Chevron Left
Вернуться к In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Отзывы учащихся о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting от партнера Музей современного искусства

4.9
Оценки: 630
Рецензии: 259

О курсе

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Лучшие рецензии

CG

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

AS

Oct 04, 2019

Well-designed course; interesting material, including optional readings. The studio demonstrations and accompanying exercises were very helpful to my own art work. Excellent overall; thank you.

Фильтр по:

226–250 из 253 отзывов о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

автор: James W

Sep 12, 2018

Thoroughly enjoyable and provided fantastic inspiration for my own work. The lecturer was clearly very knowledgeable and conveyed sometimes difficult concepts simply and reinforced these throughout the course. It really was easy to stay motivated with this course!

автор: Dmitry M

Mar 12, 2018

Very interesting, colorfull and inspiring course

автор: Sune L

Oct 21, 2017

It's incredibly inspiring. Corey gives very good instruction and specific tasks, while encouraging pushing beyond limits if you feel like it. You won't be left flailing if your new to painting (like me) and you won't be limited if you are more experienced and adventurous. If in doubt check out the free "In the studio" videos on you tube, I gives a great idea of what you will get more of here.

автор: F. S M B

May 23, 2017

Excellent materials, from the reading texts to the video lessons, all very well explain and engaging. Its good for all artists beginners and professional artists.

автор: Carol P

Oct 18, 2017

Not just informative with regard to the New York School of Abstract Expressionists, this course is replete with lots of studio fun! Expertly taught by Cory D' Augustine, one will learn the techniques and methods of the members of this dynamic and innovative group of painters.

автор: Stanislaus G

Apr 03, 2017

I learned so much in this class-- about the artists we studied and about how they actually created their work. It was pretty amazing!

автор: Sean S

May 05, 2018

This might have been one of the most interesting art courses I ever took. Really great!

автор: Nathan L A

Mar 25, 2019

Corey is the man.

автор: Joan C

Feb 11, 2018

Wish there were more than 5 stars! This was a fabulous program offered by MoMA. I would highly recommend it to any artist interested in Abstraction. It would be wonderful to add even more artists to learn about. Franz Kline, Joan Mitchell and Helen Frankenthaler would be my choices to add, yes please!

автор: silvia r

Nov 22, 2017

I love this course. I was very excited to attend a course by Mo.Ma of New York and to have it on-line it's perfect for me cause I live in Italy. I learned a lot of interesting things that I've never known before. The teacher is really expert in painting. great to explain in the right way the painting techniques but also he's able to analysis in the details the artworks. I appreciated the resources, video and books given to better understand artists and abstract art. I'm waiting for the next one! Thanks Mo.Ma! Silvia

автор: Roberto B F

Aug 18, 2017

Awesome!

автор: ARMAND C

Jul 17, 2017

I cannot think of how much more thorough an on line course could be. It blended videos, presented by professional curators; an excellent lead presenter, Mr D'Augustine who explained and demonstrated the tools and techniques used by the various post-WWII NY School artists and reading assignments and community feedback, to form a superstructure any dedicated learner could depend upon to progress as an artist.

автор: Paul H

Dec 14, 2019

Great course with lots of technical and practical history and advice!

автор: David D

Jun 03, 2017

So much fun. I only wish I was ready at the time to stretch my own canvas, squeeze the tubes and start painting.

What really made this course was the difference it makes when a painting is described for you. It makes abstract art so much more enjoyable than it would otherwise be - at least for myself. Plus you have to say the 'teacher' was quite skilled in all the various techniques and exceptionally clear in his presentations. Bravo!

автор: Joy S

Sep 11, 2017

This is actually pretty cool. You could, by watching the painting demonstrations, actually reproduce the techniques of the artists studied in the class.

автор: Fabiola D

Oct 06, 2017

I have very much enjoyed this course, and I have learned a lot about abstract expressionists.

автор: Robert W C

May 24, 2017

The course was very enjoyable. The teacher, Mr. Corey D'Augustine, was wonderful; however the intellectual level of the assignments was quite low, and their was basically no feedback. This is true especially with the "Visual analysis essay" - I received 100/100 with virtually no idea what I did right about the essay.

автор: Gerard M

Nov 06, 2017

Excellent course for anyone who wants to learn more about Modern Art!

автор: Kelsie

Jan 19, 2018

A very informative introduction to the methods, techniques, beginnings, and psychology to influential artists within the movement. The readings were succinct and engaging, but never too long. Lots of audiovisual supplementation.

автор: Thomas P

May 26, 2017

Fantastic course, very well planned and great mix of source material through the Career in Eight Artworks sections to the videos explaining painting technique in the studio.

автор: DIEGO F B G

Mar 25, 2019

Se aprende mucho en cuanto al arte abstracto y su implicación en la sociedad y la forma de transmitir los que se siente y lo que piensa. Muy buen material y metodología del profesor D'Agustine. Me gustaría que pudieran poner el curso en español al menos por los subtítulos. Gracias.

You learn a lot about abstract art and its involvement in society and how to transmit what you feel and what you think. Very good material and methodology of Professor D'Agustine. I would like you to be able to put the course in Spanish at least for the subtitles. Thank you.

автор: Rose N

Oct 25, 2019

Interesting and engaging course content with evidently knowledgeable instructor. Thoroughly enjoyable optional practical exercises. A pity that the peer review of the final 'assessed' submission took a long time and did not provide much useful feedback; as there is obviously not a huge cohort, perhaps the instructor or an assistant would be a more appropriate/useful assessor.

автор: Wil A

Nov 23, 2019

great course, learned alot, in general though the online aspect is very confusing when it comes to grades and there seems to be no one to talk to about things... just email and that isn't solving things. still don't know if i will get my certificate and things look wrong in my progress on the computer to what it was supposed to be... no one seems to connect me to someone that can answer questions and fix things... i am really perplexed and will get very upset eventually, but no one seems to take responsibility!

автор: Jill B

Jan 23, 2018

Really enjoyed this course, particularly the "In The Studio" content. It has completely changed by view of abstract paintings from 'a child could have done this' to a deep appreciation of the skilled approach and the artist's very deep knowledge and understanding of their chosen medium.

автор: Mary-Jane

Apr 25, 2018

A very well put together course with great practical and theoretical information. I would have liked to see one or two of the women artists included such as Joan Mitchell and Helen Frankenthaler. I know it is difficult to include all the wonderful Abstract Expressionist artists, but my feeling is that it is worth increasing the length of the course to cater for these two artists. Alternatively, offer another Abstract Expressionist course - so have Part I (the current course) and Part II which follows on from Part I.