Chevron Left
Вернуться к Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p? от партнера Лондонский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 1,255
Рецензии: 431

О курсе

We live in an uncertain and complex world, yet we continually have to make decisions in the present with uncertain future outcomes. Indeed, we should be on the look-out for "black swans" - low-probability high-impact events. To study, or not to study? To invest, or not to invest? To marry, or not to marry? While uncertainty makes decision-making difficult, it does at least make life exciting! If the entire future was known in advance, there would never be an element of surprise. Whether a good future or a bad future, it would be a known future. In this course we consider many useful tools to deal with uncertainty and help us to make informed (and hence better) decisions - essential skills for a lifetime of good decision-making. Key topics include quantifying uncertainty with probability, descriptive statistics, point and interval estimation of means and proportions, the basics of hypothesis testing, and a selection of multivariate applications of key terms and concepts seen throughout the course....

Лучшие рецензии

TS
30 апр. 2020 г.

I would like to thank Dr. James Abdey for his wonderful explanation of probability and statistics in a short time. I definitely learnt many things which I can make use in my further courses. Thank you

NS
22 апр. 2021 г.

James Abdey is an excellent lecturer. He explains clearly while using a lot of examples from real life applications. I am considering to read his PhD thesis (even though I don't have insomnia :-))

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 430 отзывов о курсе Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

автор: àAbutu A S

5 нояб. 2020 г.

Every single session/ week was knowledge packed. Thanks to Coursera for this wonderful opportunity of exposing me to the world of probability and statistics. Now am eager to learn more. Course content very apt, the instructor was simply awesome. I look forward to learning more on this platform. Also thanks to my school for the exposure.

автор: RUDOLPH A S

30 июля 2020 г.

Excellent course with a diversity of examples to aid in understanding. The instructor makes it even more intriguing with how he delivers the content. I would definitely recommend the course to anyone who wants to start up a journey in the quantitative field or anyone who needs a refresher on probability and statistics. Big thumbs up!!

автор: Vijay C P

12 окт. 2020 г.

Excellent course related to Introduction to the world of Probability and Statistics. The module leader Dr. James Abdey has handled the course very well and created a lot of interest in me to take up further courses related to Probability and statics. Thanks a lot Dr.James Abdey for your valuable inputs and excellent course delivery.

автор: Michael M

6 мая 2020 г.

Very well presented course! This is a complicated subject and Dr. Abdey does a very good job of keeping it high level enough to not get completely bogged down in the math theory while at the same time not glossing over its importance. This has myriad applications in today's world and I'm quite happy I chose to take this course.

автор: Shay H

29 авг. 2020 г.

This is a really great, well-explained course for those who need a refresher or even have never taken probability courses before. Dr. Abdey is one of the best instructors I've experienced so far on Coursera. Although similar in nature, I took this one and "An Intuitive Introduction to Probability" another top-notch course.

автор: Jia S C

12 апр. 2020 г.

Possibly one of the best courses I've taken in Coursera. I usually don't leave reviews but I wanted to commend Dr James Abdey. He is an excellent presenter and explains the concepts and theory of probability and statistics in a clear and simple way that most people could understand, giving examples along the way as well.

автор: Ben W

2 янв. 2021 г.

This is a very nice introductory course in probability and statistics. The instructor is engaging and obviously passionate about the subject. The course also comes with a very nice set of introductory lecture notes. The course is not overly difficult to complete, but it is only an introduction to the topic.

автор: HANEESH K M

26 апр. 2020 г.

This course gives fundamental concepts about probability and statistics in a simple way. The professor explained the concepts using practical examples. The complex equations in the probability are avoided while explaining the concepts, that's a good thing for the beginners to get interested in the subject

автор: Rodrigo M

19 июля 2020 г.

Currently I’m working in getting a micro master of Data Science in the MIT and I decided to use others courses to reinforce my learning. I really liked this course because it teaches you the basics in a easy explanatory way. A good overview to check before getting deeper in a specific topic.

