Chevron Left
Вернуться к Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 1,359
Рецензии: 412

О курсе

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Лучшие рецензии

AA

18 апр. 2020 г.

Excellent course. This course has opened up ancient philosophy to me and made it accessible. I feel I have finished the course a good understanding of such keys texts as Plato's Republic and Timaeus.

MD

16 янв. 2021 г.

This was my first online course. In a crazy year, the flexibiilty to reset deadlines was much appreciated. I enjoyed the grading system, especially when your peers are from all around the world.

Фильтр по:

151–175 из 407 отзывов о курсе Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

автор: Robert C C

1 апр. 2019 г.

Though I don't like doing peer-reviews or peer-reviewed assignments, overall this was an interesting course. Thank you.

автор: Daniel B

4 мая 2021 г.

Me encantó la forma en la que se presenta el curso y la forma de hacer la última tarea también. Lo recomiendo al 100 %

автор: David O

16 мар. 2016 г.

Very good and well presented course. Interesting concepts and materials. I thoroughly enjoyed the learning experience.

автор: Caroline S

20 мар. 2021 г.

Very in-depth, while still being concise and easy to understand. Susan Meyer is a great, engaging professor as well.

автор: Engr H S

1 июля 2020 г.

I am very happy about that course so this is first attempt for this kind of university specially from USA, so Cheers

автор: Wong W W

16 мая 2020 г.

Could add more discussions of modern critics (such as the ones from Kierkegaard) on Platonic writings on Socrates.

автор: Stefanos M

17 янв. 2021 г.

Great lecturer with great background for stuff I should be knowing! I will definitely be back in the next course!

автор: Sylvia H K

20 июня 2016 г.

Very fine lectures on Plato and the visions of those philosophers that went before him. I've learned a lot of it.

автор: Astra A K

20 июня 2016 г.

it was absolutely DELICIOUS!!!!! This was a very well organized, well conceived course, i thoroughly enjoyed it!

автор: Lisa ( C

12 февр. 2018 г.

Excellent course. Broken into logical sections with great videos and tests to check your knowledge. Thank you!

автор: Caroline S d A

22 мая 2020 г.

It was better than I expected. I've learned so much in these weeks and in a very simple way. Thanks Coursera!

автор: Rabeet T

9 июля 2020 г.

Great Explanations! This course really helped me to start reading the original works of ancient philosophers

автор: Patrick K

9 июня 2017 г.

Very enjoyable overview of PreSocratic thought and how it pertains to Plato's own works. Highly recommended!

автор: Diane N

6 мар. 2016 г.

Great course for the introduction of Socrates and all of the other great Philosophers, I enjoyed this class.

автор: Taisa V

20 февр. 2022 г.

G​reat course. Not very long and covers all the important details. I particularly liked the last assigment.

автор: Beatriz m d

14 июля 2021 г.

Ha sido un curso excelente.No puedo hacer los pares por que no hablo inglés,todo el curso está completado.

автор: Steven B

20 июля 2020 г.

Interesting, but not too involved. One can get through the weeks material in a reasonable amount of time.

автор: Chew R

14 янв. 2019 г.

Delivery of course is very clear and concise and had a very enjoyable and insightful learning experience.

автор: Hila J

26 июля 2021 г.

had so much fun learning with the professor and I feel like I've learned a lot. Great job and thank you!

автор: Benson H

2 авг. 2018 г.

Beautifully organized, crystal clear, this is a phenomenal introduction to the Pre-Socratics and Plato.

автор: Andrea V

18 дек. 2017 г.

Excelente curso. Solo queda agregar la traducción en español y poder bajar las lecciones en pdf o html.

автор: Ferlin P

19 февр. 2016 г.

This course does a great job at supplementing my University studies. Really high quality intro content.

автор: Megan R

13 апр. 2020 г.

A great introduction of ancient philosophies. I like the instructor's explanations and lecture style.

автор: José A G R

15 сент. 2017 г.

very helpfull and atractive course, lots of information and access to material to help understand it.

автор: Alejandra T

19 мая 2020 г.

Me encanto ya que comprendí cada tema y la manera de enseñanza es muy entendible para muchos gracias