Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Personal Branding

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Personal Branding от партнера Виргинский университет

4.4
звезд
Оценки: 4,834
Рецензии: 1,546

О курсе

Though the concept of personal branding isn't new, questions remain about how to create one and, more importantly, what it means to maintain and inhabit that brand. Learners will: o Understand both what personal branding means and what it means to inhabit their brand o Establish themselves on at least three social media platforms o Create a mission statement for their personal brand o Build a board of directors for their brand o Become familiar with the basics of digital security and reputation management o Create a system for on-going brand maintenance Join instructor Kimberley R. Barker as she provides a warm, supportive atmosphere in which learners are encouraged to intensively explore themselves in order to create a personal brand that authentically and effectively communicates their values and professional gifts. Together we will build a strong community in which to provide encouragement and feedback, and support each other as learners pursue their goal of successful brand creation....

Лучшие рецензии

MH

Apr 21, 2020

Thank you, mam, for such a wonderful lecture. I will be trying to follow all of the advice. By the way in the lecture, I am trying to copy your communication style. And it's an amazing time for me.

MM

Sep 11, 2018

An amazing stuff to address lot of the confusions related to personal attitude towards different things in this era of digital presence. Enroll if you really want to a lifelong learning experience!

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 1,547 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Personal Branding

автор: Julia I R B

Aug 31, 2016

Poco profesional (las grabaciones, los artículos), el contenido no es bueno

автор: Stylianos A

May 20, 2020

I recomend this course for all. It is short (i.e., can be easily completed by any one even, with tight schedules), straight to the point (no running around in circles with a lot of analysing and parallel topics), easy to understand and above all, or despite of all of these, you will gain usefull, important, and applicable knowledge.

I recommend this course for anyone who wants to establish a digital identity, as a professional or as an aspiring grown-up. For professionals, I don't think I need to explain it. By aspiring grown-ups, I am referring to young people who don't want to become known by their teenage social media in a world of grown ups. Keep those for your close group of childhood friends, and in your new life, show the world that you can create a new identity that's going to help you grow up and project a more professional personal image - brand for you.

Also, the knowledge can be used by working people who want to improve their image and that of their organisation although this would not provide immediate direct benefits for theselves. So, if you're a teacher, doctor, nurse, security worker, etc, working for a public organisation, community organisation and other similar institutions, you can project your own persona (keep to 80:20 to avoid being seen as arrogant) to connect to the community, and to establish yourself as a social leader or an expert in your job.

If you were wondering if this course is for you and whether to sign up, by all means, DO IT, and you won't reret it!

автор: Miljana S

May 29, 2020

Absolutely wonderful!

Kimberly, as being a colleague of mine in a way, brought us this course in a very dramatically driven, but surprisingly comic and most simplified and informative way possible! I enjoyed every second of it even though it took me some time to finish it due to my Covid - 19 treatment. I have to say that her enthusiasm, love towards educatuon and learning and bringing the best towards us, students, kept me wanting to know more and dragged me completely into the world she presented.

Definitely an amazing teacher and someone who should get more into acting, since I presume it surely was one of her passions in the past!

Bravo Kim and thank you Coursera for having such amazing tutors here! Thank you University of Virginia and looking forward to new exchiting adventures here with you in the future.

With love,

Miljana Stevanovic

автор: Bianca Y

May 27, 2020

The course was brief and the lectures were fun to watch mainly because the lecturer was very quirky and she didn't make the lessons too intimidating for first time learners. It felt like a very casual conversation between a mentor and a student. Really wish she had more MOOCs here on Coursera!

As for the topic itself, I find that it's easy to understand and really saw the importance of Personal Branding while I was listening to the lectures and going through the readings. Though there is no scientific framework whatsoever, she gives clear guidelines on things to-do and what not to-do like the 80/20 rule, creating a mission statement, making sure to check your privacy setting once in a while, etc.

She made the lesson very fun, interesting, and valuable to learn!

автор: Lenka S

Feb 24, 2016

Great course, I'd totally recommend it. The teacher was amazing! She really knows a lot about branding and I felt I learned a lot from her (plus she's funny!). She also supplied us with many awesome links to articles and videos to even further our knowledge of personal branding and get other perspectives from different sources. If you are asking yourself "Why should I be bothered about branding, that's some marketing stuff I don't care about", then know - this is a MUST for every single person who exists online (and since you are reading this right now, you most likely are), because by having profiles and engaging on the interwebz, you inevitably are building a reputation and this class will teach you how to manage that reputation.

