Chevron Left
Вернуться к Social Norms, Social Change I

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Social Norms, Social Change I от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.6
Оценки: 1,085
Рецензии: 277

О курсе

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Лучшие рецензии

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

KL

Jun 26, 2019

the course worth the time spent as there a lot of take away that are basically practical in our communities. I think in a whole I have learnt a lot and hope to undertake similar courses in due time

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 269 отзывов о курсе Social Norms, Social Change I

автор: Hans B v d B

Dec 30, 2017

Great course, learned a lot about analysing social norms and how the different sides of social norms. The perspectives from the field were also very interesting and informative. Also the lecturer was very articulate and a great speaker.

автор: Nirina A

Sep 28, 2016

It's very interesting for monitoring the Social Change. I's very useful for implementing the programme

автор: Camlus O O

Dec 01, 2016

Cristina makes difficult concepts such as randomised response approach to limiting social desirability bias easy. Very easy to navigate, and the Android App is efficient and effective. Lots of new learning too, no recycled content

автор: Judy G

Jan 09, 2017

Really enjoyed this course, well structured and a good mix of videos and text to read. Only suggestions for improvement would be a) fourth week videos and text got very long and b) having a glossary to refer to that defines all the terms and includes examples (as sometimes got confusing all the different terminology used)

автор: Ngomwegi J D

Mar 17, 2017

very helpful in understanding social behavior and how it is influenced

автор: Olha K

Feb 16, 2017

The course is practically oriented and is connected to the most challenging topics in UNICEF practice. Very useful!

автор: Малышева Е В

Jun 27, 2018

Крутой и полезный курс! Доступным языком объяснены ключевые темы.

автор: Kristen P

May 24, 2017

The professor was delightful and the material was presented in a nicely progressive way, with a good variety of videos, stories, and readings.

автор: Hassan R

Oct 08, 2016

Very informative and well tailored course. Plenty of real life examples, great lecturer and simple language. Thank you!

автор: Melissa P

May 04, 2017

I loved this course so much! It discussed important topics within Social Norms and Social Change at length, and really strengthened my understanding of each! Thank you so much!

автор: Mohammad A

Nov 16, 2016

A great course indeed! Excellent lecture together with theory and on field examples!

автор: Ganga S

Nov 27, 2016

A real eye opener!!!

автор: Sandhya K S

Apr 03, 2017

its really wonderful course.

Its give direction to thinking

автор: Leonardo B F

Jun 17, 2017

Incredible!!!! Fantas

автор: Abhishek S

Dec 07, 2017

Very nice course recommended for Behaviour change professionals.

автор: Arupa S

Feb 09, 2017

Its an excellent course and a must do for everyone in UNICEF

автор: Godfred O A

Apr 18, 2017

Excellent program. I really appreciate the new exposure to bring social issues and conditions pertaining to social life.

автор: Diana M

Sep 04, 2017

I think is a great course, is applicable to any society and very well explain, also Cristina is very nice. I definitely will enroll to part II

автор: Rajah B

Mar 26, 2018

A brilliant course that organizes the formation of social norms as a science, helping activism aimed at changing negative norms achieve higher success rates. The Professor and Unicef did an amazing job!

автор: FILIPE K R P

Dec 29, 2017

Acting to live in a better world is an important value to me. The framework presented in the course brought to light, in well produced lectures, many components crucial in our behavior. The more importante examples would be, in my opinion, the reference network, normative expectations, conditiontal preference, pluralistic ignorance and social norms. Looking forward to the follow-up course.

автор: Sarah M

Mar 11, 2018

Brilliant course, interactive and broken down manageable pieces of information. Would highly recommend!

автор: khaled y a a

Jan 14, 2018

Very wonderful I learned a lot

автор: sanjay r

Oct 16, 2017

its an eye opener , please do this course for the pure value of it........i am a better person now, having subscribed to this course.

автор: Varun K S

Aug 14, 2017

I absolutely cherished whatever I learned through this course. It gave me a perspective to view things from critical, rational and shared perspective.

автор: Riaz A

Dec 02, 2017

I am grateful to Cristina Bicchieri for her amazing lectures. I enjoyed the lectures and learnt a lot. All those who are interested in social change will surely find the course extremely relevant and useful.