автор: jaime v s

8 мар. 2020 г.

Great overview of the subject. Great Price. Great content. Great instructor. But the written content is a bit repetitive (It has very similar information to what was on the videos); I think more in deep explanations, o at least different examples to those in the videos would´ve been better.

автор: MASROAF S S

2 сент. 2020 г.

This course is for those who want to refresh their concepts on basic statistics (both inferential and descriptive). The course lectures are well delivered and Professor James Abdey covers the course material with a very good explanation of each topic. The farewell class is awesome.

автор: Polly S X Y

31 мая 2020 г.

I really enjoyed Dr James' lecture. Although it is distance learning but I feel connected and engaged to the lecturer. Dr James also gives a lot of real life examples to give us a better idea on the statistic problems. I will pursue further in other advanced courses in Statistics.

автор: Luis M

4 мар. 2021 г.

Excellent Introductory Course ! Kudos to Dr. James Abdey and the University of London, for presenting the information in an adequate format, without being overwhelming; strongly recommend this course to anyone interest in learning (or revisiting) about probability and statistics.

автор: Diya P

17 февр. 2021 г.

Dr Abdey is an absolute pleasure to listen to! I was a student that harbored no interest in statistics but Dr Abdey has completely changed that for me. So glad I took this course!

I highly recommend it to anyone looking for an effective introduction to probability and statistics.

автор: Saswat M

21 июля 2020 г.

This is actually a very good place to start if you want to learn probability and statistics. The instructor of this course is excellent and makes every bit of the topic understandable. If you want a realm of statistics just dive into this course. I promise you wouldn't regret.

автор: Ting-Yu W

23 мая 2020 г.

Dr. Abdey mingled great logical sense and humour into this introductory course. As a person who had feared any number-related course since teenage years, I found that this one helps people to take a small step at a time and gradually learn the thinking base for the start.

автор: John S

15 мая 2020 г.

Professor Abdey gave a very enthusiastic presentation of the subject matter. I took the course as a refresher and was pleased with the broad range of topics covered. I would gladly take another course by Professor Abdey or offered by the University of London.

автор: Marc m

10 нояб. 2019 г.

This introduction course is well presented and to the point, with ample examples of applications in the real world. I recommend this as an introduction to the topic. I am looking forward to follow- up with more advanced courses on Monte-Carlo simulation.

автор: Sonal N

11 авг. 2021 г.

I found the course particularly useful to learn p values. The instructor Prof. James uses easy to understand examples and language. The assignments are hands on and helpful to work out through excel, so we can save it as a template for our future reference.

автор: Norbert W

14 апр. 2020 г.

Great course on basic statistics! Really enjoyed the presentations, the tests were reasonably challenging. The material covered is basic, but it is a very well chosen starting point and helped me freshen up my quite old knowledge from school and university.

автор: Aravindhan

20 мая 2020 г.

Excellent course, offering clear video explanations along with pdfs to demonstrate concepts. Really liked the last segment of the course which extends the learnings to practical applications and also introduces pathways on how to explore and learn further.

автор: Rod G

26 июня 2020 г.

Very good course. This was a great refresher and I enjoyed the pace. What I liked most is that it provided practical context and did not focus as much on the theory. I will be reviewing the course again before moving on to additional theory. Thanks!

автор: P P

27 июля 2020 г.

Great introductory course for high schoolers and freshmen college students...the professor is amazing ! His passion for the subject comes through with his examples and the lectures are absolutely fun to watch and learn. ! Highly recommend this course..

автор: Anastasia S

24 мая 2021 г.

I find the course valuable for beginners. Here there is no practical implementation, but this is not a focus of the course. The point is to understand the main points of statistics and probability. Dr Abdey has a great enthusiasm to explain the topic.

автор: Graham P

5 янв. 2021 г.

Thank you Dr James Abdey for an excellent and very clear explanation, delivered with enthusiasm and appropriate detailed notes.

Wishing you every success in these very uncertain time and I am reminded that the only constant in life is change.