Chevron Left
Вернуться к Social Norms, Social Change I

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Social Norms, Social Change I от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.6
stars
Оценки: 1,128
Рецензии: 288

О курсе

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Лучшие рецензии

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC

Aug 05, 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

Фильтр по:

226–250 из 279 отзывов о курсе Social Norms, Social Change I

автор: CHILLUMULLA S M

Dec 29, 2016

This is one of the most interesting and interacting course, makes you not to move from your chair. The course prepares the participants to understand the simpler issues in a broader way and serious issues in a simple and straightforward way.

автор: Franklin H

Aug 03, 2019

The course was engaging, interesting and informative. I learnt a lot of new things but the information was not too high above my normal level of knowledge and I did not need too much extra reading to understand the content.

автор: Desiree B

Oct 01, 2017

Overall a great course. The lectures where clear and there was a good ballance in reading and listening material. In the future I would like to see a wider diversity of examples used instead of mainly child marriage and OD.

автор: Mai M A E L

Jul 05, 2017

It's useful , it help me to know more about spreading of any norm,custom ,etc and help me to know ways of distinguish it and helping people to differentiate between good and bad one .

автор: Ricardo R I

Oct 09, 2016

It's very useful. I think at first lectures there is neccesary a synopsis about the concepts and their classification or relation, because as you deep the relation is more confused.

автор: Sezin I

Jan 09, 2017

I enroll the course just for listening videos and following the readings,

I really enjoyed it, and learned it, it gives another perspective to see the whole community

thanks a lot

автор: Mahesh J

Nov 08, 2016

It was a good course even though it was a bit theoretical. Its a great start for someone who has no background in social norms. I am glad I took this course though

автор: Natasha

Feb 06, 2017

The course is very detailed, with a strong methology and useful examples. Nevertheless, it wasn't always simple to follow and the last week was very demanding.

автор: Armand B

Jul 17, 2019

This is a nice course if you want to chose social science field. In terms of Research, you are be able to how to formulates questions based on this course.

автор: Mira L

Aug 02, 2019

The content was interesting but some parts were repetitive to the point of some confusion. I really enjoyed the new information! Thank you.

автор: Miryana V

Jul 12, 2019

excellent course, well thought out and great examples with readings to make sure you are on track with the syllabus and provide feedback.

автор: Pete B

Mar 20, 2019

Good presentation, accessible reading material, and all easy to digest - but the final lecture on measuring was sort of long...

автор: Kristi D

Feb 26, 2018

I learned a lot and I enjoyed the professor's demeanor and personality. I will take the next course in this series for sure.

автор: Isha J

Jul 14, 2019

The examination method could've been more rigorous and the readings were not in the right order, but great course overall!

автор: Kariwilliams

Jan 19, 2020

Very informative introduction into identifying and measuring social norms. Thank you for sharing this research.

автор: Janina G O S

Aug 17, 2017

The course was difficult but it helped broaden my horizon on how to bring about positive change. Thank you!

автор: Rowan K

Sep 16, 2019

The most thing which helped me was the examples after every definition .. thanks a lot

автор: Victoria H

Apr 23, 2018

It was very interesting. I only wish I were able to highlight things in the reading.

автор: PHUONG T

Dec 03, 2017

Very useful course to understand about social norm and how to measure it.

автор: Annu K

Apr 22, 2017

It's really very useful curse. Thanks for taking me in this course.

автор: Rinki R

Oct 14, 2019

This course is well designed and explained by Cristina Bicchieri.

автор: Luke G

Feb 07, 2017

Very nice and informative, and practically useful! Thanks Cristina

автор: Erick O

Sep 12, 2017

Great examples and well crafted methodology for online learning.

автор: Nadya

Jan 18, 2018

Denied Certificate after successful completion of the course.

автор: Furqan A

Aug 15, 2017

Very god course especially for the Development practitioners.