Chevron Left
Вернуться к In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Отзывы учащихся о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting от партнера Музей современного искусства

4.9
Оценки: 630
Рецензии: 259

О курсе

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Лучшие рецензии

CG

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

AS

Oct 04, 2019

Well-designed course; interesting material, including optional readings. The studio demonstrations and accompanying exercises were very helpful to my own art work. Excellent overall; thank you.

Фильтр по:

176–200 из 252 отзывов о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

автор: silvia r

Nov 22, 2017

I love this course. I was very excited to attend a course by Mo.Ma of New York and to have it on-line it's perfect for me cause I live in Italy. I learned a lot of interesting things that I've never known before. The teacher is really expert in painting. great to explain in the right way the painting techniques but also he's able to analysis in the details the artworks. I appreciated the resources, video and books given to better understand artists and abstract art. I'm waiting for the next one! Thanks Mo.Ma! Silvia

автор: Naelya T N

Jan 03, 2018

great course and lector!

автор: Uma H

Aug 04, 2017

This course is EXCELLENT. I have been following many tutorials but this one is the unique: show you in a dry ad efficace way different painting techniques combine with the history of the painters who invented it. More you have a critics presentation of the most interesting abstract paintings of the century. Thanks for sharing your studies and your experiences with us.

автор: Carla B

Jul 10, 2017

I learned so much in this art appreciation and experimentation course. Many thanks to Corey D'Augustine who's straight-forward, easy-going style of teaching helped us not be afraid of trying products never used before, in my case oil paints and all the mediums that go with them, and trying methods of famous Abstract Expressionist artists. Many thanks to MoMA for providing this course through Coursera.org and to sponsors like Volkswagen who help make such enlightenment possible. I looked forward to learning through video, reading, my own research and in the studio exercises. I am off to look for similar In the Studio offerings on MoMA's website and considering what I will sign up for next on Coursera. Thank you!

автор: Arijit D

Apr 29, 2018

This course was very well structured, and the instructor's personal and often humorous approach was informative and engaging, covering very complex subject matter in an accessible way.

автор: Pepa Q G

May 28, 2017

I enjoy it very much. I learn a lot about the Postwar Abstract Painters. I wish I can join another similar course.

автор: Kate G

Jun 18, 2017

This course can be pricey if you are following along on the studio exercises, and have no art supplies at home already. That said, the course is very, very good in terms of technique process, better than the any 40k plus art school I ever attended. There is almost no teacher/student interaction except for the Q&A, so the interaction can leave something to be desired, but I think in terms of pure information, this course is incredible, clear, concise, and excellent.

автор: CR

May 24, 2017

I liked that the technical aspects were discussed. This was great for me as a beginner!

автор: Josephine V

May 27, 2017

Corey D'Augustine and MoMA curators engaged participants, like myself, in a multi-sensory hands-on experience that transformed our nascent perceptions of abstract expressionism into a developed sense of artistic appreciation for the revolutionary approaches

автор: Dina S

Jun 18, 2017

This was an amazing course. Cory is a wonderful and knowledgeable lecturer, the videos and top notch, and the content is informative and fascinating.

автор: luca s

Jan 23, 2018

Please spend time on this course, it is not only about the artists' ideas, the practical side is how the different painters created their style very interesting. Even when it looks simple there is a lot of craft behind it!

автор: Leila B N

Jan 16, 2018

Amazing, I would love to continue to have the same Professor and course style about more contemporary artists. The best online course ever

автор: Robert M

Feb 23, 2018

thoroughly enjoyed the course

автор: carolina t

Feb 27, 2018

me gusta mucho este curso lastima que no posee traduccion al español

автор: Jing L

May 23, 2017

Thank

автор: Jouriy L

May 24, 2017

Thank you very much! Very good and useful course.

Thank you particularly for instructor Corey D’Augustine.

автор: Bárbara P

Jul 15, 2017

This is a really amazing course. I've learnt a lot about Abstract Expressionism, but also about visual analysis and work appreciation. I absolutely recommend it. Corey is a brilliant teacher.

автор: Leslie Z

Oct 10, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! The course is engaging, simple to follow, and expertly taught by Corey D'Augustine.

автор: Javier C

Jan 03, 2018

Interesting subject, carried out in a well and clearly structured way, which makes it easy to follow

автор: David C

Sep 11, 2017

I enjoyed taking this course. I didn't know a lot about abstract art before going into it, and it was full of great learning. Getting to try the techniques too was a lot of fun and gave me an appreciation for how hard it is to make something look so easy.

Corey D'Augustine is a great teacher. He has a great style, and makes everything feel approachable.

автор: Kim M

Feb 26, 2018

great class!

автор: Tatiana P P

Sep 22, 2017

I really liked it! I hope MoMa could offer more courses like this one in the future, with studio time. I would definitely enrol and highly recommend them.

автор: cian

Apr 19, 2017

Excellent all round course and the instruction videos are particularly good. Highly recommend.

автор: Joan C

Feb 11, 2018

Wish there were more than 5 stars! This was a fabulous program offered by MoMA. I would highly recommend it to any artist interested in Abstraction. It would be wonderful to add even more artists to learn about. Franz Kline, Joan Mitchell and Helen Frankenthaler would be my choices to add, yes please!

автор: Jennifer U

May 28, 2017

Amazing course...I hope this guy teaches more courses!! I would sign up immediately!