Chevron Left
Вернуться к Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy от партнера Эдинбургский университет

4.4
звезд
Оценки: 504
Рецензии: 148

О курсе

Philosophy, Science and Religion mark three of the most fundamental modes of thinking about the world and our place in it. Are these modes incompatible? Put another way: is the intellectually responsible thing to do to ‘pick sides’ and identify with one of these approaches at the exclusion of others? Or, are they complementary or mutually supportive? As is typical of questions of such magnitude, the devil is in the details. For example, it is important to work out what is really distinctive about each of these ways of inquiring about the world. In order to gain some clarity here, we’ll be investigating what some of the current leading thinkers in philosophy, science and religion are actually doing. This course, entitled ‘Science and Philosophy’, is the first of three related courses in our Philosophy, Science and Religion Online series. The first launch is now closed to enrolments. We will launch a new version of the course in July 2018. The course will address four themes each presented by guest lecturers: 1. Are Science and Religion in conflict? (Professor Michael Murray, Franklin & Marshall) 2. Neuroscience and Free Will (Professor Al Mele, Florida State) 3. Creationism and Evolutionary Biology--Science or Pseudo-science? (Dr. Mark Harris and Dr. David de Pomerai, University of Edinburgh) 4. Do Scientific claims constitute absolute truths? (Professor Martin Kusch, University of Vienna) The second and third courses in the Philosophy, Science and Religion series are ‘Philosophy and Religion’ and ‘Religion and Science’. They may be taken in any order and completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Philosophy, Science and Religion II: Philosophy and Religion • Philosophy, Science and Religion III: Religion and Science Check out our trailer to hear more: https://youtu.be/OifqTI5VKek You can also follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/EdiPhilOnline and you can follow the hashtag #psrmooc...

Лучшие рецензии

SR

Nov 14, 2017

A very interesting course and it has given a great knowleddge to me about the concept of science and religion . just amazed and the professors taught this in a very impressive way . very nyccc .

DM

Aug 21, 2019

I enjoyed the course very much and found it useful to prepare for a graduate course about the same subject. The teachers are very knowledgeable and the material very adequate,

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 145 отзывов о курсе Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy

автор: Sidney C

Jun 12, 2017

I do think it was very interesting and informative. I gave it four out of five stars, only because it could evolve given some time and improve somewhat. I have suggested it to others.

автор: Park Y

Oct 20, 2017

I think this lecture was really good. I can get basic knowledge related to science and religion, and furthermore, I could learn about the perspective related to soical science

автор: Mariano C

Jan 27, 2019

Great initial course to get a more profound insight on the subjects taken into account. Excellent explanation from all the teachers involved in each week's topic!

автор: Valéry B

Mar 03, 2020

Really great. The last part about religion is a bit confusing - not so sure why this priest it talking about evolution. But otherwise really great. Thanks!

автор: Daniel J M

Jan 16, 2018

I found some of the lecturers' hard to understand do to language accents. However, being able to follow along with the printed form solved any problems.

автор: Nathan B

Apr 12, 2017

Very interesting course. I certainly learnt a lot about science and philosophy, especially relating it to religion, and the history behind each domain.

автор: Susan H

Feb 22, 2017

Have really enjoyed this course, very informative and fascinating. Opened my mind to many different ideas.

автор: Swen L

May 03, 2017

Interesting introduction with a good list of further reading material.

автор: Hongfei C

Jul 10, 2017

It's a good foundation for further study in this area but just to

автор: Lavinia W

Aug 01, 2017

Good critical overview of science, philosophy and religion

автор: Harvey B

Nov 19, 2018

Interesting and varied, if slightly basic at times.

автор: Christopher W

Jun 10, 2018

A thought-provoking and informative course.

автор: Keith P

Jul 10, 2019

Very enjoyable course! Highly recommended!

автор: Aaron F A C

Apr 11, 2018

Very good. It was awesome, I learnt a lot.

