Chevron Left
Вернуться к From Freedom Rides to Ferguson: Narratives of Nonviolence in the American Civil Rights Movement

Отзывы учащихся о курсе From Freedom Rides to Ferguson: Narratives of Nonviolence in the American Civil Rights Movement от партнера Университет Эмори

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 294
Рецензии: 98

О курсе

The Modern Civil Rights Movement is a significant landmark in United States history. This movement was a struggle for human rights directly challenging the nation to extend its democratic principles to African Americans and all peoples. This course sheds light on the often overlooked strategic planning that supported the direction of the events and is told by a voice intimately involved in the organization of movement—Dr. Bernard LaFayette, Jr. Topics include the history of the campaigns, the different coalitions and groups, philosophy and methods of nonviolent direct action, and the contemporary application of nonviolent conflict transformation. The course hosts several guest speakers, including Andrew Young, Reverend C.T. Vivian, Henry "Hank" Thomas, and Constance Curry. Upon completion of this course, learners will be able to: ● Discuss the contributions and involvement of civil rights activists and leaders in the Civil Rights Movement (CRM) campaigns in the United States. ● Examine the chronology and phases of the Movement and CRM campaigns. ● Recognize and characterize the diverse activist groups involved in the CRM. ● Discuss Martin Luther King Jr.’s philosophy of nonviolence from a historical perspective. ● List and define the principles and strategies of nonviolence. ● Examine organizational and social change applications related to nonviolence. ● Identify the role of nonviolence in modern activism along with additional resources to broaden knowledge of principles of nonviolence. ● Recognize the application of nonviolence theories to activism, current issues, and everyday life....

Лучшие рецензии

CP
20 нояб. 2020 г.

The use of interviews is very effective in this course. The content is so relevant to apply today in the U.S. socially, politically, and in business. I only wish I had learned more about this earlier.

EJ
26 апр. 2020 г.

This course was wonderful! I learned so much and was able to learn more in-depth o stories and events that I knew of. Dr. LaFayette is a treasure and I look forward to hopefully meeting him one day.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 99 отзывов о курсе From Freedom Rides to Ferguson: Narratives of Nonviolence in the American Civil Rights Movement

автор: Valeria B

4 июля 2021 г.

It was a very useful course to get introduced to the Civil Rights Movement and the different strategies they implemented to fight for their cause. Thank you!

автор: Mary B

2 июля 2021 г.

I​ loved all of the interviews with Dr. Bernard Lafayette. This was an excellent course and I'll recommend it to others. With appreciation, Mary Button

автор: JOHN Q

6 дек. 2015 г.

Nice review of a very difficult time in our history which was favored by some courageous folks who worked and endured a lot to effect a better society.

автор: Aloke N P

28 дек. 2018 г.

a must do course for every global citizen. Its not just exploring an idea but its also about exploring you as a human being and your capabilities.

автор: Sir T P

22 июня 2021 г.

This was a great course. I enjoyed hearing Mr Layfayette speak and share history . I understand my role in being instrumental for social change

автор: Diane N

1 дек. 2015 г.

Every body black white green or polka dot should take this course, learn to come together non violently thank you all for the lessons I learned

автор: Petisia M A

14 июля 2021 г.

A​n abundance of first hand experiences and information from the individuals that actual fought the battles during the Civil Rights Movement.

автор: Aaron L H

17 июля 2020 г.

This course was outstanding. There was a lot of information about the Civil Rights I didn't know about. The power of learning never gets old.

автор: Lisa K

9 окт. 2020 г.

Very interesting first-hand interviews. Dr. Lafayette's insights on nonviolence as a strategy and agape as a way of life were enlightening.

автор: Danielle C

18 мар. 2018 г.

Thank you for refreshing the history of a time when I witnessed so much change. I really enjoyed it.

Danielle Rawls Carr- Atlanta, Georgia

автор: Barbara S

25 авг. 2020 г.

Excellent course!!!!!!!! Thank you so much—I learned an incredible amount of information and found this course to be very transforming.

автор: Lisa S

9 июля 2017 г.

Absolutely fascinating course - a privilege to have insights from one of the major lights of the civil rights movement

автор: Carolyn C

13 мар. 2021 г.

Love the class I am getting married to a black man and am white. I am learning his culture and how it is.

автор: Corinne S

22 мая 2016 г.

One of the best and most informative classes I have taken on Coursera. I highly recommend for everyone!

автор: Célia C

2 мар. 2020 г.

Very interesting, in this course, we have al the inside view of what happened, I truly recommend.

автор: Valentina G M

16 мар. 2020 г.

I usually don't like history but the way this is told capitvated me! Thank so much

автор: David S T

13 июня 2020 г.

Just amazing. What a fantastic course. And Dr. Lafayette is a national treasure.

автор: Peter K

1 сент. 2021 г.

an important history lesson unfortunately urgently necessary in the present day

автор: Carmen

5 нояб. 2017 г.

Very enlightening about non-violence and how the civil rights movement worked.

автор: Alzbeta S

22 июня 2016 г.

One of the best courses I took on Coursera. Very informative and practical.

автор: Gretchen A

8 июля 2020 г.

Great interviews, Great Information, and thought- provoking questions.

автор: Felipe T

27 янв. 2017 г.

This is a marvelous and very inspiring course. Thank you so much!

автор: line k

5 окт. 2019 г.

This course should be seen by all of us people of the world.

автор: fumi o

12 апр. 2016 г.

This is a great course.

It is more than a history lesson.

I

автор: Link C

4 янв. 2016 г.

A great course for understanding US Civil Right history!