Chevron Left
Вернуться к Understanding the Music Business: What is Music Worth?

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Understanding the Music Business: What is Music Worth? от партнера Университет Вандербильта

4.6
Оценки: 109
Рецензии: 27

О курсе

This course will examine the music industry in the United States, with the unique perspective gained by Vanderbilt University’s location in Nashville, TN. Nashville is a major center of music in the United States, and the music created here has a global reach, particularly in the country, rock, pop, singer-songwriter, and Americana genres. However, students will learn that the basic principles of recording, marketing, copyright, licensing, and live performance are the same, regardless of musical style or genre. The music business is one of the most rapidly changing industries in the US today. It is also an industry filled with contradiction, and media headlines and anecdotal stories often add to the confusion. Here are just a few statements paraphrased from recent news stories: * The music business has collapsed * Demand for music is expanding at the greatest rate in history * Historic recording studios are closing at an alarming rate * More people are making recordings than ever before * Musicians usually lose money touring * Musicians usually make money touring * Major artist pulls songs off streaming services because they don’t pay fairly * Major artist makes a fortune from streaming services * People won’t buy records anymore * Vinyl record sales are soaring This course will attempt to make sense of these seemingly contradictory trends and data, outline the basic structure and mechanisms of today’s music industry, and encourage students to think critically and entrepreneurially about the future of music. Leaders from various areas of the music business will lend their perspectives through in-depth interviews, and footage from a recording session will give learners a behind the scenes look at how a song goes from the spark of an idea hummed into a cell phone to a finished recording. Participants will grapple with questions about art and commerce which are both timeless and crucially important today, and will emerge from this course with tools allowing them to make more informed decisions as creators, promoters, and consumers of music. Course launches February 19, 2016....

Лучшие рецензии

GR

Mar 06, 2016

Really interesting course even for someone who's kids begged me not to sing a lullaby to them.

GP

Apr 03, 2019

It feels like a formal training.I thank the team for a lot of valuable informations

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 26 отзывов о курсе Understanding the Music Business: What is Music Worth?

автор: Georges

Mar 01, 2016

Loved it.

It gave me insight to how thing work in this business.

Great Job.

автор: Girish P

Apr 03, 2019

It feels like a formal training.I thank the team for a lot of valuable informations

автор: LeAttol ( E L

Aug 21, 2018

Best Music Course on Coursera Le

автор: Xianghui ( M

Dec 13, 2016

it's great, all vivid content and clear explanations.

автор: Gordon R

Mar 06, 2016

Really interesting course even for someone who's kids begged me not to sing a lullaby to them.

автор: ARTURO L R

Mar 30, 2016

perfecto

автор: shantanu v

Jun 20, 2016

love it.

автор: Emily T

Nov 14, 2016

I absolutely loved this course. Honestly, I thought it could get a little boring, but I was totally wrong. She made it fun and SUPER interesting, and her interviews were great as well. Highly recommend this course, even if you're just a music consumer and don't necessarily want to get into the business! I kind of want to take it again...

автор: Juan E G N

Jul 26, 2017

I really enjoyed the course

автор: Benjamin M

Mar 05, 2016

Besides Songwriting from Berklee this was the most practical and useful course I have taken so far. It answered so many questions I had and gave so valuable tipps for the modern musician. Thanks a lot!

автор: Alicia C

Apr 04, 2018

Although I was only an auditor, the information I learned from this course was invaluable. Professor Gunderman's passion and knowledge on the subject was astonishing and the modules more than thorough. Although I was a music-lover prior to the course and committed to purchasing music and related products, I hadn't realized that there were so many other ways I could support the overall community, or just how many people rely on that support to make a living. Now, having gone through the course materials, I am more determined than ever to support the music community, pay attention to industry developments, and engage others in crucial discussions about the worth of music and the obligations we have to artists.

автор: Andrew G

Mar 28, 2016

Very enjoyable survey of a variety of issues involved in the state of the music business today. The instructor did a great job of assembling relevant material, and the course was presented in an engaging, very professional way - highly recommended.

автор: CARLOS C

Mar 22, 2016

Great, excellent information. Very hype

автор: Evan B

May 11, 2016

supah nice

автор: Walerson S C

Oct 06, 2016

A course of great value, with very important informations. I wanna another course like this, approaching music marketing! Thank you

автор: Natalia F

Jun 30, 2016

Great course. It gives very good basics of what you need to know if you want to make a career in the music business. I loved all the interviews with industry insiders - they sort of allow you to see the big picture from different angles. All the recommended reading was also pretty useful.

автор: Silviya D

Mar 06, 2016

This course contains really interesting information, which is presented in a creative way (suitable for the artistic mind of a musician). The lessons can easily be put into practice. I like the discussions because they are very thought provoking and really challenge the students to think of different ways to add more value to their music.And last but not least I like the interviews, because they give some really practical real life advice.

автор: Erich C

Jun 23, 2016

Fantastic course, really great information!

автор: Greg T

Mar 19, 2019

Good content - videos are very helpful. Enjoyed the written assignment. But the peer-review pro

автор: Andre G

Jul 18, 2016

This class featured valuable interviews of industry professionals and provided an up-to-date and realistic view of many aspects of the popular music business in the USA today

автор: knvg r

Jun 13, 2016

Great Course !!!!!!! (:

автор: Diego F

Jun 29, 2016

Interesting. Good for beginners but some info is a little bit out of date. Overall, good course.

автор: Miguel A V

Mar 21, 2016

great course

автор: Victor R

Aug 16, 2016

it's a basic course very focused on the mainstream music industry, it is very concise and worth reviewing, unfortunately you can not get feedback from the exams if you don't pay.

автор: Deleted A

Jul 27, 2016

Good intro course, but that's all it is - an intro course. Expect great interviews and lecture videos, but don't expect too in-depth of a course. My review is biased because I already took Music Business Foundations from Berklee on Coursera and the material w