Chevron Left
Вернуться к Social Norms, Social Change I

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Social Norms, Social Change I от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 1,222
Рецензии: 313

О курсе

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Лучшие рецензии

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC

Aug 05, 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

Фильтр по:

276–300 из 302 отзывов о курсе Social Norms, Social Change I

автор: MIAWAWANA G F

Mar 24, 2018

super!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

автор: eslam s k

Jun 04, 2017

very useful thanks a lot

автор: Mahender G

Nov 15, 2019

Very much appreciated

автор: Atupele M

Aug 13, 2019

It is very helpful

автор: Abdalla O H

Jun 07, 2017

helpful Course

автор: Mohamed A S H

Jun 24, 2017

Thanks

автор: Ivana V

Feb 19, 2020

It would have been more interesting if the focus wasn't predominantly on theory which is all quite similar and gets kind of dull after a while. Including more diverse practical examples, or even better presenting case studies would have made the course much better for me.

автор: Catherine H

Dec 23, 2018

This is material that you're not going to use directly, but can use indirectly in your work later on. It's pretty dry material, but I honestly learned a lot of valuable information. I would recommend it if you're willing to put in the work. If not, you wont learn much.

автор: Zohre S

Apr 06, 2020

I've learnt some interesting useful terms like "reference network" to describe daily struggles but I wish I could intellectually challenge myself more. Another significant downside to the course is the examples and the colonial mentality behind them!

автор: Juan E

Mar 04, 2019

No es suficientemente claro en las explicaciones por lo tanto las opciones de respuestas a los cuestionarios complican mas la percepción de haber o no comprendido los conceptos.

автор: Anton Z

Jan 02, 2018

Subtitles need to be reviewed, a lot of errors and they are necessary because the speakers all have strong accents. Sometimes the transcript itself doesn't make sense at all.

автор: Danielle G

Mar 27, 2017

It was alright ..confusing at times an seemed a bit convoluted. someone needs to come up with a better way to explain these concepts so that they are not so jumbled.

автор: Winnifred R L

Jun 11, 2017

This course covers a lot of definitions and basics so is less engaging than the second course but it is certainly worth working through. A great enterprise!

автор: Recep B

Feb 22, 2020

4.Haftanın videolarında Türkçe altyazı olmadığı için pek anlayamadım.4 haftanın videolarına Türkçe altyazı eklenmeli.Onun dışında güzel bir kurstu.

автор: Lujain A

Jul 28, 2019

it was so confusing but I tried my best, not cause the instructor is bad, just cause there were too many similar concepts

автор: Bassel M A A

Jul 05, 2017

Quizzes are very confusing and English translation is awful and full of mistakes a

автор: Jan S

Feb 10, 2018

Ok course, the further you get into the course th better the lectures,

автор: Annie

Apr 03, 2020

Easy and fun!

автор: Lucia K

Oct 27, 2017

Good course!

автор: Ibrahima

Mar 22, 2019

Excellent

автор: M. P M L

Apr 28, 2017

Positive: There are a lot of examples and interviews with people in the field that help to understand better. I think the concepts exposed are useful and relevant.

Negative: I think it the course could be done in a much more compact way (the introduction and conclusion of each video, which is just music, take together around half a minute). I think all the concepts could be introduced in half of the time. There is a lot of reiteration and some texts are so similar with one another that more than once I thought I was doing again the same section.

автор: Benjamin C R

May 21, 2018

First two weeks were a waste of time and generally unclear. Could have started straight away with week 3 and would have been clearer. Very academic style.

автор: Andri A

Aug 01, 2017

Important topic, important informationBUT, given in a painfully slow pace. All 4 weeks can be summarized in 10 slides and 20 minutes video.

автор: Mohamed A

Jul 15, 2017

Very very boring course and old English to understand , i don't recommend it to anyone who isn't interested in those things , if you are not , you will just stuck in it and cannot go through it , hard to understand , lake of info and lake of teaching ability , i really didn't like it , the worst online course i have ever had