Chevron Left
Вернуться к Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p? от партнера ?????????? ???????????

4.5
звезд
Оценки: 224
Рецензии: 66

О курсе

We live in an uncertain and complex world, yet we continually have to make decisions in the present with uncertain future outcomes. Indeed, we should be on the look-out for "black swans" - low-probability high-impact events. To study, or not to study? To invest, or not to invest? To marry, or not to marry? While uncertainty makes decision-making difficult, it does at least make life exciting! If the entire future was known in advance, there would never be an element of surprise. Whether a good future or a bad future, it would be a known future. In this course we consider many useful tools to deal with uncertainty and help us to make informed (and hence better) decisions - essential skills for a lifetime of good decision-making. Key topics include quantifying uncertainty with probability, descriptive statistics, point and interval estimation of means and proportions, the basics of hypothesis testing, and a selection of multivariate applications of key terms and concepts seen throughout the course....

Лучшие рецензии

AS

Nov 28, 2018

Hi,\n\nThe course taught about the basics and that's exactly what I was looking for. I learnt a lot, and so many things which I hear and read, became clearer and more meaningful. Thanks you!

HY

Feb 10, 2020

Brilliantly organised materials striking a nice balance between theory and application! All the best Dr. Abdey! Looking forward to seeing a novel distribution under your surname!

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 66 отзывов о курсе Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

автор: Guomin R

Jul 27, 2019

Dr James Abdey is a fantastic teacher. He delivered the knowledge with plain languages and vivid examples. Very helpful!

автор: Thomas J H

Nov 14, 2018

Yes, the scoring system for peer-reviewed work needs work -- poorly formatted and unnecessarily confusing. That said, I would welcome more courses by Dr James Abdey. As an introduction and overview/review, this particular course is excellent. NOT superficial, as one reviewer commented. If fact, if you download the PDFs which accompany each major video, you will that you can very quickly progress to the deeper end of the pool: much quality information. I would love to see an option for R, and not just Excel. But I can highly recommend this course (do suggest the assessment be tweaked), and hope again that Dr James Abdey will offer more.

автор: Majnoo G

Aug 26, 2019

One of the good starting points to learn the basics of probability and statistics. With less of mathematics and more on theory and interesting examples, this course is just right to start your journey on statistics. It covers some of the detail concepts with ease. Highly recommended

автор: Marco v

Jan 05, 2020

As a beginner, this course is quite difficult for me. Anyway, it is very well-done and Dr James Abdey is a great teacher, thus I found it enjoyable. I recommend it.

автор: fozan t

Sep 16, 2018

Best course on the concepts of Probability and statistics , for the beginners. Dr.James Abdey provides lot of examples from the everyday life .

автор: Guy S

Nov 28, 2019

The best (introductory) statistics course I have had! Clear and understandable explanations.

автор: Tanmoy C

Mar 04, 2019

This is a fantastic course to refresh probability and statistics. The only reason i have provided four star is due to a bug in the week 5 assignment where the grading does not provide multiple selections. Additionally there is no support for course stuff if you have question. You are really on your own. I would still encourage to take this one.

автор: Brett C

Feb 14, 2019

The setup of peer reviewed assignments was a very poor experience due to lack of explanation and incorrect grading rubrics. Reviewers were presented with a single radio-button list, when they should have been presented with a series of check-boxes.

автор: Paolo T

Nov 14, 2018

The only reason to vote 4 instead 5 stars stay in the fact that there are not official moderator to fix the quiz bugs. For all the rest, 5 stars! At all! I loved it!

автор: Mehran Y

Oct 14, 2018

The subjects and examples are OK. However, the technical side of the course is missing!. The idea of most videos could be explained in 1 or 2 minutes rather than 10 minutes. The assignments are quiet simple and no challenging at all. Some times I was so bored which I watched the videos at 2x speed. Finally, the review process of other students has a big bug which I realized that this bug existed from the first day and people are confused about how to review other students, however, the bug is still there. IF you already know a little bit about statistics I do not suggest this course. If you know nothing and want to know what is statistics about (in a very basic and simple manner) then watch this course as a fun!

