Chevron Left
Вернуться к In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Отзывы учащихся о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting от партнера Музей современного искусства

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 771
Рецензии: 323

О курсе

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Лучшие рецензии

CG

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

AS

Oct 04, 2019

Well-designed course; interesting material, including optional readings. The studio demonstrations and accompanying exercises were very helpful to my own art work. Excellent overall; thank you.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 319 отзывов о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

автор: Gabriela L

Jan 09, 2018

Great course. The lecturer is knowledgeable and passionate about the subject, his explanations are very clear. I think it's a great idea to combine art history on the artists with studio technique lessons. The best part is to have the lessons taught in front of the actual paintings that hang on the walls of MoMA, that's not only exciting, but we are able to see the true dimensions of each work reviewed, as well as some close ups to appreciate details and textures. The references and links presented are very useful.

автор: Karen A

Jan 31, 2018

With the completion of this course I had to have a lot of concentration for the readings, to take care of the deadlines, persistence to move on until the end, I developed my reading and writing in English that is not my original language. All this besides the specificities of the course properly on post war painting. The course is very complete, on theory and practice, with great visual presentation for the texts for the videos of the classes and links. It was a great experience that I highly recommend

автор: Roberto B

May 17, 2017

Very interesting course I appeciate it very much. My only suggestion is: maibe will be nice to go more deeply in the materials used by the artists (not the supposed one) , with link to papers, scientific investigation, conservation treatment report and other useful information about on what is the actual knowledge on the painting materials and tecnique used by the painters of newyork school. That can be useful for people involved in conservation study, or for others involved in museums jobs.

автор: Jane C

Aug 17, 2018

This is a fabulous course, made even stronger by Corey's painting technique videos - a novel addition to an art history class! I'm just taking this class for fun but I've learned more in 8 weeks than in courses taken at university. The content, structure, and pacing of this class is marvelous. I look forward to seeing what else Mr. d'Augustine has to offer in the future. If nothing else, this class has made me want to spend a week at MoMa. Can't rate this class highly enough!

автор: katrina s

Jun 22, 2017

I am fond of the New York School poets so I really enjoyed learning about these postwar New York artists who were working at the same time. Many were active when I was living in NYC as a child. I loved getting an idea of how they worked and how the work changed throughout their lives. I did not do the studio part of the course which I am sure would have been great but I loved the videos, readings and links to the MOMA collections. Thank you so much for this course.

автор: Kate G

Jun 18, 2017

This course can be pricey if you are following along on the studio exercises, and have no art supplies at home already. That said, the course is very, very good in terms of technique process, better than the any 40k plus art school I ever attended. There is almost no teacher/student interaction except for the Q&A, so the interaction can leave something to be desired, but I think in terms of pure information, this course is incredible, clear, concise, and excellent.

автор: Ma. K C D C

Nov 20, 2017

Definitely my favorite course taken on coursera so far. It gives the learner a new perspective in appreciating abstract expressionist paintngs. It also tackles in depth the processes of the artists discussed in the course. The opportunity to make your own version of the works that were discussed gives the learners a new appreciation of the famous pieces. I am hoping to see more courses by MoMA similar to this one. WIll definitely enroll in more of these.

автор: KACIE L

Oct 17, 2019

I learned a lot from this course and I found it to be very interesting. I learned a lot by studying these artists and their different styles, techniques and the tools they would use. The studio work was fun too, trying to recreate the artists styles, it was different from the way I normally would create a painting. Corey is a great instructor and very knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend this course if you are interested in art and art history.

автор: Leza H

Nov 25, 2018

Excellent course and one which I have recommended to many people. Gives you a unique first hand insight in to technique and methods. The course tutor, Corey, is impressive. I would love to see more courses led by him, like this one, featuring different artists. I now visit MOMA with a far greater appreciation of the artist’s skills and it has encouraged me to paint using different techniques. Truly insightful and enlightening.

автор: Paul B

Dec 24, 2017

Crystal clear lectures and fantastic demos by Corey D'Augustine. The readings are often superb but the museum lectures can be a bit droll. Either way, the real magic occurs when you pick up the paint brush and get to work on a canvas. The magic in working :in the style of" is a great way of learning and training oneself to free up the creative flow. I recommend this course even to those who have never painted before!

автор: sylvia

Oct 06, 2018

This course bas been very effective for my study on abstractionism. Also learning the technique each abstractionist used to express their ideation is a bonus. I always read about few of these techniques but never in form of visual demonstration. Thanks to the instructor and his dynamic way of explaining the philosophy and meaning of each major artwork increase my engagement and curiosity to go searching for even more

автор: iliana i c n

May 28, 2017

Excelente curso, me encanto la forma del instructor de enseñar los gestos que realza el artista al pintar, como mezcla su paleta de color los materiales, la información sobre sus obras y la biografía de los artistas muy completa, la plataforma del curso fácil de seguir mi dificultad es que mi ingles no es muy bueno y me ocupo un mundo de tiempo tratando de traducir muchísimas palabras y ponerlas en el contexto.

