to keep up with.

автор: Willian H S

8 февр. 2022 г.