автор: Rodney M

Mar 10, 2019

Horrible.

Too much talking or woffling as i came to call it. Dumbed down too much. We know what a toolbox is. Don't give us an example of how a toolbox is used. This is just an example of the level of stupidity you must assume your students have.

Week 1 was a waste of time and weeks 2 and three could have been summed up in a 10 minute video.

You skipped over probability and straight into statistics without mentioning any of the useful things of probability like the laws of probability. Communicative, Distributive etc.

I've learnt almost nothing from this. Will not recommend at all. Not useful at all.

автор: Daniel O

Mar 10, 2020

As simple intro is fine.

He pretends he understands the Taleb's Incerto, but he doesn't.

автор: Cor v H

Nov 05, 2018

Flawed assessment system. Superficial.

автор: Darren W

Mar 10, 2020

The contents of the course is so very intuitive to comprehend. not that it is an inherent trait of the subject matter, but it has been Dr. James Abdey who has made the teaching vivid and lively, filled with devised instances and examples which help students like myself to gain deeper insights into the related concepts. Moreover, the connections between the related concepts, statistical techniques and the real-world scenarios are presented more than successfully.

Though the course may have been designed as introductory and it might not be feasible to present the abstract part of the subject in greater detail given the duration, I would still like to suggest that more theoretical aspects of the subject be exposed if possible.

In general, I, as a newbie in probability and statistics, am very much benefited by the course. Thank you.

автор: Jaime V E S

Mar 08, 2020

Great overview of the subject. Great Price. Great content. Great instructor. But the written content is a bit repetitive (It has very similar information to what was on the videos); I think more in deep explanations, o at least different examples to those in the videos would´ve been better.

автор: John J S

Nov 17, 2019

Very simple and high level but also extraordinarily clear and well presented. The course is a survey so breadth of covered material is intense: just as one area is developed enough to become truly interesting the course must move on to another area. This is an appetizer. An amuse bouche.

автор: Soh W K

Mar 12, 2020

Professor James did an excellent job in making Probability and Statistics EASY TO UNDERSTAND!

Be patient, and listen to his interesting lectures.

Do all the tutorials, and apply the knowledge.

Probability and Statistics could be the most important invention in Humanity.

автор: Rohan R

Apr 02, 2020

Excellent beginners course into the world of data science.

This course has been an eye opener for sure.

We need an advanced course of statistics from Dr James Abdey to further our study and getting deeper into the world of Data science.

Thanks a lot Dr Abdey.

автор: Marc m

Nov 10, 2019

This introduction course is well presented and to the point, with ample examples of applications in the real world. I recommend this as an introduction to the topic. I am looking forward to follow- up with more advanced courses on Monte-Carlo simulation.

автор: NIKHIL V

Jan 19, 2020

This was an absolutely fantastic course on Probability and Statistics. It made me know "WHY" behind the concepts very well and how we should think to get the solution rather than blindly applying the formula. Thanks a lot.

автор: Duvvuri Y S P

Aug 02, 2019

This course gives brief idea about different probabilistic methods used and their purpose in the real world. It's a very basic course where anyone can take and have a detailed knowledge on probability & Statistics.

автор: Abhishek S

Nov 28, 2018

Hi,

The course taught about the basics and that's exactly what I was looking for. I learnt a lot, and so many things which I hear and read, became clearer and more meaningful. Thanks you!

автор: Ivan

May 25, 2019

Really well done!

It starts slow, explaining everything clearly. If you want to add material to a specific lesson, you can easly do it following what the teacher already explained.

автор: Haibo Y

Feb 10, 2020

Brilliantly organised materials striking a nice balance between theory and application! All the best Dr. Abdey! Looking forward to seeing a novel distribution under your surname!

автор: Himanshu S J

Mar 28, 2020

I never thought that Probability and Statistics is so realistic in our day to day life and so simple to learn. Thank you so much Dr James for all you effort to make this course.