Chevron Left
Вернуться к Social Norms, Social Change I

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Social Norms, Social Change I от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 1,585
Рецензии: 410

О курсе

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Лучшие рецензии

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC

Aug 05, 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

Фильтр по:

301–325 из 398 отзывов о курсе Social Norms, Social Change I

автор: sophie p

Aug 10, 2019

The topic is very interesting , at least for us who find understanding humans alluring. What I also really liked and found innovative was the colaboration penn university had with ''UNICEF'', which provided videos with specialist discussing what is happening to developing countries related with the lectures of the course .

Easy to comprehend -thus suitable for beginners-, interesting and innovative ,I highly recommend it !

автор: Teh Y K

May 15, 2020

A lot of perceptions provided are from non-developed or near-developed countries, which can be a little difficult for those who exist in very developed countries with their own norms. So it can be hard to relate to these situations. However, they are still very well explained and it broadens up my knowledge of how those countries that are in need of better change are trying their best to become better.

автор: Payal d

Aug 06, 2020

i thoroughly enjoyed the course. loved the consistency of use of examples, which helped me understand the concepts very well. Also loved Christina's smiling face while she explained the concepts. The only thing i thought was a little inconvenient that at the end of the course the material was a bit rushed given the pace of the previous weeks. Other than that it as an enlightening one month

автор: Massimo I

Aug 09, 2017

I found the course very informative and well-structured. However, I would have a appreciated more external resources as well as more case studies, not only in rural areas and villages in the developing world. A reference to the role of social norms and social change in large cities and the role of social media, for example, would have made the course even more relevant.

автор: Candra P

Apr 25, 2017

It was great to learn the course with a simple quiz within the video presentation, it helps us to understand the material clearly. Despite the new unfamiliar terms so sometimes I need to open my note back, but Ms. Bicchieri explanation using flow chart really helped me. This is very interesting yet important for my work in the development program, thank you.

автор: Alexandre D

Jul 21, 2019

The course was fun! It was a bit challenging but I think it was very well structured, so kudos to you guys. The text should be translated in other relevant languages such as Arabic, French, and Spanish. Additionally, I found a powerpoint by Cristina Bicchieri titled 'What are norms?' on Academia which could have served useful for other class members.

автор: Tejaswi M

Oct 17, 2019

Interesting course with valuable theoretical concepts explained. The organization of the content could have been done better, as there seemed to a bit of repetition of some concepts and some concepts not being dealt in depth.

A must-do course for someone interested in Behavior Change Communication. Hoping to learn more in part II of the course.

автор: Nabaraj G

Jul 25, 2019

The Course has excellently delivered the contents which rightly explain the understanding of Social Norms from global perspectives. The lectures and videos are clear and well guide the course contents too. The social change is inevitable and differ from community to community. It would be better to offer next advanced version of the course.

автор: Cengiz Y

Jul 17, 2017

Great course.

Nevertheless it should be improved further. Examples are not sufficient to understand the concepts and processes to deal with identifying problems for pluralistic ignorance and how to use vignettes.

thanks for the course, in any case it is very beneficial for the people who are from the outside of the field. Thank you!

автор: Lærke L G

Aug 16, 2017

Good content and great that you have the opportunity to learn a lot in very short time (I was able to do the whole course in two days, which is great!). The only critique I have is that several of the questions in the quizzes are formulated quite unclearly, which makes you doubt questions you would probably not doubt otherwise.

автор: Philip H

Aug 12, 2018

Fascinating subject matter, presented in a reasonably easy to follow way with good readings, videos and graphics. Some of the ideas were repeated many times and several of pieces of terminology were so similar in name that it could become a little confusing at times, other than that a very educational and enjoyable course.

автор: Constanza S

Apr 14, 2020

The course is great, very clear and easy to understand.

It have some spontaneous questions for checking if you understand and also quiz.

The only thing i would make the quiz with others examples so that no matter the memmory, it testes if people can actually recognize this in new examples of situations.

автор: Rahul K

Apr 01, 2019

I must say that, It is a really well structured and detailed program. It helps me to understand the nuances of the society in regard of the situation and practices that occurs due to the social norms. I would highly recommend this course to all people who wants to work on the ground with people.

автор: Youra A

Oct 05, 2019

I enjoyed taking the course very much. It was very helpful understanding the social norms. However, some of the concepts that were introduced in the course were very confusing. I had a hard time understanding it and I think I still need to spend lots of time reviewing the materials.

автор: Jacqui H

Sep 10, 2017

Excellent introduction to the concepts and applications of Bicchieri's social norms theory. I also appreciated very much the grounding in practical examples, and the combination of graded questions and practical questions for us to consider how to apply the theory in our own lives.

автор: Morgan S

Jul 28, 2017

I found a lot of the information repetitive, so there were times where I felt like it was redundant and disliked hearing the same information repeated multiple times. However, the information I learned was useful and helpful. I just think the course could have been more concise.

автор: Chikaodili T A

Sep 24, 2020

The course is very enriching. It has helped me to understand why people behave in certain ways. The tutor took time to explain the course content in a way that most of the people will understand. I recommend the course to every one working in a development organisation.

автор: Ricardo H S d S C

Sep 08, 2016

It was a great course. In the first to weeks the concepts were not so clear, but after this, the lessons became more clear and everything fit. It gave me really good insights. I look forward for social norms, social change II. Hope it come soon.

автор: CHILLUMULLA S M

Dec 29, 2016

This is one of the most interesting and interacting course, makes you not to move from your chair. The course prepares the participants to understand the simpler issues in a broader way and serious issues in a simple and straightforward way.

автор: Berta F

Oct 09, 2020

Sometimes info from videos got too repetitive with the info in the readings. Apart from that, I enjoyed the topics and the discussions as well as the different examples and tools given by the teacher and those invited by UNICEF.

автор: Franklin H

Aug 03, 2019

The course was engaging, interesting and informative. I learnt a lot of new things but the information was not too high above my normal level of knowledge and I did not need too much extra reading to understand the content.

автор: Desiree B

Oct 01, 2017

Overall a great course. The lectures where clear and there was a good ballance in reading and listening material. In the future I would like to see a wider diversity of examples used instead of mainly child marriage and OD.

автор: Anna K

Apr 02, 2020

Good and understandable introduction to the theory of social norms. Examples used are illustrative and helpful. Sometimes, the readings and lectures were repetitive rather than complementary.

автор: Nik N A S N M

Jul 01, 2020

Solid concepts to dissect collective behaviours and unpack the phenomenons. Helpful examples by UNICEF. Would be better if slides are also included, but overall, great! Thank you, Prof :)

автор: Maryann F

Apr 28, 2020

Helpful framework for determining how to shift social norms. The detail in which the instructor teases out the nuanced ways to assess why individuals act the way they do is very helpful