Chevron Left
Вернуться к In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Отзывы учащихся о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting от партнера Музей современного искусства

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 945
Рецензии: 410

О курсе

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Лучшие рецензии

CG

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

DC

Jun 07, 2020

Really enjoyed this course, first course I have taken in this area of study. The course has given me an understanding of the artists covered and can't wait to see the artists paintings in person.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 404 отзывов о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

автор: SueC

May 30, 2017

I will admit that I am not a fan of abstract painting and that was one of the reasons I enrolled upon this course. I wanted to try and look again, and to attempt to see what others saw who were more enthusiastic about abstract expressionism.

The course covered not only the history of the movement but also the studio techniques of the various artists were demonstrated and you could `paint along' too. The visual analysis techniques were invaluable. While I am still not a total convert I do now take the time to look and think when I see the work of these artists. Thank you for providing an interesting and thought provoking course. More like this please!

автор: Red M

Jan 24, 2018

I'm a Coursera student for two years ago. In this time I became a professionale painter. To be honest, I thought that he could not teach me much that I did not know, but I love abstract expressionism and I paint in abstract material and so I decided to follow him. It was a wonderful discovery. The teacher and artist is a beautiful person, with a subtle and pleasant sense of humor, a high level of preparation and a person who knows how to teach. It was one of the most beautiful courses I've ever done, the artists are among my favorites and discovering them so closely has been moving. I recommend it to anyone who loves art. Really beautiful.

автор: belinda h

Jun 19, 2017

Thank you so much for offering this class! This is an excellent organized in depth course. Corey D'Augustine provides wonderful educational videos that offered insight into these artist's works, their techniques and the materials that they used - I loved it! Part of being a great teacher is engaging your students -- I was excited to do the assignments and to see what lesson was next! Finishing the course has brought a greater appreciation for the artist's works while also prompting me to apply their techniques to my own painting. I will be looking to more courses from Mr.D'Augustine!

автор: Gary P H

Apr 01, 2019

Super course. Really good. If you're out to learn something about Abstract Expressionism, or just have a general interest in painting, this course is for you. I particularly enjoyed the optional practicum element, and you should definitely try the exercises that are a fun way for a beginner to get familiar with oil paints and some interesting techniques. I started this course out of curiosity and became hooked; I intend to follow up with more reading and painting. A five-start effort by the whole MoMA team, I highly recommend In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting.

автор: ILCHENKO N V (

Jun 02, 2020

Noteworthy course! Excellent presentation of information, consistency. The video tutorials with the excellent teacher and lecturer Corey D'Augustine were the most fruitful and effective for me for further training. Video materials about artists, links, homework, artist interviews are valuable material. This course opens the door to new professional activities. Gives skills in painting, drawing technique, history. I shine on everyone! I was pleased and impressed!

Thanks to the MoMA Museum, all the creators of this course, and its sponsors!

автор: Gary E

Feb 03, 2020

I was very impressed with the online course provided by MoMA. I had already watched a number of the videos on Youtube but found the additional videos and reading material both interesting and helpful. I struggled with the De Kooning exercise but will not give up. I learned new techniques etc and that I feel more drawn to the work of Newman, Rothko and Martin more than some of the other ‘action’ painters. It has sstimulated in me a desire to learn more and continue developing as an amateur artist who paints for the joy of it. Thank you MoMA.

автор: silvia r

Nov 22, 2017

I love this course. I was very excited to attend a course by Mo.Ma of New York and to have it on-line it's perfect for me cause I live in Italy. I learned a lot of interesting things that I've never known before. The teacher is really expert in painting. great to explain in the right way the painting techniques but also he's able to analysis in the details the artworks. I appreciated the resources, video and books given to better understand artists and abstract art. I'm waiting for the next one! Thanks Mo.Ma! Silvia

автор: Gabriela L

Jan 09, 2018

Great course. The lecturer is knowledgeable and passionate about the subject, his explanations are very clear. I think it's a great idea to combine art history on the artists with studio technique lessons. The best part is to have the lessons taught in front of the actual paintings that hang on the walls of MoMA, that's not only exciting, but we are able to see the true dimensions of each work reviewed, as well as some close ups to appreciate details and textures. The references and links presented are very useful.

автор: Felipe M

Jun 08, 2020

Thanks MoMa and Courey D'Agostini, I really enjoy the course and change completely my perspective of Abstract Art. I'm a self thought artist and have some direct lessons with Mexican Artist Nieves Moreno, I like nature and paint landscapes, mainly because I´m a mining Engineer, retired now and dedicated to art. I will like you to please suggest some School in NY where I can improve my Technic and improve my overall knowledge. Thank you very much, I´m very satisfied about the course, my rate will be EXCELLENT

автор: Karen A

Jan 31, 2018

With the completion of this course I had to have a lot of concentration for the readings, to take care of the deadlines, persistence to move on until the end, I developed my reading and writing in English that is not my original language. All this besides the specificities of the course properly on post war painting. The course is very complete, on theory and practice, with great visual presentation for the texts for the videos of the classes and links. It was a great experience that I highly recommend

автор: Roberto B

May 17, 2017

Very interesting course I appeciate it very much. My only suggestion is: maibe will be nice to go more deeply in the materials used by the artists (not the supposed one) , with link to papers, scientific investigation, conservation treatment report and other useful information about on what is the actual knowledge on the painting materials and tecnique used by the painters of newyork school. That can be useful for people involved in conservation study, or for others involved in museums jobs.

