Chevron Left
Вернуться к Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.3
звезд
Оценки: 629
Рецензии: 163

О курсе

The course will explore the tone combinations that humans consider consonant or dissonant, the scales we use, and the emotions music elicits, all of which provide a rich set of data for exploring music and auditory aesthetics in a biological framework. Analyses of speech and musical databases are consistent with the idea that the chromatic scale (the set of tones used by humans to create music), consonance and dissonance, worldwide preferences for a few dozen scales from the billions that are possible, and the emotions elicited by music in different cultures all stem from the relative similarity of musical tonalities and the characteristics of voiced (tonal) speech. Like the phenomenology of visual perception, these aspects of auditory perception appear to have arisen from the need to contend with sensory stimuli that are inherently unable to specify their physical sources, leading to the evolution of a common strategy to deal with this fundamental challenge....

Лучшие рецензии

TT
16 мая 2020 г.

This course helped me to see music from a different angle i.e through history and biology. Prof. Dales is a wonderful human being and has a beautiful gift of explaining things in a much simpler way.

MM
21 сент. 2016 г.

This course has helped me to understand biological psychology of humans towards music. Based on this knowledge i am confident to create music which will seem good to the ears of humans.

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 160 отзывов о курсе Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why

автор: Nathan W

9 мар. 2021 г.

An interesting and thought-provoking course that looks at the link between music and biology. Some of the questions and answers in the quizzes could be improved on in my opinion, but overall I enjoyed the content of the course.

автор: Mäynard S

26 янв. 2016 г.

The content is great. But there's not a lot of activity on the discussion boards, and there are some technical issues with the quizzes (using future lesson material on current quizzes). But the content is really fascinating.

автор: Tal K

11 сент. 2017 г.

I learned a lot from this course! So interesting! Not having a scientific background, I found some concepts a bit challenging and took some effort to get. But once understood I was amazed and was well worth the time put in!

автор: Ognjen Š

1 окт. 2016 г.

Quite an interesting course connecting various fields such as mathematics, physics, brain science, music and music theory. I am giving it 4 stars as I feel that some explanations are weak and need more elaboration.

автор: Robert D

13 дек. 2017 г.

This is a very fascinating view of the origins of musical intervals and scales and harmonies that I had never considered before. There is a lot I will follow up. Thanks to Dale Purves for making this available.

автор: Raymundo A

27 мая 2019 г.

This course works fairly well for those who look forward to quenching their thirst of knowledge. It is not only useful for those who study a program related to the are, but also for inquisitive people

автор: Fabian A I M

13 июня 2020 г.

It is a really useful course to know the most primal factors determining our inclination to like music. It has a lot of good empirical examples, and really good topics for each individual interest.

автор: Sandra A K

16 авг. 2020 г.

The technical aspects were a little difficult for me, and the tests didn´t always reflect the material taught, but it was an interesting class and gave me a new perspective on music.

автор: Jenifer N R N

20 окт. 2017 г.

It's a really good curse to learn and discover different facts about, music,biology (sense of hearing) and emotions. How is the mood sense affected by music.

автор: Margaret F

17 сент. 2016 г.

This course was fairly interesting. The argument that the notes of our scale are linked to human vocalisation, not just in the West, but the whole world.

автор: Christine

5 июня 2020 г.

The course materials, videos and lectures were great. The quizzes were a bit odd - strange wording and sometimes out of order with the teaching units.

автор: Claire C

11 сент. 2016 г.

The very dull voice of the teacher makes him sound as if he is bothered about teaching the course.

interesting info otherwise.

автор: Linda t B

18 авг. 2016 г.

An interesting course about some biological aspects in music as well as some comparing examples between cultural styles.

автор: Jeong K

4 июня 2017 г.

It was an interesting course and thought something novel. There was some difficulty in understanding scales.

автор: Julian B C

6 дек. 2016 г.

Very interesting, specially in evaluating how necessary the complexity in music is for composers.

автор: Rakshak T

1 мая 2016 г.

Very informative and interesting. However the quizzes didn't coincide well with the lectures.

автор: Nicolas C

20 дек. 2020 г.

It was very informative but the quizzes were exceptionally complex, but no less fun to take!

автор: Kimiko S

19 сент. 2016 г.

I enjoyed learning this class. I was interested in the scientific aspect of music.

автор: Vladimirs Z

6 мар. 2016 г.

Good video content, but quizzes need to be revised.

автор: Esteban G

4 мая 2021 г.

Excelente curso, responde muchas dudas.

автор: Yuliia S

25 июня 2017 г.

Thank you for this course.

автор: MIGUEL A C G

10 июля 2017 г.

Muy bueno

автор: Kristin H

27 мая 2017 г.

Good course, and a very interesting overview of the human auditory system, the significance of the harmonic series, and a biological perspective on what attracts us to music and how we have developed a musical language. The instructor is very narrative in his lecture style, so I found it helpful to follow along with the transcriptions - he tends to talk on about a point, and it is easy to miss the main point in all of his clarification. I was not a fan of the quizzes; I found them to be confusing in verbiage, often focusing on obscure points within the lectures, or using terminology not addressed in the lectures at all. I also think the course would benefit by the inclusion of a Music Theorist to explain the musical concepts, as the Instructor is a Neuroscientist, and misspoke on music theory a few times; it also would have broken up the uniformity of mostly one speaker throughout a 6-week course. But overall, I thought that this course was very good, and covered some very interesting material, and that the Instructor was very knowledgeable on a variety of topics, and very engaging. He did a great job explaining difficult concepts until you GOT it, even without a scientific background.

автор: Michelle C L

11 авг. 2016 г.

I feel this course is designed in a way that may be too challenging to those who know nothing about music, sound, or biology. The quizzes dont really match the material covered and some of the questions are too ambiguous. The explanations are a little hard to follow as well. It does cover some interesting information about the relationship of music to speech. However, for someone a little more advanced in music and biology, I was hoping for more to be covered. I would have enjoyed more discussion of the history of modes and tuning systems, including more discussion of the Pythagorean comma (and how adjusted need to be made to intervals, especially in a chorus) and Kepler's work. I also would have enjoyed more discussion of rhythmic entrainment, the social cohesion hypothesis of the evolution of music, the roles music plays in human life, the way that bodies synchronize, and more about the relationship of music to emotional regulation, meaning, and personality. Im sure there is more as well. Giving this course 3 stars is generous in my opinion.

автор: Maksim O

4 мая 2016 г.

A five-week class on biological mechanisms of perception of speech and music by humans. The topics include sound signals and sound stimuli and their perception with the human auditory system, differences and likelihood in the perception of vocalization and vocal tones in speech and of music, biological interpretation of scales, and the impact of cultural differences onto music.

The course is rather a prolonged description of the research field than a proper part of general education. Its real subject is certain topics in biology, not music. Only a number facts discussed may be of interest for most music student, and these are contained in any decent introductory textbook of music anyhow.