Chevron Left
Вернуться к Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way от партнера Мюнхенский университет Людвига-Максимилиана (LMU)

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 520
Рецензии: 205

О курсе

Discover the mighty kingdom of Assyria, which came to be the world’s first great empire three thousand years ago. From the 9th to the 7th centuries BC, during the imperial phase of Assyria’s long history, modern day northern Iraq was the central region of a state reaching from the Mediterranean Sea to the Persian Gulf, and incorporating what is now Iraq, Syria, and Lebanon, as well as half of Israel, and wide parts of south-eastern Turkey, and Western Iran. In its geographical extent, this state was unprecedentedly large, and the distinct geography of the Middle East, with deserts and high mountain ranges, posed challenges to communication and cohesion. What were the mechanisms that kept the Empire running? This course explores the methods the Assyrian government employed to ensure unity and maintain loyalty across vast distances, using traditional as well as innovative strategies. Some of these imperial techniques have marked parallels in the ways modern multi-national corporations are operating, others will strike you as profoundly alien. This course focusses on how the Assyrians organised their empire by analysing key aspects, namely: · The CEO – the king, a religious, political and military leader, who is charged to govern by his master, the god Assur; · Home Office – the royal palace in the central region and the royal court that form the administrative centre of the state; · The Regional Managers – the governors and client-rulers to whom local power is delegated; · Human Resources – the Empire’s people are its most precious assets, its consumers and its key product, as the goal of the imperial project was to create “Assyrians”; an approach with lasting repercussions that still reverberate in the Middle East today; and finally · The Fruits of Empire – it takes a lot of effort, so what are the rewards? When we explore these topics we will contextualise them with information about the lives led by ordinary Assyrian families. Taking this course will provide you with an overview of the political, social, religious, and military history of the world’s first superpower. It will give you insight into the geography and climatic conditions of the Middle East and contribute to your understanding of the opportunities and challenges of that region. It will present you with a vision of the Middle East at a time when its political and religious structures were very different from today....

Лучшие рецензии

LF
27 янв. 2021 г.

The variety of presentations of a vast amount of knowledge made it engaging. Dr. Radner herself was engaging! The course provided a deep look into a civilization that is a bedrock to the modern world.

SS
15 янв. 2021 г.

This was my first MOOC and I fully enjoyed every aspect. The knowledge level of the instructors was evident as was their commitment to their students and the varied formats were consistently engaging.

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 204 отзывов о курсе Organising an Empire: The Assyrian Way

автор: Rob M

14 мая 2018 г.

An excellent course. If you have an interest in the Ancient World, politics or sociology, then this is a definite course for you.

автор: Keith P

24 июля 2020 г.

The breadth of the course and the presentation made this a fascinating introduction to a subject that I knew nothing about.

автор: Jen P

6 нояб. 2019 г.

Really good structure with some testing quizzes; excellent lecturers; interesting material well-explained and presented.

автор: Stephanie C

21 янв. 2021 г.

Fun course with a nice depth and granularity of information presented in a variety of interesting and engaging ways!

автор: JOHN Q

15 янв. 2018 г.

Fascinating course. Thanks so much for all the folks who worked to organize and present this material! Dr Quincy

автор: Richie H

27 дек. 2020 г.

Excellent course with a variety of presentation methods as well as addition readings and listenings to engage with.

автор: Nadeen A A

3 нояб. 2020 г.

Exquisite! Lovely course that made me want to delve even deeper into the world of the ancient empires of the past!

автор: Esperanza R M

20 окт. 2020 г.

I really LOVE how professor Radner teaches. I have learned a lot with this course, and also in a enterteining way!

автор: Benedict S

29 апр. 2020 г.

Sehr informativ und obwohl ich doch schon einige Bücher über Assyrien gelesen habe, war auch einiges Neues dabei!

автор: Brian W

10 мая 2020 г.

Really enjoyed learning about the Assyrian Empire. A very good course, well structured and delivered. Thank you.

автор: Julie B

28 сент. 2020 г.

Excellent course - enjoyable and very informative presentation of interesting and complex information.

автор: Andrea B

10 нояб. 2020 г.

A great introduction to the Assyrians, their history, and their impact on the course of civilisation.

автор: Nadia

19 мая 2020 г.

Perfect course, rich material, lots of informations but very clearly transmitted. Couldn't be better.

автор: Pradeepa M M

3 мая 2020 г.

Amazing lecturer!! she is so detailed and this is an amazing introduction to the Assyrian Empire!

автор: Lea H

10 нояб. 2020 г.

it was so perfect thanks a lot i loved every moment and esp enjoyed the ask the experts segments

автор: Eduardo T

27 февр. 2019 г.

Interesting and well presented course. Very recommended for who is interested in the subject

автор: Laurence V

3 февр. 2020 г.

Very clear, very interesting and varied from a passionate professor. A wonderful journey !!!

автор: Rafa M

2 мар. 2019 г.

The course is great. The readings are enriching and the instructor is very knowleadgleable.

автор: Alex C

5 июня 2020 г.

Excellent course: well presented and covered a range of topics about the Assyrian Empire.

автор: Lurdes Q

23 дек. 2020 г.

Mucha información, interesante y a la vez muy entretenido. Felicidades y muchas gracias.

автор: Sabina E N

13 мая 2020 г.

Amazing course! I liked it VERY much, enjoyed and learned a lot! Thank you Karen!!

автор: Chris g

3 апр. 2021 г.

I thought this course was great. Presenter was passionate and very knowlegable.

автор: Colin D

1 февр. 2020 г.

really enjoyed this course, gave me more of an insight to the Assyrian empire

автор: S. G C

22 сент. 2020 г.

An impressive story very well explained. The course was clear and complete.

автор: Luís M G d S A

22 авг. 2020 г.

Excellent course. The best course about the Assyrian Empire I came across.