автор: Julia H

Oct 25, 2017

I love this course and am getting a new and deeper understanding of art from this period. Even though i studied art at university and am a painter myself, I still learned new things about the technique of these artists. The video on DeKooning's "Woman 1" was incredible. Great that an art conservator teaches this because you get in depth information about how the paintings were constructed from the canvas up.

автор: ARMAND C

Jul 17, 2017

I cannot think of how much more thorough an on line course could be. It blended videos, presented by professional curators; an excellent lead presenter, Mr D'Augustine who explained and demonstrated the tools and techniques used by the various post-WWII NY School artists and reading assignments and community feedback, to form a superstructure any dedicated learner could depend upon to progress as an artist.

автор: Juliana M

Aug 14, 2017

I did not know a lot about Abstract Painting, but I loved the courses of MoMA and decided to do anyways. I was extremely surprised by the quality of the content and how the course inspires us to deepen the study about the New York School. I was fascinated by the theme and started to create paintings inspired by the artists and read more about the subject. I could not be more pleased with this course.

автор: John V

Jul 23, 2017

I liked this course very much. The instructor Corey D'Augustine has an excellent presentation style: clear, concise and to the point. The studio component of the course was difficult but extraordinary rewarding, the works of the artists covered are incredibly difficult to reproduce. You get a true understanding of the brilliance of their ideas and their works. Excellent course. I highly recommend it.

автор: Sune L

Oct 21, 2017

It's incredibly inspiring. Corey gives very good instruction and specific tasks, while encouraging pushing beyond limits if you feel like it. You won't be left flailing if your new to painting (like me) and you won't be limited if you are more experienced and adventurous. If in doubt check out the free "In the studio" videos on you tube, I gives a great idea of what you will get more of here.

автор: billcat88@comcast.net

Feb 10, 2018

i loved the course leader a lot and was excited to to learn and participate. i learned a lot and was motivated to try new thing in painting. i have wanted to do abstract painting for years but have been afraid to try it. the course opened new doors for me. I know my painting is going to be evolve and improve after this course. thank you Corey D'Augustine! i hope your will do another soon.

автор: brian n

Jul 16, 2017

It is impossible not to love this course. Corey's sincere enthusiasm is contagious and his ability to make painting skills accessible for beginners is awe inspiring. The videos are incredibly well done and the free written materials would cost hundreds of dollars at MOMA's bookstore. I cannot say enough great things about this class, so take it so you can experience it for yourself.

автор: Julie H

Sep 11, 2017

I loved this course and learnt so much by doing it. The resources, both written and visual, were first rate, as we're the presenters. I have developed an understanding and appreciation of abstract art and it has spurred me on to read more on this topic. I have no hesitation in recommending this course. Thank you to the MoMA team for producing such an enjoyable learning experience.

автор: Uma H

Aug 04, 2017

This course is EXCELLENT. I have been following many tutorials but this one is the unique: show you in a dry ad efficace way different painting techniques combine with the history of the painters who invented it. More you have a critics presentation of the most interesting abstract paintings of the century. Thanks for sharing your studies and your experiences with us.

автор: Robyn L

May 14, 2017

A comprehensive and fascinating investigation of Postwar Abstract Painting. Features seven key artists who work using a range of techniques and represents the diversity of these artists. Presenters are very engaging, interesting, informative and enjoyable to watch. I really enjoyed the demonstrations and explanations of the artists' methods by Corey D'Augustine.

автор: Plácida

Aug 14, 2017

This course has provided the opportunity of knowing better each renown artists from Abstract Expressionism in United States. I've learnt in depth and discovered other personalities I've ever seen throughout my degree in Art History. The contents are actually instructive and teaching. Hope to enroll in more courses like that in a soon future. Congratulations!

автор: Donna R

Apr 24, 2020

I have taken and completed a couple of classes and others are in process. That said, this was my very favorite course that I looked forward to each day. I would like to take it again.

Cory is an amazing instructor and very inspiring. I recommend this course to everyone I know and it is especially good for frustrated artists that simply need a jump start.

автор: Claudia D

Jan 28, 2019

Course is outstanding. Very well presented and demonstrated by the instructor, pacing is excellent (a little video, a little reading, a quiz) and hugely informative. Time spent was well worth it. Can't wait to travel to NY and see the paintings in person. Would recommend this course to anyone interested in the subject. I took the non-painting option.