Chevron Left
Вернуться к Object Oriented Programming in Java

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Object Oriented Programming in Java от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Сан-Диего

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 5,437

О курсе

Welcome to our course on Object Oriented Programming in Java using data visualization. People come to this course with many different goals -- and we are really excited to work with all of you! Some of you want to be professional software developers, others want to improve your programming skills to implement that cool personal project that you’ve been thinking about, while others of you might not yet know why you’re here and are trying to figure out what this course is all about. This is an intermediate Java course. We recommend this course to learners who have previous experience in software development or a background in computer science. Our goal is that by the end of this course each and every one of you feels empowered to create a Java program that’s more advanced than any you have created in the past and that is personally interesting to you. In achieving this goal you will also learn the fundamentals of Object Oriented Programming, how to leverage the power of existing libraries, how to build graphical user interfaces, and how to use some core algorithms for searching and sorting data. And this course is project-based, so we’ll dive right into the project immediately! We are excited to be offering a unique course structure, designed to support learners of different backgrounds in succeeding at their own pace. The first module explains how this will work and if this course is right for you. We also recommend taking a few minutes to explore the course site. A good place to start is the navigation bar on the left. Click Course Content to see what material we’ll cover each week, as well preview the assignments you’ll need to complete to pass the course. Click Discussions to see forums where you can discuss the course material with fellow students taking the class. Be sure to introduce yourself to everyone in the Meet and Greet forum. This course should take about 6 weeks to complete. You can check out the recommended course schedule below to see a quick overview of the lessons and assignments you’ll complete each week. We’re excited you’re here learning with us. Let’s get started!...

Лучшие рецензии

DB

12 окт. 2017 г.

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

LR

13 окт. 2015 г.

I loved this course! The course videos and the projects sharpened my idea about some of the toughest concepts of Java and OOP. I recommend this course to anyone interested in learning OOP in Java. ☺

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 1,380 отзывов о курсе Object Oriented Programming in Java

автор: Dzejlan

22 дек. 2015 г.

This is one of the best series of courses I came along in online MOOC platform, such a brilliant course, this whole specialization is brilliant, such a interesting projects, I'm disappointed that I live in country that isn't that much wealthy to help this Specialization and to be able to do Capstone Project , but I wish all the best hope to finish all in time, this is in my top 3 online MOOC Courses and I saw a lot of them.

I wish all the best to this team and people that made this possible.

автор: Sye

8 окт. 2019 г.

I really enjoyed the course, did to keep in touch with Java over the summer so as not to forget; it turned out to be a bit more challengiing than the one at university and I relearnt the concepts easier. I guess my 2nd year course also has a slight legacy issue; however this was a really nice course to do. I would do the whole specialization, but I have to go to a normal university to get a more recognised qualification.

автор: Chukwu E

25 нояб. 2020 г.

Although the content is old and there are some outdating functionality in the project work since the course was created, the knowledge is gold, the teachers are friendly, and it's a great experience overall.

автор: Ogbonna C E

6 авг. 2017 г.

This course made me understand java concepts in an easy way, and made me realize certain internal workings in Java I haven't seen elsewhere. I love their method/process of tutoring. Awesome job!

автор: Heng W W

21 мар. 2016 г.

It is good!!! I learnt a bit of Java beforehand but not the object oriented concept. Would definitely attend the courses by UC San Diego again as well as pay for the course when I can afford it!

автор: Shaikh J

29 мая 2021 г.

The Best Course Available on coursera to learn java, helped me achieve Object Oriented java knowledge and skills.

автор: Alexey K

7 авг. 2022 г.

Learning materials and assessments in this course are of high quality. A perfect fit for a beginner in Java. Hands on experience is the way this course teaches you the concepts and it is doing a good job in that.

That said, there is this Peer Grading part in the last project which is just horrendous. Many students will just repost the instructions for the main part of the project and not the extension they were supposed to have made, which theoretically should give them 0% on the task. But if you dare to give them this 0%, they will then come back on you in numbers (as your name is being shown to them) and will also give you 0% on your submission (no matter how good it is), leaving comments like "work hard", or "the worst work I have seen", forcing you to resubmit the same work multiple times and feel stupid. No repercussion for them doing that of course, as the course is fully automated.

I piece of advice. Don't grade those poor quality submissions and instead just report them as incomplete or plagiarized (they do blindly copy instructions after all with no input of their own). Your conscience will be clean and you will also save yourself from headache.

автор: William G

31 дек. 2020 г.

The final project was surprisingly rewarding. I had plenty of issues getting things running, which was my own fault, because I chose to use intellij and a newer version of Java. Even if this were my own fault, I choose to detract a star because the setup feels slightly dated. Is there no way to design this course to be more robust to Java versions?

автор: Karmo O

27 окт. 2020 г.

Well built and a fun course. Quite a challenging project has been made easy to finish. But understanding it all took some time and gave lots of new knowledge, experience. Some info e.g. setting up projects is outdated. Solutions to them can be found from the forum.

Thank you for that nice course, Team UC San Diego!

автор: Haiwei G

9 нояб. 2020 г.

