Chevron Left
Вернуться к Predictive Modeling and Analytics

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Predictive Modeling and Analytics от партнера Колорадский университет в Боулдере

3.7
звезд
Оценки: 446
Рецензии: 158

О курсе

Welcome to the second course in the Data Analytics for Business specialization! This course will introduce you to some of the most widely used predictive modeling techniques and their core principles. By taking this course, you will form a solid foundation of predictive analytics, which refers to tools and techniques for building statistical or machine learning models to make predictions based on data. You will learn how to carry out exploratory data analysis to gain insights and prepare data for predictive modeling, an essential skill valued in the business. You’ll also learn how to summarize and visualize datasets using plots so that you can present your results in a compelling and meaningful way. We will use a practical predictive modeling software, XLMiner, which is a popular Excel plug-in. This course is designed for anyone who is interested in using data to gain insights and make better business decisions. The techniques discussed are applied in all functional areas within business organizations including accounting, finance, human resource management, marketing, operations, and strategic planning. The expected prerequisites for this course include a prior working knowledge of Excel, introductory level algebra, and basic statistics....

Лучшие рецензии

TM

Apr 15, 2020

Good course to give a basic understanding of predictive modelling and analytics. Good assignments and opportunity to review peer submissions help reinforce the learnings.

AD

May 30, 2019

Even though a basic math background is needed, this course is extremely simplified for understanding and being really useful introduction to Predictive modeling.

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 158 отзывов о курсе Predictive Modeling and Analytics

автор: Tanay C

Nov 27, 2017

its really good

автор: PRALAY P

Apr 29, 2018

Great Course !

автор: sandhya k

Jan 03, 2017

Well explained

автор: Carlos A U M

Jul 11, 2020

Great course!

автор: Sergio A M O

Jun 05, 2020

Great course

автор: Olanrewaju B

Jul 16, 2020

its hard

автор: Ameerah R A S

Sep 09, 2017

awsome

автор: Mark H

Aug 15, 2019

A challenging course, the most challenging I've had on Coursera to-date. The quiz questions really make certain that you have listened to and absorbed the course material. You will get full marks if you follow the instructions given in the videos regarding how to use the software, but you still need to do independent thought and analysis. Overall, I liked the course.

The only thing that keeps me from giving this five stars is the software package used for the course. I am on a Mac, and the software works best with Windows & excel. There is a web interface and Office 365 Extension for MacOs, but it is clunky.

Also, software costs $25 for 140 day license, and I am not certain how I feel about that. It would be better I think to design the course around R/Python, or to choose a software package that is free without time limitation (restricted functionality is fine, but work the course to operate within the free tier). That being said, I don't know how to do that either, and I am sure the instructors would have chosen that route if it was easier to teach that way on a MOOC.

автор: Germán A R R

Aug 10, 2020

Overall is a practical and interesting course. Sometimes the quizes or assignments are not direct related to the lecture, however you can get to the point thinking a little. Will be important to update the XL Miner explanations because the software is currently more up to date than was shown. Additionally, even we get lot of practical exercises where you can identify robustness and types of models, for me is not still clear how to get a predictive model for my daily use. Expect to cover that on further lectures.

автор: Eric Z

Apr 10, 2019

I really enjoyed this course, but I did struggle more than I should have with the software tools. In many cases, my version of the tool (the latest) did not match the instructor's version, and I worked to translate my version to his, and that's not a good use of my time. That said, the material was interesting, and the professor did a great job presenting it. I would recommend the course, but I would recommend that you learn to get the results not just in XL Miner, but in R or some other software, as well

автор: Colin P

Oct 04, 2018

Very interesting course that covers a lot, which is good in that it gives exposure to different mining techniques, but bad in that I feel very far from mastering the techniques. Each mining technique could be its own course. Course could do a better job of explaining how to interpret the model outputs.

автор: Jaishish

Aug 15, 2020

Don't mind the negative reviews. Most issues are years old and have been fixed. Didn't face a single issue. The course Does require an additional tool to complete assignment which is only free for 15 days. Also the accent of the professor is hard to understand.

автор: Shafeeq S

Jan 11, 2019

Very good course for understanding Regression, classification. Other advance predictive models like trees, random forest, neural networks are covered fast. Could have been little more lengthy sessions.

instructor is very fast in explaining concepts.

автор: PRATIK J P

Sep 13, 2020

The instructor's tone was difficult to Interpret. It was not fluent and pronunciations were uneasy. Overall content was excellent, though there must have been examples after terms explanation rather than one complete video at end

автор: Yashasvi

Jul 24, 2020

it is really a good course which helps me to understand the basic knowledge of data mining in which I learned about logistic and linear regression and also about boosting, bagging, and random forest.

автор: Rhonda M

Sep 11, 2019

Professor is a little tough to understand, so I had to read the transcript during some of the videos. However, once I got the XLMiner issues resolved, it continued to be a great class and experience.

автор: Cayla C

Sep 09, 2018

Really like the course and learned a lot. Wish that the quizzes didn't offer as much guidance on the steps to use XL Miner. Because this is given, it's not fully testing students on the material

автор: Junyue J

May 18, 2019

The tutor organised the course with clear points and highlights questions during videos. The only confusion is about web version xlminer tool.

автор: Miah M Z

May 30, 2020

A good introduction to various techniques of predictive modeling. To better understand, further study on the topics is necessary.

автор: Pelin T

Aug 10, 2020

Although the material presented in the course was very useful, it was hard to keep up with the instructer.

автор: Rommy O R G

Mar 30, 2020

Good course, one recommendation is to use, at least, one extra tool apart from xlminer.

автор: Thejes S V

Nov 21, 2016

The Case Assignments are pretty useful

автор: SOUMYA B

Dec 09, 2017

very well explained

автор: Akintan O

Mar 13, 2017

Tricky to Pass

автор: Santiago F

May 12, 2020

The course although presents great topics, it needs improvement to support students with questions about exams and assignments. I'm not gonna sugar code this review, it took me hours and hours of dedication to pass the quizzes and assignments, and did not get much help from the professors, one of the instructors has poor English skills and is very hard to understand his lectures. However, this course presents you a challenge to better yourself, believe me, if you spend the time, read the questions that other students post in the discussion forum, and follow the guidelines from the videos, you'll pass. I struggled at the end but ended up getting 97% in my final grade. One advice, keep track of the correct and wrong answers you get from the quizzes, many questions repeat themselves, take notes from the videos or ppt, is not enough just watch, be an active learner and you'll be fine.