Chevron Left
Вернуться к Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA от партнера Имперский колледж Лондона

4.0
звезд
Оценки: 2,698
Рецензии: 675

О курсе

This intermediate-level course introduces the mathematical foundations to derive Principal Component Analysis (PCA), a fundamental dimensionality reduction technique. We'll cover some basic statistics of data sets, such as mean values and variances, we'll compute distances and angles between vectors using inner products and derive orthogonal projections of data onto lower-dimensional subspaces. Using all these tools, we'll then derive PCA as a method that minimizes the average squared reconstruction error between data points and their reconstruction. At the end of this course, you'll be familiar with important mathematical concepts and you can implement PCA all by yourself. If you’re struggling, you'll find a set of jupyter notebooks that will allow you to explore properties of the techniques and walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you are already an expert, this course may refresh some of your knowledge. The lectures, examples and exercises require: 1. Some ability of abstract thinking 2. Good background in linear algebra (e.g., matrix and vector algebra, linear independence, basis) 3. Basic background in multivariate calculus (e.g., partial derivatives, basic optimization) 4. Basic knowledge in python programming and numpy Disclaimer: This course is substantially more abstract and requires more programming than the other two courses of the specialization. However, this type of abstract thinking, algebraic manipulation and programming is necessary if you want to understand and develop machine learning algorithms....

Лучшие рецензии

WS
6 июля 2021 г.

Now i feel confident about pursuing machine learning courses in the future as I have learned most of the mathematics which will be helpful in building the base for machine learning, data science.

JS
16 июля 2018 г.

This is one hell of an inspiring course that demystified the difficult concepts and math behind PCA. Excellent instructors in imparting the these knowledge with easy-to-understand illustrations.

Фильтр по:

501–525 из 671 отзывов о курсе Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA

автор: Gautam K

24 июня 2020 г.

Course content is very awesome. The instructor also teaches in a very splendid manner which makes it very easily understandable. But the evaluation method for practice exercise is very worse. Code get stuck for hours. It's been very frustrating waiting for code to get compiled.

автор: arnaud j

12 июня 2018 г.

This course is way more brutal than the two previous courses in the specializationIt is also very mathematically oriented, it lacks the graphics / animation / intuition that was given in the first two courses.However, if you make it, you indeed have a good understanding of PCA.

автор: Philipp A R

6 мар. 2020 г.

A lot of input in relatively short time, main points could be pointed out better in the videos. Assignments were tough but manageable, the instructions could be clearer and more detailed. However, being pushed to figure out things by yourself is also a learning opportunity.

автор: Xin W

12 нояб. 2019 г.

To me, the first 3 weeks in this course is good. But the 4th week is quite confusing. And I don't understand the applicable meaning for the materials in the 4th week. I may need to review what I learned in the 4th week and then decide whether I understand it completely.

автор: Manju S

29 янв. 2019 г.

Good stuff:

Instructor has good knowledge of the subject. The course content structure is designed well.

Bad stuff:

Concepts could have been presented with more clarity. Programming assignments need more instructions and less assumption on what the students already know.

автор: Gabriel C

24 апр. 2020 г.

Quality of the course is great, but I would question whether it belongs in this specialization given the huge jump in expected knowledge from the first two courses to this one. Relied alot on the forums and YouTube to gain sufficient knowledge to complete this course.

автор: Ashish P

21 окт. 2020 г.

Instructor has done lot of hard work. However, the course is little rigorous. If it is possible, I request the team to upload few more videos for this module. Nevertheless, thank you so much. I have still learned a lot from this course.

автор: Hong L

27 апр. 2020 г.

The content is decent but there are some bugs in the programming assignments. Particularly the last two programming assignments. The auto-grader for the second to the last assignment passes in some input that is not of the correct form.

автор: V K

23 июля 2020 г.

The course content was very good,but the assignments were harder as knowledge of python libraries was required. It would be very helpful if you change the assignments as I feel the course should rather be about math than python

автор: Pierre

10 апр. 2020 г.

Positive points: At the end of the module, you get a good understanding on how PCA works. It fulfill its objective.

Negative points: The assignements are poorly directed, the material is not always clearly explained.

автор: Alexander Z

14 сент. 2018 г.

Good Course, but

Too less examples to do the quizes on the first run.

Programming assignments are not clearly stated, so you need unnecessary much time to succeed.

I liked the Linear Algebra & Multivariate Modul more!

автор: devansh v

3 апр. 2020 г.

The course is Satisfactory.The content is Good,no doubt about it,but many topics(both mathematical and computational) were unknown and coding assignments of Jupyter notebooks of this course(PCA) are very Buggy

автор: Norah

25 авг. 2020 г.

Kinda complicated but doable. The stuff do not monitor the discussion forums unfortunately. Without Susan's detailed & well informative replies I won't be able to complete the course. Big THANK YOU to Susan.

автор: Marina P

6 сент. 2019 г.

The course is interesting, but some of the quizzes were not done very well. After the first 2 parts of this course, which were just amazing, this one seems kind of worse, although by itself its not that bad.

автор: Deleted A

5 янв. 2021 г.

I was expecting this course to connect with the previous two but it turned out to be self contained. Jupyter notebooks contain inconsistent comments and assignment steps. Certain tasks were not clear.

автор: Rosanna H

1 апр. 2021 г.

The jump in difficulty for the final two modules was too hard going from the previous two courses in my opinion. also I would have liked more practical examples rather than being directed to reading.

автор: Chad K

8 июля 2020 г.

Difficult course. They need more formal tutorials to help with the gap between the videos and the tests and projects. I found it very helpful to buy the instructor's textbook and read along in it.

автор: Cécile L

14 апр. 2019 г.

Amazing topic, great teachers and nice videos, but assignments can be slightly frustrating and some aspects (matrix calculus, derivatives, etc.) are really expedited... Still worth your time!!!

автор: Nicholas K

27 апр. 2018 г.

It's a shame. There's lots of good material and I learned a lot. But a staggering amount of time was wasted figuring out gaps in the instructions - portions felt more like hazing than teaching.

автор: Paryant

2 дек. 2020 г.

Instructor made a good attempt to cover these complex topic. However, these topics should be supported with more examples and also provide more intuitive examples as in previous 2 courses.

автор: Adrian C

22 сент. 2019 г.

The derivatiion of the PCA in the last week can be broken into 2 weeks with different programming assignments to get a closer and more confident understanding of the PCA method.

автор: Jean D D S

31 авг. 2019 г.

I would ask the lecturer to go on more detail on the explanations and do (more) examples.

The lecturer tends to skip a few steps during calculations and demonstrations.

автор: David N

5 мая 2021 г.

Difficult course even having completed the two courses that precede it. Some concepts introduced here as assumed knowledge that were not covered in the prior courses.

автор: Dom D

21 июля 2020 г.

The week 2 code was more difficult than the other weeks. The forums are no longer attended by the professors. The access to materials from IC is great.

автор: Wang Z

8 июля 2018 г.

The knowledge introduced in this course is really helpful. However, the programming assignments are very time consuming and not necessarily relevent