It teaches you about class heredity and graphical programming very well.

The only problem is that the graphical library PApplet is believed to be obsolete as of 2020.

автор: Youcef L

14 янв. 2020 г.

A deprecated Java API is used in those, probably better to choose a different course.

автор: Agastya V

14 нояб. 2020 г.

Uses outdated technology(PApplet), but still illustrates the fundamentals of Java.

автор: Aleksandr A

18 янв. 2020 г.

Nice course! But I can only give 3 out of 5 stars, because applets are deprecated now, so the course content is outdated a bit.

автор: Capybas Y

24 апр. 2020 г.

The major part of the course is about working with applets, which are out of date and no longer supported by Java.

автор: Henil P

12 авг. 2022 г.

This course reminds me why software engineering is so dry and boring. I took the first two courses with Duke University where they did very little to spoonfeed the code. They gave helper code but majority of the classes were written from scratch by the programmer. There is a satisfaction in that. You really get to write your own code so to speak and understand it and debug it.

C​oming to the UCSD methodolgy, it's more of fill in the blanks with so many hints that you feel like your creativity is stifled. Half the work goes in setting up Eclipse and where the Map library is referencing the underlying source (protip: Don't use the google map source). I think they have conflated complex projects with enjoyable learning material. UCSD profs if you're reading this, don't focus so much on making a large project with multiple moving parts, focus first on the fact that students actually get the basics down through programming the assignments.

The lectures are super easy to understand but the project really builds no intuition on how to tie the lecture material (this is what real world software engineering seems like...write very little code, read more of other people's code).

T​l;Dr - If you're coming from Duke's courses this is a downgrade and frankly, just tedious. Duke should have stuck with it through all four courses and UCSD should probably look more into what makes programming fun (writing it; not reading it). Complex is not the same as challenging.

автор: Ahmet G

1 февр. 2021 г.

Did not like this course at all, it is not flexible at all when it comes to IDE choices and offers very little support when it comes to using IDE's such as Intellij. The course consists of core and support videos, the idea being that if you are competent enough you are able to tackle the assignment/projects at any point. If you feel like you need more help you can dip into the support videos. The problem with this is that the videos are not actually very good and the support in the forums are lacklustre at best. The end of course peer review is an absolute joke and literally has no value to the students what so ever. It's basically students grading eachother positively so that everyone can pass lol.

Things that need to improve:

- Outdated content and Java version, Course structure needs to change, support videos need to be more supportive and maybe incorporate a code as you go approach incrementally building up on concepts, more active lecturers on the forums.

автор: David H

25 июня 2020 г.

This course uses old obsolete Java technology: Java Applets. They NEED to update this course to teach UnfoldingMaps with JavaFX.

автор: Даниил А К

28 июня 2021 г.

really outdated

автор: Mohamed M

19 мар. 2016 г.

in the beginning of the course i thought i'll get a good experience as usual on coursera, but i was wrong ...

a lot of things >> to be introduced in next course

confusing data types & working with things i don't know about it.

you've said that, anyone with basics of programming could pass this course and after 6 months i couldn't.

please be sure about the prerequisites next time.

автор: Ralph V S

30 июня 2020 г.

There seems to be downloadable code ? Can't find it. Installing Unfolding maps seems to be necessary ? There is not elaboration about this in the video's. In my opinion the course is totally off balance by explaining things like the "this"-keyword and at the same time expecting students to install things like Unfolding maps and tweaking Eclips. Very frustrating.

автор: Martin K

13 февр. 2017 г.

I signed up for this course hoping for a good introduction to OO programming and Java only to not be able to verify if I have even learned anything. Of course I can access the course material, but the fact that cannot even manually check if my answers are correct with certainty makes all of this less efficient than simply learning it by myself.

автор: Mingming L

11 апр. 2022 г.

I hate this one, as the coding is not as clear as directed. They tell you the basic concepts, but they are doing horrible in directing you to finish the project. New starters or median to new starters are not suitable for this one. And the final project online rating is very very silly. Not enough people to get you rated!

автор: Lee M

25 окт. 2015 г.

Cannot follow a single thing that they are talking about. I have prior coding experience in other languages and I still have no idea what the instructors are getting at. They all explain everything horribly and jump into huge complex things with no explanation. Worst course I have ever taken in my life.

автор: Wolfie

24 мар. 2021 г.

Out of date material that leads to a lot of errors when trying to do the assignments on current technology. Very unfortunate. The only positive is that you can still watch the videos for the theoretical aspects.

автор: 김요엘

3 июля 2019 г.

절대 듣지마라. 동료평가 때문에 짜증난다. 일주일 무료라고 해놓고 3일전에 다 끝내고 동료평가 기다리는데 최소 4일은 걸린다. 공짜로 듣는 사람은 일부러 매치를 못하게 하거나 하는 알고리즘이 있는듯 하다. 아니면 듣는 사람이 별로 없는 인기 없는 강의거나. 둘 중 하나겠지 ㅋㅋㅋㅋㅋㅋㅋㅋㅋㅋㅋ