автор: Nikhil R

Mar 05, 2017

Week 1 of the course seemed very interesting. A lot of interesting questions were raised - enough to lead me to view the course in a rather positive light. As I progressed through the course however, I noticed that some rather contentious claims were made to seem to have more credibility than they in fact do. Take for example something that was said in week 4, lesson 3. It was insinuated that Lamarckism plays a significant role in evolutionary biology, something that is widely questioned by eminent specialists in evolutionary biology (for ex. Jerry Coyne).

Furthermore, it sometimes seemed that rather than presenting the facts for the learners to judge, the lecturers were presenting their own views (this was especially the case in week 4).

This course is being funded by Templeton Foundation, an organization that promotes religious apologetics. It seems that rather than presenting facts as they are, the course is disseminating material deeply influenced by a religious agenda.

автор: Åke G

Aug 19, 2017

Interesting course in virtue of prompting new viewpoints. However, it kinda ends there. Thought much of the content was exaggerated to provoke discussion, losing it's value of giving an accurate evaluation of the topics involved.

For example, it is suggested in week 4 that, if humanity could evolve better through Adolf Hitler, and the ultra-darwinian is right, he would be morally right. Since Hitler cannot be morally right in any stretch of the moral imagination, ultra-darwinianism is wrong.

However, if Hitler wouldn't have initiated concentration camps and war, thus helping humanity prosper by creating room for more evolutionary diversity (which is key to progress), he wouldn't have been Adolf Hitler as we know him.

Nevertheless, thought-provoking as hell. Going to apply for Edinburgh this semester, hope I get in! :)

автор: Bob R

Jan 07, 2020

I'm thrilled that there is a course that surveys these topics and the content, for the most part, is good. The accompanying ebook is actually better than the course and is worth reading for anyone new to these disciplines. For future iterations, I would consider gathering feedback about the assessments. The questions are often confusing and a bit tedious. It's very possible to completely grasp the content but to struggle with the quizzes due to poor wording or the fact that often what's being assessed is not grasp of the subjects covered but instead whether or not the learner could recall the ways in which the instructor talked about the subjects, which is different.

автор: Cem Y

Jul 13, 2019

I know it was a beginner level course but I feel the subjects were presented very, very superficially. The recommended readings do flesh out things a bit. The lessons of the last week, those about evolution and creationism, turned out to be simple explanations about what evolution is, and not very much about how it relates to creationism or the philosohy of science.

The structure of the lessons were also odd. There are several 3 to 5 minute lectures followed by a one-question quiz. This breaks concentration. I feel it would have been much more engaging if the subjects were presented in 20-30 minute lectures followed by 5-10 question quizzes.

автор: Patrick W

Jun 12, 2017

The course was interesting. However, even as a non-religious person, I felt that religion was looked at too shallowly. Also, by only talking about Abrahamic religions, and avoiding Eastern religions, which appear to have much more science in them, the debate is not complete, making it not so scientific for a course which discusses the 'scientific-ness' of concepts.

автор: Nikki W

Mar 13, 2017

I was a little confused because for having a focus on "Science and Philosophy", it seemed to me to mostly talk about science and religion through a philosophical lens. The last module was very scattered and hard to follow. Other than that, very interesting, well-presented material.

автор: Francisco L

Jun 04, 2019

The course is somewhat interesting but my expectations were different, perhaps the description of the course should be expanded so that the student would know with greater certainty the content.

автор: Dorothy H

Feb 12, 2017

2 weeks were balanced and thought-provoking and one was silly, but entertaining... therefore three starts with 2 stars taken out for ending a good course with a week of silliness.

автор: Joy S

Jun 06, 2017

Interesting stuff. Part of a series that used to be on mega-difficult, hard to unerstand course. The splitting up is a good thing.

автор: Patrick Q

Oct 24, 2019

Course pretty good overall, although a bit easy for my taste!

автор: Craig S

Feb 12, 2018

If you are a person of faith troubled by science and particularly the theory of evolution, this course will give you comfort. If you believe there is no God, this course offers nothing that might change your mind. If your interest is how religious apologists shape an argument for the transcendent, you will be satisfied.