Chevron Left
Вернуться к Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p? от партнера Лондонский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 1,255
Рецензии: 431

О курсе

We live in an uncertain and complex world, yet we continually have to make decisions in the present with uncertain future outcomes. Indeed, we should be on the look-out for "black swans" - low-probability high-impact events. To study, or not to study? To invest, or not to invest? To marry, or not to marry? While uncertainty makes decision-making difficult, it does at least make life exciting! If the entire future was known in advance, there would never be an element of surprise. Whether a good future or a bad future, it would be a known future. In this course we consider many useful tools to deal with uncertainty and help us to make informed (and hence better) decisions - essential skills for a lifetime of good decision-making. Key topics include quantifying uncertainty with probability, descriptive statistics, point and interval estimation of means and proportions, the basics of hypothesis testing, and a selection of multivariate applications of key terms and concepts seen throughout the course....

Лучшие рецензии

TS
30 апр. 2020 г.

I would like to thank Dr. James Abdey for his wonderful explanation of probability and statistics in a short time. I definitely learnt many things which I can make use in my further courses. Thank you

NS
22 апр. 2021 г.

James Abdey is an excellent lecturer. He explains clearly while using a lot of examples from real life applications. I am considering to read his PhD thesis (even though I don't have insomnia :-))

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 430 отзывов о курсе Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

автор: Pallav G

15 июня 2020 г.

With vivid explanation and attention to detail of various course material along with the coverage provided. Highly recommend this course to people who want to learn the number crunching part of for a budding Business analyst and data scientist

автор: Ashish T

4 июня 2020 г.

Not much in depth dive into calculatory Probability and Statistics is present in the course, but still the best course out there for the beginners, who are looking for a solid base in the theoritical section of various Prob and Stats Jargons.

автор: Jordan T

27 мая 2020 г.

Dr James Abdey presents the course material in a straight forward manner and presents examples that are easy to grasp. I enjoyed taking this course and would recommend it to someone looking to learn the basics of probability and statistics.

автор: Brian Y

27 дек. 2020 г.

Fantastic introduction course. Pacing was great and the instructor’s recorded lectures were very interesting. Would recommend to anyone looking for an intro probability and statistics course as a first time or as a refresher. Thank you!

автор: Khoa d

9 июля 2020 г.

Really enjoyed it. The lecturer was excellent in breaking down the principles into layman's terms. I do wish there was a bit of a smoother transition between the video lectures and the accompanying text which is more technical.

автор: Greta T

6 июня 2021 г.

Great introductory course! Dr James Abdey is a great lecturer: simple but precise language, excellent examples, always interesting. All these features really helped me to enjoy this course and improve my skills on the subject.

автор: Derome R

25 мая 2020 г.

Honestly an amazing MOOC! It has definitely heightened my interest in the field and I hope to learn even more in the near future. Anyone looking for a good introduction into Probability and Statistics should try this out!

автор: Leonardo M

8 июня 2020 г.

I was impressed by the way in which topics were explained, with such a dynamic approach that made lectures interesting. I would recommend this course to anyone who is willing to get introduced to the world of statistics.

автор: Roshni R B

2 авг. 2020 г.

Very interesting subject and very nice way of teaching. The examples used in the lectures helped me a lot to understand the concepts properly. Thank you for putting up such course. Expecting more such courses in future.

автор: Facundo N

5 июля 2020 г.

The course was excellent !!! Obviously it was a basic course, however, the clarity, simplicity and ease with which the topics were transmitted make it one of the best courses available! Great job!!! I really enjoyed it.

автор: Duvvuri Y S P

2 авг. 2019 г.

This course gives brief idea about different probabilistic methods used and their purpose in the real world. It's a very basic course where anyone can take and have a detailed knowledge on probability & Statistics.

автор: Imad E

29 апр. 2020 г.

It was a great event for me to re learn statistics over 12 years from last course that i had in the business school.

Mr James abdey was fantastic and very helful to understand all statistic concet. thank to hime

автор: Stefan H

20 июня 2020 г.

Valuable learning. Concise format.

Some explanations were not as simple as they could have been though. Still, with some supplementary readings (or youtube/khan academy), it is very accessible and informative.

автор: Reza G I

20 мая 2020 г.

The course is great for introduction to Probability and Statistics. The instructor gives great explanation on basic theory with simple real world problem without touching too much detail with the formula.

автор: Ludovic G

4 авг. 2020 г.

Thoroughly enjoyed this course. Aimed at beginners wishing to dip their toes in Probability and Statistics, Dr. James Abdey explains concepts in details while keeping the lessons lively and entertaining.

автор: Murad J

27 апр. 2020 г.

Thanks for giving this great opportunity to get access to all resources and helping to learn lots of new statistical terms and data. I finally found the answer for "to p or not to p?" :)

thank you again!

автор: Nebojsa S

23 апр. 2021 г.

James Abdey is an excellent lecturer. He explains clearly while using a lot of examples from real life applications. I am considering to read his PhD thesis (even though I don't have insomnia :-))

автор: Ludvík P

22 сент. 2020 г.

Recommend way more than statistics for international business - that one is terrible. Everything is explained in a slow, fun way. Absolutely loved it. Better than the teachers at my University!

автор: Santiago M

20 авг. 2020 г.

Me quedo muy satisfecho de haber tomado este curso. Mi entendimiento de la incertidumbre, de el proceso de decision bajo incertidumbre, y del alcance la ciencia estadística, ha mejorado mucho.

автор: Cody P

27 февр. 2021 г.

Wonderful course, the kind that makes you excited about a subject. Dr Abdey is a great lecturer. Sometimes the contents in quizzes isn't quite formatted right, but otherwise no complaints.

автор: Hanna M M S

4 мар. 2021 г.

This is a very mind-blowing course and it helped me in many ways. The subtitles and note-taking are great ideas too, plus they are not strict which is a total opposite in real classes

автор: Inge v d K

4 мая 2020 г.

The basics of statistics are very well explained, with easy to follow and clear examples! Some concepts finally clicked (although explained before in a university statistics course).

автор: Ivan

25 мая 2019 г.

Really well done!

It starts slow, explaining everything clearly. If you want to add material to a specific lesson, you can easly do it following what the teacher already explained.

автор: Алексей П

19 сент. 2021 г.

A very inspiring course to dive into the world of statistics. An excellent lecturer clearly and interestingly explains the principles of the theory of probability and statistics.

автор: Safouris A

30 янв. 2021 г.

This is a fantastic introductory course! Hats off to the instructor! As he suggests at the end of the course, this is the beginning for anyone interested in studying uncertainty!