Chevron Left
Вернуться к Predictive Modeling and Analytics

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Predictive Modeling and Analytics от партнера Колорадский университет в Боулдере

3.7
звезд
Оценки: 452
Рецензии: 162

О курсе

Welcome to the second course in the Data Analytics for Business specialization! This course will introduce you to some of the most widely used predictive modeling techniques and their core principles. By taking this course, you will form a solid foundation of predictive analytics, which refers to tools and techniques for building statistical or machine learning models to make predictions based on data. You will learn how to carry out exploratory data analysis to gain insights and prepare data for predictive modeling, an essential skill valued in the business. You’ll also learn how to summarize and visualize datasets using plots so that you can present your results in a compelling and meaningful way. We will use a practical predictive modeling software, XLMiner, which is a popular Excel plug-in. This course is designed for anyone who is interested in using data to gain insights and make better business decisions. The techniques discussed are applied in all functional areas within business organizations including accounting, finance, human resource management, marketing, operations, and strategic planning. The expected prerequisites for this course include a prior working knowledge of Excel, introductory level algebra, and basic statistics....

Лучшие рецензии

TM

Apr 15, 2020

Good course to give a basic understanding of predictive modelling and analytics. Good assignments and opportunity to review peer submissions help reinforce the learnings.

AD

May 30, 2019

Even though a basic math background is needed, this course is extremely simplified for understanding and being really useful introduction to Predictive modeling.

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 160 отзывов о курсе Predictive Modeling and Analytics

автор: Chris m

Sep 28, 2020

Instructor wants the students to learn but the method of presentation and practice doesn't align. The software required uses an outdated software that many users struggle to obtain and install. The lectures do provide some visuals but the amount of information flooded to the student is overwhelming. The quizzes need a improvement, almost all require the use of XLMiner which is complete rubbish. I suggest requiring the students to get familiar with the formulas rather than use a tool which results in a black box scenario for the learners. I do appreciate the time and effort put forth but providing the most current and up to date method of learning is the better option.

автор: Otto C

Aug 12, 2020

I think it would be more helpful to fully explain an example of how the techniques you learn help you to solve problems. I think that I learned the basics of the regressions and trees but I wouldn't know what to do after you get the results, maybe the example could include what you do next after you get the results from XL Miner. Professor Dan is a really smart person and you can definitely tell he know what he's teaching, however I think he could be more friendly to the camera and maybe smile more :)

автор: NAGABHAIRU V K

Jul 05, 2020

I really want to mention two thing about this course. The first thing is the content (Algorithms) which are talked in this course are Really usefull and important mostly used algorithms to learn clearly.and another thing is the instruction was so bad in explaining the subject .He is so fast in explaing concepts and math beahind it .Even not only he is fast his native english pronosation is so bad and its really tough to understand.

автор: Emiljo J

May 14, 2020

I found the course content to be good and explanations to be concise but sometimes rushed through. The choice of software to use, however well aimed as it did not require manual programming, it proved a more frustrating experience than actually writing it in Python. I also hardly believe that I would be using Analytic Solver in the future.

автор: Thu

Mar 24, 2020

A good course overall; however, I expected some further reading recommendations by the lecturer to help develop a deeper understanding of predictive models.

The last peer assignment was boring and too simple relative to the course knowledge level. Plus, one of the tasks was replicated from another one that I previously did.

автор: Matthew G

May 15, 2020

Covers a lot of essential topics around analytics and predictive modeling. However, the delivery in the lectures lacks enthusiasm and seems very scripted. Also, the final project, despite being primarily a predictive analytics courses is simple a re-hash of the Week 1 project, and is not cumulative of all topics covered.

автор: Keith

Apr 13, 2020

Many of the concepts felt "glossed over" as the subject matter was rich but it was hard to get a complete understanding of it in the videos. I found myself having to do a lot of additional supplemental research not even mentioned in the videos to accurately answer some of the quiz questions.

автор: Varun G

Apr 09, 2020

The Course is good, it covers lot of topics but there are certain drawbacks like the accent is not clear, have to read the transcript and other issue is the contents are very briefly explained, need to read it separately on google, if you are not from science background.

