Chevron Left
Вернуться к Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy от партнера Эдинбургский университет

4.4
звезд
Оценки: 506
Рецензии: 148

О курсе

Philosophy, Science and Religion mark three of the most fundamental modes of thinking about the world and our place in it. Are these modes incompatible? Put another way: is the intellectually responsible thing to do to ‘pick sides’ and identify with one of these approaches at the exclusion of others? Or, are they complementary or mutually supportive? As is typical of questions of such magnitude, the devil is in the details. For example, it is important to work out what is really distinctive about each of these ways of inquiring about the world. In order to gain some clarity here, we’ll be investigating what some of the current leading thinkers in philosophy, science and religion are actually doing. This course, entitled ‘Science and Philosophy’, is the first of three related courses in our Philosophy, Science and Religion Online series. The first launch is now closed to enrolments. We will launch a new version of the course in July 2018. The course will address four themes each presented by guest lecturers: 1. Are Science and Religion in conflict? (Professor Michael Murray, Franklin & Marshall) 2. Neuroscience and Free Will (Professor Al Mele, Florida State) 3. Creationism and Evolutionary Biology--Science or Pseudo-science? (Dr. Mark Harris and Dr. David de Pomerai, University of Edinburgh) 4. Do Scientific claims constitute absolute truths? (Professor Martin Kusch, University of Vienna) The second and third courses in the Philosophy, Science and Religion series are ‘Philosophy and Religion’ and ‘Religion and Science’. They may be taken in any order and completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Philosophy, Science and Religion II: Philosophy and Religion • Philosophy, Science and Religion III: Religion and Science Check out our trailer to hear more: https://youtu.be/OifqTI5VKek You can also follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/EdiPhilOnline and you can follow the hashtag #psrmooc...

Лучшие рецензии

SR

Nov 14, 2017

A very interesting course and it has given a great knowleddge to me about the concept of science and religion . just amazed and the professors taught this in a very impressive way . very nyccc .

DM

Aug 21, 2019

I enjoyed the course very much and found it useful to prepare for a graduate course about the same subject. The teachers are very knowledgeable and the material very adequate,

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 145 отзывов о курсе Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy

автор: louis f d m p s

Feb 20, 2017

Very formative!!!

автор: Robin B

Jan 26, 2017

Awesome course =)

автор: Andrii B

May 24, 2018

Very good course

автор: Ануфриева А А

Jan 29, 2018

Great! Thank you

автор: NILMAR R N

May 23, 2019

excelente curso

автор: David P

May 05, 2017

Great course !

автор: Laura O

Jan 28, 2019

fun and easy

автор: Paccelli J M Z

Nov 14, 2017

Excellent!

автор: nalany

Feb 26, 2019

excelente

автор: René D N A

Jan 28, 2019

muy bueno

автор: Hamid S

Aug 29, 2017

Excellent

автор: Sergio G

Sep 05, 2017

to do...

автор: Harry F

Sep 28, 2017

First I want to thank all of you for your hard work and expertise in preparing and presenting this class. All the lessons presented in weeks 1, 2, 3 and lesson 2 of week 4 were excellent both in content and presentation.

Unfortunately, week 4 lesson 1 with Professor Conor Cunningham was not so good. His presentation style was interesting and somewhat captivating, however, (there is that terrible word again) his content was garbled, his allegories were obtuse and the clarity of his important points was obscure.

автор: Anne H

Jul 18, 2017

Fascinating, quick, inspirational. Every scholar should feel more grounded knowing that there are people around the world who understand the connection. 4/5 stars because the "discussion" prompts aren't very open-ended; they were comprehension checks (and optional). I skipped them because I presumed the answers wouldn't vary much, and that would've been boring to read.

автор: sanika s

Aug 26, 2019

The course was very detailed and informative. I learned some amazing philosophical and scientific facts and also learned about various philosophical and scientific studies in great depth. I got what I expected from this course. Thank You to the University of Edinburgh, to all the passionate professors and the makers of this course and to Coursera.

автор: A K

Dec 26, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed the three part course on "Philosophy, Science and Religion" by the University of Edinburgh. A BIG THANK YOU to those who put these courses together. In this series, the designers wonderfully weaved the relationship between the three apparently diverse disciplines in a cohesive narrative, making ones understanding richer!

автор: Eduardo S P

Feb 19, 2017

I think this is an excellent introductory course to the philosophy of science. Even so, I felt something was lacking, maybe a sense of closure or a definite end to the course and indication of a clear path forward for those wanting to learn more about this topic. I would recommend this course in any case, I really enjoyed it.

автор: Vangel V

Mar 21, 2019

I liked the course but have some issues with it. Attacking a group that has so little influence and credibility does not seem becoming of a course like this one. But worse is the fact that the instructors ignore the leap of faith needed to support the supposedly 'scientific' position.

автор: Sara H

Feb 21, 2017

The instructor during the last week was in general not very good, he always strayed from the point making it difficult to keep up. He gave examples that are mostly irrelevant, and he was too theatrical and not straight to the point.

автор: Senthil S P

Sep 17, 2017

It's a pretty interesting course on the relationship between theology and science, which even has a neat session on the sociology of science. Apart from a bizarre session with theologian Conor Cunningham, it does everything well.

автор: Judd S

Nov 03, 2017

The modules were presented in a very organized way and the explanations given were insightful. However, the lecture of Connor Cunningham were "messy" which failed to give a clear point even though his presentation was excellent.

автор: Aagash C

Jan 18, 2018

This course was very enjoyable. However, there were a few concepts and terminologies that could have been explained more, such as natural law in week 4. Overall, it definitely gave a very good introduction to the topic

автор: Ivor C

Sep 08, 2017

A good gereral overview of the current areas of discussion and argument. I felt that the need to provide 'balance' gave too much importance to religious ideas but I had to confront my own bias more that I expected.

автор: Joe M

Feb 23, 2017

Overall, the content was excellent. However, week 4 taught by Professor Conor Cunningham was rambling at best and made very little sense. The readings for week 4 were the only informative part.

автор: Akhil T P

Aug 12, 2019

I expected that his course would deal with current role of religion and philosophy in this scientific world. Well, the course was strayed from my expectation but still was very erudite one