автор: Charles B G

Jun 27, 2020

I am 70 years old and I have been an engineer all my life. I recently bacame intersted in art and, by enrolling on a couple of MoMA courses have achieved a whole new outlook which is giving me great interest and excitement. Corey is wonderful.......his knowledge and attention to detail are astonishing making everything so natural and easy. I don't have much basic talent but I now have a range of basic techniques that allow me to persue this wonderful lifestyle. Many thanks indeed.

автор: Jane C

Aug 17, 2018

This is a fabulous course, made even stronger by Corey's painting technique videos - a novel addition to an art history class! I'm just taking this class for fun but I've learned more in 8 weeks than in courses taken at university. The content, structure, and pacing of this class is marvelous. I look forward to seeing what else Mr. d'Augustine has to offer in the future. If nothing else, this class has made me want to spend a week at MoMa. Can't rate this class highly enough!

автор: katrina s

Jun 22, 2017

I am fond of the New York School poets so I really enjoyed learning about these postwar New York artists who were working at the same time. Many were active when I was living in NYC as a child. I loved getting an idea of how they worked and how the work changed throughout their lives. I did not do the studio part of the course which I am sure would have been great but I loved the videos, readings and links to the MOMA collections. Thank you so much for this course.

автор: Kate G

Jun 18, 2017

This course can be pricey if you are following along on the studio exercises, and have no art supplies at home already. That said, the course is very, very good in terms of technique process, better than the any 40k plus art school I ever attended. There is almost no teacher/student interaction except for the Q&A, so the interaction can leave something to be desired, but I think in terms of pure information, this course is incredible, clear, concise, and excellent.

автор: Sue H

Jul 07, 2020

This course was the best one I have taken. It offers an interesting mix of artists. Corey does a great job with the in studio explanations of how the artists painted, what they used and how they went about completing their paintings. Each artist we studied was connected to the other, yet they all had their own style. It has helped me as an artist in opening up the more abstract part of my brain, and allowed me to trust and explore the whole creative process.

автор: Lisa G

May 30, 2020

This was a great course to take to learn more in depth about the painting methods and art theory of Post WW 2 painting. Cory D'Augustine's demonstrations were interesting to watch. I liked the combination of video content presentations and supplemental reading materials. The quizzes were challenging and the final essay with peer review added a nice format for connecting with others taking the course. This was a well designed course and I would recommend it.

автор: Ma. K C D C

Nov 20, 2017

Definitely my favorite course taken on coursera so far. It gives the learner a new perspective in appreciating abstract expressionist paintngs. It also tackles in depth the processes of the artists discussed in the course. The opportunity to make your own version of the works that were discussed gives the learners a new appreciation of the famous pieces. I am hoping to see more courses by MoMA similar to this one. WIll definitely enroll in more of these.

автор: KACIE L

Oct 17, 2019

I learned a lot from this course and I found it to be very interesting. I learned a lot by studying these artists and their different styles, techniques and the tools they would use. The studio work was fun too, trying to recreate the artists styles, it was different from the way I normally would create a painting. Corey is a great instructor and very knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend this course if you are interested in art and art history.

автор: Danielle D

Jun 11, 2020

I have really loved this course because the one area of art I have had the most difficult time learning and wrapping my head around was abstraction! This really went into great detail about the art, the artists and the process that they used to create their works. As an artist, I want to be constantly learning and researching artists and methods so that I can broaden my own horizons. These courses will also work nicely with my Museum Studies too.

автор: Leza H

Nov 25, 2018

Excellent course and one which I have recommended to many people. Gives you a unique first hand insight in to technique and methods. The course tutor, Corey, is impressive. I would love to see more courses led by him, like this one, featuring different artists. I now visit MOMA with a far greater appreciation of the artist’s skills and it has encouraged me to paint using different techniques. Truly insightful and enlightening.

автор: Paul B

Dec 24, 2017

Crystal clear lectures and fantastic demos by Corey D'Augustine. The readings are often superb but the museum lectures can be a bit droll. Either way, the real magic occurs when you pick up the paint brush and get to work on a canvas. The magic in working :in the style of" is a great way of learning and training oneself to free up the creative flow. I recommend this course even to those who have never painted before!

автор: sylvia

Oct 06, 2018

This course bas been very effective for my study on abstractionism. Also learning the technique each abstractionist used to express their ideation is a bonus. I always read about few of these techniques but never in form of visual demonstration. Thanks to the instructor and his dynamic way of explaining the philosophy and meaning of each major artwork increase my engagement and curiosity to go searching for even more

автор: iliana i c n

May 28, 2017

Excelente curso, me encanto la forma del instructor de enseñar los gestos que realza el artista al pintar, como mezcla su paleta de color los materiales, la información sobre sus obras y la biografía de los artistas muy completa, la plataforma del curso fácil de seguir mi dificultad es que mi ingles no es muy bueno y me ocupo un mundo de tiempo tratando de traducir muchísimas palabras y ponerlas en el contexto.

автор: Julia H

Oct 25, 2017

I love this course and am getting a new and deeper understanding of art from this period. Even though i studied art at university and am a painter myself, I still learned new things about the technique of these artists. The video on DeKooning's "Woman 1" was incredible. Great that an art conservator teaches this because you get in depth information about how the paintings were constructed from the canvas up.