Chevron Left
Вернуться к In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Отзывы учащихся о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting от партнера Музей современного искусства

4.9
Оценки: 630
Рецензии: 259

О курсе

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Лучшие рецензии

CG

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

KG

Apr 17, 2019

I have thoroughly enjoyed doing this course. It has proved useful in boosting my confidence in studying, as well as providing me with inspiration for my own work, both in painting and ceramics.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 252 отзывов о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

автор: Sofia V

Jan 03, 2018

Absolutely loved it.

автор: Emilio M

Dec 20, 2017

This is a very interesting course! I made and painted my first canvas with acrilic, I'm very happy about all this experience.

автор: Lieke M

Jun 18, 2018

Really enjoyed the combination of theory and hands-on painting!

автор: katrina s

Jun 22, 2017

I am fond of the New York School poets so I really enjoyed learning about these postwar New York artists who were working at the same time. Many were active when I was living in NYC as a child. I loved getting an idea of how they worked and how the work changed throughout their lives. I did not do the studio part of the course which I am sure would have been great but I loved the videos, readings and links to the MOMA collections. Thank you so much for this course.

автор: Maureen W

Feb 11, 2018

Thank you...a million thank yous for this excellent course. Corey Augustine is brilliant, funny, easy, smart and talented and his style makes what was aways complex for me so much more understandable. I have seen Rotho, Pollock and Kooning in galleries n Toronto and Ottawa and a bit in NYC but I never really knew what I was looking at, even when it stirred me, pleased me, upset me. I am so privileged now to be introduced to meaning. I feel so lucky to have come upon this course. And my 93 year old neighbour who loves Rothko was so pleased when I told her about this course that she is checking out post-war AEE on Coursera today. I love how the course is constructed...the workshop demonstrating materials and approaches, the different voices describing the work. Brilliant!! :)

автор: Melissa H

May 24, 2017

Phenomenal course. Thank you!!

автор: Valerie L V

May 22, 2017

Amazing course, precise but deep at the same time, beautifully designed with a really interesting selection of painters. Corey is a GREAT teacher, very clear, very smart and inspiring. I enjoyed a lot!

автор: ARMAND C

Jul 17, 2017

I cannot think of how much more thorough an on line course could be. It blended videos, presented by professional curators; an excellent lead presenter, Mr D'Augustine who explained and demonstrated the tools and techniques used by the various post-WWII NY School artists and reading assignments and community feedback, to form a superstructure any dedicated learner could depend upon to progress as an artist.

автор: Stanislaus G

Apr 03, 2017

I learned so much in this class-- about the artists we studied and about how they actually created their work. It was pretty amazing!

автор: alissa c

Jul 18, 2017

An amazing course about difficult art. I loved every minute, even when I was bored. NO, really! I found out a lot about how little I knew. And a great deal about technique....I'm going to have to bookmark some of the films, in case I need to find out "What would X do?"

автор: Carol P

Oct 18, 2017

Not just informative with regard to the New York School of Abstract Expressionists, this course is replete with lots of studio fun! Expertly taught by Cory D' Augustine, one will learn the techniques and methods of the members of this dynamic and innovative group of painters.

автор: lucy g

Apr 16, 2017

Thank you for a very well organized course, with Corey who did a brilliant job of demonstrating a wide variety of techniques and discussing in depth the artists featured. He is so knowledgeable and any future courses he and MOMA offers will have me as a student. A thousand thanks.

автор: Alison C

Feb 22, 2018

I really enjoyed this course! It was engaging; the assignments were challenging enough to need some work and stimulate thinking, but not so hard to be a deterrent to completion. The mix of theory and practical work was perfect too. I found myself looking forward to each module more and more as the course progressed.

автор: peyman s

Apr 21, 2018

Fantastic insight into many artists I knew very little about & styles that I wasnt aware of

автор: Adrián L

Apr 21, 2018

Really like the course! Waiting for more new stuff.

автор: Constantine V

Mar 23, 2017

Perfect course! All topics are revealed in great detail and clear!

автор: Megan N E

Aug 28, 2017

loved this course. Even though they show how to do one painting of each artist's, I wish they did a couple from different periods. So good

автор: Constantina Y

Jan 30, 2018

This course is simply amazing! All aspects... the videos, the information, the knowledge are all outstanding.

автор: Joyce Z

Jul 15, 2017

The content is very rich and I benefit from it a lot! Highly recommend it!

автор: Dmitry M

Mar 12, 2018

Very interesting, colorfull and inspiring course

автор: Arthur D W

Feb 26, 2018

This course will inform you about painting techniques (trust me, it isn't as simple as it looks!) and improve your ability to think and write critically and concisely about art (it's also fun!).

автор: Pamela J R

May 15, 2017

This is one of the best courses I have done. I would recommend it to anyone who appreciates art. I will never look at the work of these artists in the same way again, this course has certainly opened up my eyes!

автор: Sandy L

Jun 12, 2017

Loved it. Well presented with valuable exercises. I learned a lot and look forward to more.

автор: Renato S

Aug 17, 2017

just started this course, i think is phenomenal, helsp with techniques and theory

автор: Ivona F

Nov 07, 2017

It's an amazing course with the teacher who is experienced and cool!