автор: Yousaf A

Apr 23, 2020

I always used to take personal branding or self promotion as a negative act but this course helped me to understand the real and basic meaning of Personal branding. It taught the importance of Personal Branding in a very positive way. The Instructor Kimberley R. Barker is just amazing and her way of teaching is very lovely. To all those people who are criticizing about the content of this course should understand that this was meant to understand the idea of Personal Branding and how you carry it. It was not meant to teach digital marketing or advertisement everyone should understand this. I simply loved this course.

автор: David L

Feb 26, 2019

This course gave me exactly what I wanted to learn, and exactly what I expected. There were some lessons that took a deeper dive into theory, which fit perfectly into the flow of the lessons, while other lessons took a more practical approach, and covered how each of the social media platforms fit into a personal branding plan. I plan to use what I learned to fine-tune my personal social media presence, and to help develop a branding plan for my urban neighborhood. The course work is not heavy, and 5 weeks is a generous amount of time to complete the course.

автор: Ariful H B

Jun 03, 2019

It was a great experience for me to have a course of Introduction to Personal Branding. Truly, I didn't know about anything about personal branding. I was a bit of nurvous after enrolled in that course. But Kimberley Madam make it very easy for me. The way she taught us it wasn't seems that kind of difficult during the course. Now, I'm eager to do some more course from coursera. And last of I want to the coursera admins to give me financial aid to take this course without payment. Otherwise, It wasn't possible for me to take that kind of valuable course.

автор: Liau C Z

Jun 08, 2020

This is my second time taking a course from University of Virginia. Both times, the courses were enjoyable (I took New Business Models in Society previously). This course about Personal Branding was interesting thanks to the lecturer. She delivered content in a "Youtuber"-style, which made the content feel more "personal", fitting in nicely with Personal Branding. However, I believe that too much time was dedicated to dissecting the benefits of Twitter - a platform not very popular for businesses and professionals in Asia (where I come from).

автор: Iman A

Aug 27, 2017

It's a great course, very introductory and easy to finish. If it's your first attempt to learn about personal branding and you are looking for a course that gives you general information about the topic, so this is it. It's not for someone who searches for deep, in-detail instruction. Plus, the instructor is so nice and I enjoyed her style of passing experience through, though I am sure she has more to give. Thank you very much Kimberly. Now I am going to watch the videos again because I feel like I want to!

автор: Vanessa C

Oct 03, 2016

This course was useful and exciting. I often feel that I am the sole millennial born without social media skills. Now, I feel that I have the tools to succeed in the social media world. Thank you Kimberley Barker! Your course was well crafted and your videos were great! All of the assignments brought forth new insights. I appreciate the personality you brought in to the class, including the Hobbit references and Star Trek paraphernalia in the background! Live long and prosper. The road goes ever on and on:P

автор: Elizaveta R O

Mar 27, 2018

I can say that this online course is gorgeous! G-O-R-G-E-O-U-S!

Because there is nothing superfluous and useless in it. Each part is saturated with new information that Kimberly Barker presents to us in a new light and with a new awareness of importance. I got a real pleasure from the course, and I think that there is nothing to change in it. Only maybe add some information, because I wanted to know something more new (but it isn't necessarily)!

Thank you very much for such a useful course. I am delighted!

автор: Shirley F B

May 20, 2018

The information presented is definitely helpful for a social media newbie. I've never wanted to be on any social media site, and feel that my life has been complete without the hassle of social media. However, I'm now forced to think seriously about how an internet presence will help me as I enter the next phase (retirement) of my life. The lectures were fun, but on the mark. The readings were pertinent, though some were frightening for a person already skeptical about "getting my name out there."

автор: Dr S N S

Apr 30, 2020

Thanks for the opportunity to take up this Course.

This course is simple yet very Straight forward, Does not overwhelm you with course Material.

This Course provided me an opportunity to pick up few vital or key Information in building my personal Brand.

