Chevron Left
Вернуться к Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences от партнера Эдинбургский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 1,200
Рецензии: 272

О курсе

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

Лучшие рецензии

CG
10 февр. 2020 г.

this course was very broad and incredibly interesting. I highly recommend it as introduction to the philosophy of science, but I have to warn you: Once you have started, your journey won't stop here!

AS
24 июня 2020 г.

this is the great course for the people who are pursuing their carer in philosophy, philosophy of mind to be more precise and also for the people who are thinking of doing psychology later anytime.

Фильтр по:

226–250 из 271 отзывов о курсе Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

автор: Robert L

8 сент. 2017 г.

A good overview though it does mix and match definition from Edinburgh research rather than research in general.

автор: Magdalena M

30 мая 2020 г.

The slides for the last weeks lectures were a bit unstructured, would love if that was a bit more organized.

автор: Manolis P

28 нояб. 2016 г.

Approachable, easy to follow, interesting examples, rich additional readings, good lecturers, easy exams

автор: Karin F

22 мар. 2017 г.

Great course! Could've been longer. Looking forward to more online courses from the U of Edinburgh.

автор: Israel Á P J

13 авг. 2020 г.

Thanks for the course, I enjoy more than the first part! I loved the funny options in the quizzes.

автор: Helene L E

6 янв. 2021 г.

Great course, scratching the surface of many important concepts and explaining them well.

автор: Yan L

6 мая 2019 г.

I enjoyed the course, but felt like something was missing from the course.

автор: Ignacio J B P

12 авг. 2019 г.

It lacks a certain unity, maybe because it has many different teachers.

автор: Marie F

20 авг. 2018 г.

Really Interesting, gives a first idea of what cognitive sciences are !

автор: Troy

1 мая 2019 г.

A pretty course to have a brief understanding of cognitive science.

автор: Srikanth G

14 февр. 2019 г.

One of the most thought provoking courses. Lot to think and learn.

автор: Jonathan G

13 февр. 2018 г.

fascinating course. I had no idea this was connected to robotics!

автор: Sidney C

21 июня 2017 г.

This is a well done overview of Cognitive Sciences. Thank you.

автор: Daniel G

15 янв. 2021 г.

I was expecting a bit more of Philosophy of research methods

автор: Carola S

25 июля 2020 г.

Very interesting course and could have been longer.

автор: scalesr4

5 авг. 2017 г.

I love these topics and all of the implications.

автор: Madhura A

4 июля 2020 г.

A very interesting and well structured course.

автор: JEEVA T

19 июля 2020 г.

I'm really happy doing this course

автор: 梅思远

4 мая 2020 г.

a brief introduction to the topic.

автор: Sherry P

19 авг. 2020 г.

Challenging, but fun.

автор: Dr C J W

25 янв. 2019 г.

I came to update my existing knowledge of Cognitive Science (which dates from the 1990s), and this short course worked well enough for that.

However, it was a bit variable in quality for me. Andy Clark was okay, I got annoyed with the Philosophy of Consciousness lecture (probably not the lecturer's fault, more the terms of the debate), but I really loved Series's lecture on the Bayesian Brain.

The quizzes will not leave you feeling you have achieved great things, however - too easy. I won't be purchasing a certificate for my wall.

автор: Marcel D S

16 июня 2017 г.

Nice introduction to the philosophy of cognitive sciences. As a psychology undergraduate, I have seen some of the material before but still, I've learned a thing or two. My biggest problem with the course is that it's very short and the quizzes are no real challenge. It took me three days to finish this course with 100% accuracy which diminishes the value of the certificate. However, the course recommends some interesting readings with which I'll spend a bit more time with.

автор: Anjali N

4 нояб. 2020 г.

I found it okay-ish. Some of the abstract concepts explained by the lecturers can be taught in simpler easier to understand ways. I thought it was my problem at first, not being a native English speaker, but I was able to find a lot of resources online explaining the same concepts in easier ways. So I'd definitely recommend the staff to re-work the lecture material keeping in mind the diverse audience on the internet!

автор: Nina

19 июля 2021 г.

T​his course is very accessible and the explanations in the videos are clear and concise. However, it is not very detailed - the videos give a very introductory and somewhat superficial overview. This is useful for someone who has never read any philosophy of mind or cognitive science before, but if you have a bit of familiarity with this fields, this course may be too easy for you.

автор: Hamad M

6 июля 2020 г.

the sessions lack review question, either in the middle or the end of the session. the marking scheme is stringent with an 'all or nothing' way. half correct answers will be marked as Zero, making it difficult to know one's mistakes. Interesting course an new information, but give the professors a chair, they get distracted standing up.