Chevron Left
Вернуться к Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 1,369

О курсе

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Лучшие рецензии

AA

18 апр. 2020 г.

Excellent course. This course has opened up ancient philosophy to me and made it accessible. I feel I have finished the course a good understanding of such keys texts as Plato's Republic and Timaeus.

NM

26 июля 2020 г.

I have never studied Philosophy before at school or on my own, but Professor Meyer made it very clear, interesting and fascinating for me to understand. Following this course has been a pleasure!

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 408 отзывов о курсе Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

автор: David F

23 окт. 2017 г.

Excellent introduction to the Pre-Socratics and Plato. My only regret is that Part 2 is not a further study of the Pre-Socratics and Plato, rather than an introduction to Aristotle. But thank you for this finely articulated introduction.

автор: gurpreet b

24 авг. 2020 г.

Susan Sauvé Meyer is an excellent instructor. I am so grateful to her that she created this course. She is so poised in her lectures and she knowledge spans so many varied subjects . I am thankful to her from the bottom of my heart.

автор: fernanda g c g

29 апр. 2018 г.

I am really enjoying this course, the short and concise lessons make it very pleasant and even though the reading material can be a bit heavy at some points, the way they are explained by Susan helps understanding them much better.

автор: Gonçalo S

28 дек. 2016 г.

The teaching is excellent, if you want to learn about ancient greek philosophy, look no further.

The problems I found are small technical issues: the very loud music at the start of every video, the mistakes in the transcipts, etc.

автор: Ferrie S

9 мая 2016 г.

A very informative and high content course. Good tutor and explained very well.

Questions could be a bit more difficult, but I liked the last exercise with peer reviews. Very educational and would like some more of these exercises.

автор: Craig J

23 июля 2022 г.

This course motivated me to read the entire Republic. I have been planning to read this since I was a teenager. I can't rembember the last time I read a full book, it's been more than five years. M​ore philosophy courses please.

автор: ANDRES R P D

8 мая 2018 г.

Excellence in presentation and content of the theme. Indispensable step for further comprehension of evolution of philosophical ideas until our times. Discovering the hidden details laying in the crib of science and philosophy.

автор: Aida T

24 мая 2020 г.

A great introductory course and I loved the lectures. Prof. Meyer is an eloquent speaker and an excellent teacher on dissecting abstract topics into practical examples. Greatly enjoyed it and I will be taking the next course.

автор: Rafa M

6 апр. 2017 г.

The course is simply amazing! I have learned so much about the real philosophy and how to put it to use! I surely recommend it. The professor is very knowledgable that makes it easy for us to see philosophy as a real subject.

автор: Kevin A

14 апр. 2021 г.

Un viaje muy agradable en la historia de la filosofía antigua, en donde analizamos las ideas y contexto de esas personas tan sabias que empezaron la genial tradición de pensar mucho sobre temas de la naturaleza y la persona.

автор: Ricardo S C

25 мая 2020 г.

It's my first time with this kind of knowledgement topics. And if somebody wants to learn about this, it's a good way to start, because you would like to know what happened then and how this helped developing the philosophy.

автор: pooyan

1 янв. 2018 г.

I'm listened to this course with minimal background in philosophy. Susan is a very organized lecturer. Super cohesive material, all parts of the speech connect together at the end and create the big picture for the audience.

автор: FRANCISCO D

2 июня 2020 г.

An excellent course taught by and extraordinary professor. I´m happy and proud of have taken this course and very excited to keep learning on Ancient Philosophy with Professor Meyer in the next course. Thank you very much.

автор: JCarlos P

20 нояб. 2017 г.

What an elegant and valuable introduction to the subject matter ! Prof Meyer speech's flow is naturally captivating which helps to deliver the content a lot more effectively. I appreciated it ! Thx to all.

best rgds,

автор: Jutta B

2 февр. 2021 г.

A fantastic introduction into ancient Philosophy and into the thought of Sokrates. Most inspiring and stimulating! It gives me a basis for understanding the concepts that lie behind discussions about what is knowledge.

автор: Silvia F

7 мая 2020 г.

It has been a very clarifying course.

The teacher talk crearly and her voice captured my interest.

The questions made during the units provided the student of a genuing tool to know if he is understanding it.

I enjoy it.

автор: John F

31 мар. 2016 г.

Excellent!! I can't say enough good things about the professor. She does an amazing job explaining the more complex ideas and concepts in a way that is clear and very easy to understand. Great course so far.

автор: Daniela M

1 июня 2021 г.

Professor Sauve Meyer is a great teacher, she gives clear explanations and examples to help us understand better such difficult, yet universal themes. I enjoyed this course and I hope to keep on learning.

автор: C

26 мая 2020 г.

I knew nothing about Philosophy and wanted to learn. This is a great place to start. The professor is an awesome lecturer and gives great interpretations for the subject matter. I will be back for part 2!

автор: Emanuela Z

3 авг. 2019 г.

It was very instructive to study Greek philosophy starting from documents.

The lessons were clear and effective, I will continue with the next course

Thank you for the study opportunity you are giving

автор: Noemi M

27 июля 2020 г.

I have never studied Philosophy before at school or on my own, but Professor Meyer made it very clear, interesting and fascinating for me to understand. Following this course has been a pleasure!

автор: ivan l a

8 июня 2020 г.

I loved the course. Excelent teacher and materials. Motivate to continue studying philosophy.

Me gusto mucho el curso. Excelente la profesora y los materiales. Motiva seguir estudiando filosofía.

автор: Yashika

2 апр. 2019 г.

I was always wanted to know things on Ancient Philosophy, This course has an over all understanding for Plato's work and his students with their different prospective on him and his philosophy.

автор: Matthew A

18 окт. 2019 г.

Well taught and a very reasonable course load. Though I've studied some of the writings from this period, the class provided good structure and new insights, especially on the pre-Socratics.

автор: Alberto H

16 мар. 2016 г.

Highly recommended. This course was a great guide to understand to pre socratic philosophers. Professor Susan Sauvé Meyer is very clear in her explanations. Thanks a lot. I enjoy the course.