I wish all of us get to aware of Personal Branding, so that we can make our life unique opportunity to exchange our gifts, have fulfilling and prosperous life.

Thanks to the Course Instructor and Coursera for the opportunity provided.

автор: Alena P

Mar 25, 2020

Хочу оставить этот отзыв на русском, чтобы мои русские коллеги поняли, насколько этот курс хороший. Несмотря на то, что по описанию курс может показаться очень базовым, в нем есть пару интересных features ,которые точно вас удивят. Так же хочу сказать, что задания были не сложными, поэтому их вполне можно выполнить за раз, не нужно растягивать весь курс. В завершении хочу сказать, что мне безумно понравилось как преподает Кимберли и ее манера речи. Цепляет)

автор: Rania S A

Jul 01, 2020

This course is very helpful and gives a lot of insights. The teacher is very cheerful and makes me want to learn more about the topic. You will get understanding about what personal branding means and what it means to be a brand, define a brand mission statement for their personal brand, build a board of directors, become familiar with the basics of digital security and reputation management, and create a routine for on-going brand maintenance

автор: Alejandra B P

Nov 07, 2018

It's an awesome course and the teacher has the expertise and experience. It's really good to start but I think this exercise goes a little beyond an jntroductory thing. My only suggestion would be regarding the name because if I want to have this certificate in LinkedIn, for exampl6, the word introduction it's not very good... But thanks, it's really awesome, and the teaching is very good, fresh and unique.

автор: Jessica L

May 06, 2017

Nice introduction to this concept that is not very covered where I live, in France. I think this is the first step to build something great, not only in business, but also in al the field in where we are engaged, associatives, personal life. The study materials are very interesting and the teacher is very funny. I learned as much as I laughed in font of my laptop :) Thanks to her to give all these good advices !

автор: Martin K M

Jan 30, 2019

Do you wonder why you have more talent when compared to others but are never recognized for it?There are many smart and talented people in the world, yet only a few get the recognition they deserve.

Personal branding is the key to unlock all this.... Thanks to Kimberley R Barker for enriching me with these skills and Coursera too.

Read more at: https://www.skillsyouneed.com/rhubarb/building-personal-brand.html

автор: Trixy L

Jan 31, 2018

I really loved this course. The instructor, Kimberley, was engaging and just all around fun. I wanna hang out with her at her favorite building or under her favorite tree and just drink tea and chit chat. She loves what she does, loves helping others, loves to watch you succeed. I suppose I'm assuming all of this but I just feel it to be truth. The course is fun, easy, and you leave feeling like you got this.

автор: Gautier D

Sep 26, 2016

This is one of the most refreshing MOOCs I have ever done. Be careful, you are not enrolling for a classic course, where you have people with formal postures standing in front of a green screen and weird slides. You are enrolling for Kimberley R's course. It is her way of teaching. And basically, she is really engaging and decicated to her "learners". Great course! Thanks University of Virginia :)

автор: Gene G

Apr 12, 2020

Truly inspiring course overall, particularly because a good structure / exercises, such as the Mission Statement and Board of Directors.

One thing I would have loved to hear more about is the importance of LinkedIN rather than Twitter / Facebook. I believe LinkedIN is one of the most important platforms out there and was surprised it not being mentioned.

Regardless, good teaching and narrative!

автор: Heidi G C

Apr 10, 2020

first I want to thank Coursera for giving the opportunity to people who can't afford this types of courses to have if for free. Personally I did enjoy the course and feel I learned, if it can be better? of course there is always room to keep getting better, maybe update some of the content to what we are living now a days but overall I really liked it and the teacher was not boring at all.

автор: Peeraya P

May 31, 2020

Thanks for helping me shape out my life, explore myself deeply to see who I really am and what gift I could give to the world. this course is the best for me. Thank you that you have done this course for us. I might assume that many people around the world find out themself and become the best version of them from everything you and the course gave us. From me (peeraya.pol@gmail.com)

автор: Sara

Jan 05, 2016

Thank you very much for this course - by far the best part for me was Week 2 when we were helped to really identify who we are and how we project ourselves to ourselves and to others.

Thank you Kimberley for keeping the videos short and interesting (I find this vital to the success of MOOCs). I do however feel like the Quiz's could have been a little bit more challenging ;)