Chevron Left
Вернуться к In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Отзывы учащихся о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting от партнера Музей современного искусства

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 1,241
Рецензии: 553

О курсе

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Лучшие рецензии

AN
22 мая 2021 г.

Excellent. The course was very educational, extremely well put together and Corey´s instruction was excellent. One really needed to put time and effort into it but is worth every second of time spend.

DB
25 июля 2020 г.

Beyond my expectations! Encouraged by in studio where I discovered I could be successful experimenting with all the different artists. The knowledge, insight, and fascinating experience was joyous!

Фильтр по:

526–545 из 545 отзывов о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

автор: Julie T

14 сент. 2020 г.

While the course was good, I would have liked to have had some feedback from the instructor on my essay and my art instead of just peer responses. It felt like it was not really a true course without this type of response. I signed up for the course for purely a self interest so it really did not matter. However, if I had wanted the certificate, I would have felt short changed. I did enjoy the videos and the class overall.

автор: Ethna H

4 июня 2020 г.

I have no background in fine art or history of art nor am I an artist. I undertook this course because I have a passion for art and in particular a couple of the Abstract Expressionists. I thoroughly enjoyed the course and found the study format very easy to follow and the additional resources for extended reading very interesting.

Corey you have a great way of imparting knowledge.

Thank you

автор: Rose N

25 окт. 2019 г.

Interesting and engaging course content with evidently knowledgeable instructor. Thoroughly enjoyable optional practical exercises. A pity that the peer review of the final 'assessed' submission took a long time and did not provide much useful feedback; as there is obviously not a huge cohort, perhaps the instructor or an assistant would be a more appropriate/useful assessor.

автор: Colleen K

8 июня 2020 г.

Would have enjoyed attending one session on any of the women featured in the book "Ninth Street Women"...Frankenthaler, Mitchell, Elaine deKooning, Krasner, Hartigan, Freilicher, etc. Other than that, great course. I am an amateur collector of abstract expressionist artists and now have a better eye and appreciation for the art.

автор: John R M

20 июля 2020 г.

I very much enjoyed this course. I found it very informative, and taught in a way that made learning interesting and enjoyable. I am impressed with Corey D'Augustine's teaching skills. His knowledge of the subject(s) and the way he lays out the information in the videos made his instruction painless and fun. - John Robert Myers

автор: Dionne W

17 июня 2020 г.

Really loved this course, the studio tasks really challenged me and led me to want to do more. My only annoyance is that I cannot get my grade because there is no other work for me to critique for my final assignment. Shame a flaw in the process holds up the rounding off of this for me.

автор: Jill B

23 янв. 2018 г.

Really enjoyed this course, particularly the "In The Studio" content. It has completely changed by view of abstract paintings from 'a child could have done this' to a deep appreciation of the skilled approach and the artist's very deep knowledge and understanding of their chosen medium.

автор: Kelsie

18 янв. 2018 г.

A very informative introduction to the methods, techniques, beginnings, and psychology to influential artists within the movement. The readings were succinct and engaging, but never too long. Lots of audiovisual supplementation.

автор: Thomas P

26 мая 2017 г.

Fantastic course, very well planned and great mix of source material through the Career in Eight Artworks sections to the videos explaining painting technique in the studio.

автор: Joy S

11 сент. 2017 г.

This is actually pretty cool. You could, by watching the painting demonstrations, actually reproduce the techniques of the artists studied in the class.

автор: Robert V P

18 сент. 2020 г.

An interesting class. I wasn't interested in actually doing any of the paintings but it was fascinating to learn about the process.

автор: Christopher S G

23 мая 2021 г.

Excellent summary introduction to some of the key Abstract Expressionists, their methods and processes.

автор: Fabiola D

5 окт. 2017 г.

I have very much enjoyed this course, and I have learned a lot about abstract expressionists.

автор: Frederic M

26 июня 2020 г.

very interesting learning with practical aspect rarely included in online courses

автор: Cheryl E

8 июля 2020 г.

the course info is very good. I want only the info not a grade or certificate.

автор: Gerard M

6 нояб. 2017 г.

Excellent course for anyone who wants to learn more about Modern Art!

автор: Francisco L

29 июля 2019 г.

Excessively technical. It seems a course of learning to paint. It doesn't bring me much.

автор: Ann W C

8 окт. 2020 г.

But submitting written work - impossible

автор: Eric J

9 июля 2020 г.

Information got too repetitive again. Course was too difficult to understand, and that I got bored immediately. This is another worst art course I have taken as well. Could have done better with the information and the videos. I give this course a 1 star out of 5.

автор: ailona r

1 мар. 2018 г.

names mentions but are not printed on the lscreen