Chevron Left
Вернуться к Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p? от партнера Лондонский университет

4.5
Оценки: 168
Рецензии: 45

О курсе

We live in an uncertain and complex world, yet we continually have to make decisions in the present with uncertain future outcomes. Indeed, we should be on the look-out for "black swans" - low-probability high-impact events. To study, or not to study? To invest, or not to invest? To marry, or not to marry? While uncertainty makes decision-making difficult, it does at least make life exciting! If the entire future was known in advance, there would never be an element of surprise. Whether a good future or a bad future, it would be a known future. In this course we consider many useful tools to deal with uncertainty and help us to make informed (and hence better) decisions - essential skills for a lifetime of good decision-making. Key topics include quantifying uncertainty with probability, descriptive statistics, point and interval estimation of means and proportions, the basics of hypothesis testing, and a selection of multivariate applications of key terms and concepts seen throughout the course....

Лучшие рецензии

AS

Nov 28, 2018

Hi,\n\nThe course taught about the basics and that's exactly what I was looking for. I learnt a lot, and so many things which I hear and read, became clearer and more meaningful. Thanks you!

FT

Sep 16, 2018

Best course on the concepts of Probability and statistics , for the beginners. Dr.James Abdey provides lot of examples from the everyday life .

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 45 отзывов о курсе Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

автор: Thomas J H

Nov 14, 2018

Yes, the scoring system for peer-reviewed work needs work -- poorly formatted and unnecessarily confusing. That said, I would welcome more courses by Dr James Abdey. As an introduction and overview/review, this particular course is excellent. NOT superficial, as one reviewer commented. If fact, if you download the PDFs which accompany each major video, you will that you can very quickly progress to the deeper end of the pool: much quality information. I would love to see an option for R, and not just Excel. But I can highly recommend this course (do suggest the assessment be tweaked), and hope again that Dr James Abdey will offer more.

автор: Majnoo G

Aug 26, 2019

One of the good starting points to learn the basics of probability and statistics. With less of mathematics and more on theory and interesting examples, this course is just right to start your journey on statistics. It covers some of the detail concepts with ease. Highly recommended

автор: Guomin R

Jul 27, 2019

Dr James Abdey is a fantastic teacher. He delivered the knowledge with plain languages and vivid examples. Very helpful!

автор: Guy S

Nov 28, 2019

The best (introductory) statistics course I have had! Clear and understandable explanations.

автор: Brett C

Feb 14, 2019

The setup of peer reviewed assignments was a very poor experience due to lack of explanation and incorrect grading rubrics. Reviewers were presented with a single radio-button list, when they should have been presented with a series of check-boxes.

автор: Paolo T

Nov 14, 2018

The only reason to vote 4 instead 5 stars stay in the fact that there are not official moderator to fix the quiz bugs. For all the rest, 5 stars! At all! I loved it!

автор: Tanmoy C

Mar 04, 2019

This is a fantastic course to refresh probability and statistics. The only reason i have provided four star is due to a bug in the week 5 assignment where the grading does not provide multiple selections. Additionally there is no support for course stuff if you have question. You are really on your own. I would still encourage to take this one.

автор: Mehran Y

Oct 14, 2018

The subjects and examples are OK. However, the technical side of the course is missing!. The idea of most videos could be explained in 1 or 2 minutes rather than 10 minutes. The assignments are quiet simple and no challenging at all. Some times I was so bored which I watched the videos at 2x speed. Finally, the review process of other students has a big bug which I realized that this bug existed from the first day and people are confused about how to review other students, however, the bug is still there. IF you already know a little bit about statistics I do not suggest this course. If you know nothing and want to know what is statistics about (in a very basic and simple manner) then watch this course as a fun!

автор: yue

Dec 05, 2018

Very good introduction and overview, gives clear picture of probability and statistics.

автор: Leonardo B

Nov 21, 2018

It's a great course.

автор: Abhishek S

Nov 28, 2018

Hi,

The course taught about the basics and that's exactly what I was looking for. I learnt a lot, and so many things which I hear and read, became clearer and more meaningful. Thanks you!

автор: Chia K X

Mar 19, 2019

Lecturer is patient and always tries to explain difficult concepts clearly.

автор: ruixi z

Dec 18, 2018

Great

автор: Georgios P

Sep 03, 2018

Very good primer!

автор: Yves G

Sep 03, 2018

T

h

i

s

i

s

a

v

e

r

y

intersting

c

o

u

r

s

e

,

v

e

r

y

w

e

l

l

t

a

u

g

h

t

a

n

d

g

i

v

i

n

g

y

ou

t

he

w

i

l

l

t

o

study

f

u

t

h

e

r

i

n

that

f

i

e

l

d

.

автор: fozan t

Sep 16, 2018

Best course on the concepts of Probability and statistics , for the beginners. Dr.James Abdey provides lot of examples from the everyday life .

автор: Ravikumar S

Nov 02, 2018

it was a nice learning experience, with a very step-by-step approach

автор: Ivan

May 25, 2019

Really well done!

It starts slow, explaining everything clearly. If you want to add material to a specific lesson, you can easly do it following what the teacher already explained.

автор: José L

Jun 06, 2019

Easy to follow to your own time

автор: Geeti P M

Jul 19, 2019

It was a great experience learning from Sir Abdey!

автор: Duvvuri Y S P

Aug 02, 2019

This course gives brief idea about different probabilistic methods used and their purpose in the real world. It's a very basic course where anyone can take and have a detailed knowledge on probability & Statistics.

автор: Madhav C

Sep 07, 2019

wonderful course and the tutor!!

автор: Manu G

Sep 27, 2019

Great course to revise basic statistics concept or if you are new to the area of statistics

автор: MALIK I A

Sep 07, 2019

This course was very knowledgeable and given a review of my previous study.

автор: Omkar A P

Oct 02, 2019

very nice course..