Chevron Left
Вернуться к Seeing Through Photographs

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Seeing Through Photographs от партнера Музей современного искусства

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 3,907
Рецензии: 1,044

О курсе

Taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us. Given our near-constant engagement with images this course will help you dig into the meaning of pictures and reconsider photography’s role in our visual culture. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at 100 photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art, going behind the scenes of the Museum and into artist studios through original films and audio interviews. You will hear a variety of perspectives on the ways photography has been used throughout its 180-year history: as a means of artistic expression, a tool for science and exploration, an instrument of documentation, a way to tell stories and record histories, and a mode of communication and critique. Short texts and readings from MoMA publications provide enhanced context for the works in the course. By enrolling in this course, you’ll join a community of international learners in discussion forums, receive invitations to live and virtual events from our lead instructor Sarah Meister, and gain exclusive access to MoMA resources. UPDATE: We’ve been listening to your feedback! In September 2020, we launched new content in Seeing Through Photographs, including audio interviews with additional contemporary artists from around the world, videos of Sarah introducing key ideas, and almost doubling the number of photographs from the collection. We’ve also added opportunities for you to share and receive feedback on your photographs in the discussion forums....

Лучшие рецензии

AQ
8 мар. 2016 г.

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

EE
2 июня 2019 г.

It was very insightful, and a good thing is they offered quizzes and other full content, which some other free courses do not, which really helps learning. Hope to go for other courses under them. :)

Фильтр по:

851–875 из 1,033 отзывов о курсе Seeing Through Photographs

автор: Pedro P d S

8 мая 2017 г.

Excellent

автор: Patricia M C

14 февр. 2017 г.

Magnífico

автор: Sofia G

1 мар. 2016 г.

excellent

автор: Mauro C

7 дек. 2020 г.

Perfect!

автор: Gabriella M S

11 нояб. 2020 г.

amazing!

автор: saurav b

9 февр. 2020 г.

its good

автор: Fabrizia D

3 июля 2017 г.

amazing!

автор: Flavio E

27 июня 2016 г.

Amazing!

автор: Paola R

26 июня 2016 г.

Awesome!

автор: Valeria M

5 мая 2016 г.

Amazing!

автор: Rolando G G M

25 мая 2017 г.

Amazing

автор: Maria A R S

2 дек. 2016 г.

genial!

автор: Grau G

12 авг. 2016 г.

great!!

автор: Eren J

19 февр. 2016 г.

amazing

автор: Adrian A

23 окт. 2019 г.

Great!

автор: Jesús B B

28 дек. 2016 г.

Genial

автор: Massimiliano M

31 мар. 2016 г.

Hallo,

автор: Andres M

25 февр. 2016 г.

Great!

автор: Jaime M

30 мая 2020 г.

great

автор: Adrián M S G

28 февр. 2016 г.

Great

автор: Jegatheesh R

6 мая 2020 г.

Good

автор: Rolando G

22 февр. 2016 г.

NIce

автор: Michel V

19 июня 2016 г.

A

автор: Barbara w

10 янв. 2017 г.

I would give this course 4 1/2 stars. The course material was very well organized and the examples provided were for the most part very topical. the weight of the peer review at the end of the course is too high. Your peers have roughly the same knowledge as you do when you submit your assignment. They are being asked to assign a value to your submission which is really coarse...as there are only 3 choices 1 a pass, 2 not quite and 3 a fail. Considering you have done all the course work and quizzes up to the end it seems quite arbitrary.

On another note I would like to suggest a project which became a book. All too often today we view photographs in every moment of our lives but we are unaware of the the face of those creators and their iconic works. MoMA's course seems a perfect opportunity to somehow introduce the subject. the book is Behind Photographs - Archiving Photographic Legends by Tim Mantoani and MarkMurphy.

BEHIND PHOTOGRAPHS: ARCHIVING PHOTOGRAPHIC LEGENDS began as the personal quest of photographer Tim Mantoani to document and preserve noted photographers together with their images. "We have come to a point in history where we are losing both photographic recording mediums and iconic photographers,” Mantoani comments. "While many people are familiar with iconic photographs, the general public has no idea of who created them. This book became a means to do that, the photographer and their photograph in one image.”

автор: Carlos M

6 апр. 2016 г.

Great course. I have a few suggestions to make it even better:

Pros:

Videos on artists are just amazing, good quality and full of interesting information.

Organization of the modules is wonderful, it makes a lot of sense.

Optional readings are really interesting, it would be difficult for people like me from undeveloped countries, to get that kind of documentation from a prestigious museum.

Doing exams is a good way to refresh all you read on the module.

Expositors are well versed and interesting, kudos on that.

The slides sections are well designed and the format is wonderful to read on either a computer or a cellphone.

Cons:

Better scans, some of them were difficult to read, pdfs should be formatted to fit a single page in full screen. Its almost impossible to read from a cellphone.

Some of the multiple choice questions on the exams were just too much, all due respect, edX continuous examination works in a more efficient way.

I hope MoMA do another interesting course on photography, perhaps specific subjects like landscape and street photography, and all the interesting subjects around them. I'm really glad to have found this, congratulations and thanks for putting this together.

Carlos Mora

ritocs@gmail.com