автор: SERGIO D F G

Jul 30, 2020

There waw a lot of information but it wasn't clear or how was related with the previous course. Moreover, most of the quizzes depend of XLMiner and difficulties were encountered by some students with the application in the course.

автор: Hilary L

Jul 16, 2020

This is a very difficult context to learn how to use a computer program--it's outdated, since XLminer is now called Analytics Solver, and it's very hard if you are having an issue with the program and can't get any help.

автор: Amani E T

Sep 07, 2020

That was hard for me to understand as I am new in this field and I think I needed a simple basic or a better way to interpret things than that. Also, I encounter some difficulty in understanding the English language.

автор: Maria E M

Sep 03, 2020

The content the course is really relevant for my professional career but using Excel to perform modelling is out-of-date. Most companies required a combination between this content and tools like Python and R.

автор: Himanshu K

Jun 21, 2020

Although the teaching method is wonderful. A little bit more content will go a long way. Little more clarity in video lectures is required.

автор: Martin C

Jun 02, 2020

EL profesor no es muy didáctico y su dicción no es fácil de seguir.

Preferentemente mayor uso de las herramientas de predicicon de excel

автор: Kanishka P

May 16, 2020

Using XLminer in the course created a problem for a while. Otherwise, the course is good.

автор: Brindrajsinh C

Sep 17, 2020

Was not as happy as early as I am not able to use the taught software as it is paid

автор: Aditya G R

Sep 18, 2020

Answers must be open for all kinds of software used

автор: Omkar K

Jul 18, 2020

XL Miner too cumbersome to handle

автор: Raj M

Jul 02, 2020

It was a good course

автор: Mridul S

Jul 19, 2020

Very fast paced

автор: Richard F

Mar 31, 2018

instruct

автор: mark w

Apr 29, 2017

T

автор: David N

Jun 26, 2020

This is an important class in data science general and very important in the Data Science curriculum. The class was covering very important concepts and eventually was able to deliver.

However, There were two major issues in this class in particular. One, the instructor’s English was very hard to follow, even with Closed Capturing that sometimes could not convert. As someone that English is not his first language, I can empathize, however there should have been better editing to the videos.

Two, the XLMiner Software we had to use in this class was only available for 15 days trial. This is a 4 week class and by week 3, the trial has expired. I did not plan to buy a license, and they will not extend it by a couple of weeks ( I tried calling both Coursera and Solver.com). And even though any other free tool (Python, R, MS Studios, etc) could have been used they gave different results and was not good for this class. This was frustrating. I ended up signing up for another 15 day trial with another account but that should have never been an issue.

автор: Joshua D

Jul 13, 2020

Compared to the first course I felt this one was hard to follow. Information came at a furious pace with little explanation. It reminded me of a business algebra class I took once that had a stand in teacher. The stand in usually taught theoretical match and ended up talking over all of the student's heads. We had to bring him back down to earth. Also the XLMiner tool is only good for two weeks. I verified this with the help desk for the tool. You need better directions and/or a better tool that can be used throughout the 4 week course. Even your translator had issues with some of the annunciations by the instructor. Due to that you need better visuals, explanations of concepts and how he comes around to some of the answers he gets. I really hope the other courses are more like the first and less like this one or I will drop this specialization and go for another. Also I will no longer consider CU Boulder for my Masters.

автор: Steve R

Sep 28, 2020

The professor is clearly an expert on the topic, but I don't believe this was an effective learning experience for me. Several reasons for this: (1) The professor was extremely difficult to understand, and this is exacerbated when trying to learn some more complex topics that involve equations and visualization. (2) Most of the lectures seemed to be rushed. For me, it seemed like we jumped from an introduction of the topic to expert level concepts without much transition or explanation.

Overall, I found that I didn't learn much in this course. I simply did the best I could to pass the quizzes and complete the assignments. This would have been fine for me 20 years ago, but these days I am taking courses to learn and better myself. I do not feel like this course helped me.