Chevron Left
Вернуться к Social Norms, Social Change I

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Social Norms, Social Change I от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 1,371
Рецензии: 351

О курсе

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Лучшие рецензии

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

KL

Jun 26, 2019

the course worth the time spent as there a lot of take away that are basically practical in our communities. I think in a whole I have learnt a lot and hope to undertake similar courses in due time

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 340 отзывов о курсе Social Norms, Social Change I

автор: Diana F

Aug 15, 2017

This course was very interesting. It helped me understand about how to proceed in the intervention of some of the company employees behavior and expectations. Thank you.

автор: Michael T D

Mar 06, 2019

It is a very educative course that provides the learner with the technical lens, and gives ways problems could be solved best. I'm hoping to start the part 2 soon.

автор: Damini B

Apr 09, 2019

An important course that gives you a framework to understand and analyse social norms by the leading scholar in the field. This is the future of social change.

автор: umar f

Apr 21, 2019

very well conducted Lectrues and very friendly way to teach with the help of examples.I just loved doing it and looking forward to attempt more in coming days

автор: Diego P L

Oct 03, 2017

Excellent course, clear and structured. Well based in rigurous references.

To understand social norms and a first approach to measure them. Highly recommended!

автор: Lilen Q

Feb 10, 2019

It has been one of the best and most useful courses I have taken in my life. Without doubt, I will be able to put this knowledge into practice in my work.

автор: Gilbert A A

Apr 22, 2018

The course was very interesting. Provides an excellent insight on understanding social norms and developing intervention strategies to bring about change.

автор: Ajay V

Apr 25, 2018

It was a fantastic course that concisely taught the different expectations that we face in society. Whether it may be our own or of society in general.

автор: Erme S

Jun 16, 2017

Very useful to me, a undergraduate student of computer science who love HCI and want to understando complex social domains. Very clear, a nice teacher.

автор: Varun K S

Aug 14, 2017

I absolutely cherished whatever I learned through this course. It gave me a perspective to view things from critical, rational and shared perspective.

автор: Lourdes C

Mar 14, 2020

Excellent course, fantastic Lecturer, lots of new learning and interesting pointers on social norms and beliefs. Very well taught and structured.

автор: Keith S

Dec 10, 2017

I thought that the course was both practically relevant to international development work, and also well supported by theory - a nice combination.

автор: Kamrul H

Nov 07, 2017

All the topics are elaborated with real life examples. Also designed to be very interesting. I enjoyed every bit of it while learning new aspects.

автор: Diana M

Sep 04, 2017

I think is a great course, is applicable to any society and very well explain, also Cristina is very nice. I definitely will enroll to part II

автор: Kristen P

May 24, 2017

The professor was delightful and the material was presented in a nicely progressive way, with a good variety of videos, stories, and readings.

автор: Catarina B

Apr 06, 2020

I learing a lot in this course. the only thing that I did not like it was the fact of the week 4 was way more longer than the others. Thanks!

автор: Yenlik T

Feb 13, 2020

Amazing professor! Last week is quite dense with many new notions regarding techniques so separating them into more pieces might be helpful.

автор: Sarah S

Jun 18, 2017

Excellent course, well delivered and a good balance of detail and insight with laymen terminology. I would definitely recommend this course!

автор: Mijannur R G

Sep 02, 2019

Madam Cristina Bicchieri your teaching style is mindblowing. I really love your teaching and the course. Thanks for the online opportunity.

автор: Pablo G

Nov 14, 2019

Very interesting and useful course. People should learn about this, so better programming oriented to behaviour change could be developed.

автор: MD. A R H

Nov 02, 2019

I have come up with in and outs of social expectation, norms and behaviour responsible to create or abandon these norms. Helped me a lot.

автор: Haroon A

Jul 13, 2019

excellent course , helpful , gradual information cascade , sumarrizing from time to another ,practical examples , discussions . thank you

автор: Mohamed A S M

Jan 29, 2019

I suggest this course to my all colleagues b/c will give us a lot of solutions for our community problems , thank you for this chance

автор: sanjay r

Oct 16, 2017

its an eye opener , please do this course for the pure value of it........i am a better person now, having subscribed to this course.

автор: Eman S

Sep 11, 2019

very beneficial course, specially for me to understand the different terms of social norms and social change in different communities