Chevron Left
Вернуться к Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.3
звезд
Оценки: 657

О курсе

The course will explore the tone combinations that humans consider consonant or dissonant, the scales we use, and the emotions music elicits, all of which provide a rich set of data for exploring music and auditory aesthetics in a biological framework. Analyses of speech and musical databases are consistent with the idea that the chromatic scale (the set of tones used by humans to create music), consonance and dissonance, worldwide preferences for a few dozen scales from the billions that are possible, and the emotions elicited by music in different cultures all stem from the relative similarity of musical tonalities and the characteristics of voiced (tonal) speech. Like the phenomenology of visual perception, these aspects of auditory perception appear to have arisen from the need to contend with sensory stimuli that are inherently unable to specify their physical sources, leading to the evolution of a common strategy to deal with this fundamental challenge....

Лучшие рецензии

TT

16 мая 2020 г.

This course helped me to see music from a different angle i.e through history and biology. Prof. Dales is a wonderful human being and has a beautiful gift of explaining things in a much simpler way.

MM

21 сент. 2016 г.

This course has helped me to understand biological psychology of humans towards music. Based on this knowledge i am confident to create music which will seem good to the ears of humans.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 166 отзывов о курсе Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why

автор: Ignacio A P C

11 окт. 2020 г.

Great course. The information is thorough and easy to understand. The presentation and rythm is excellent and the instructor is well informed.

автор: Christel R

14 окт. 2020 г.

Very clearly laid out in lecture and slides. Was able to learn a great deal, even though I have little previous knowledge of this area.

автор: Jean P G C

6 июля 2020 г.

Excelente curso. Valiosa información para quienes deseen introducirse en la Psicoacústica y sus alcances en la música. Muchas gracias.

автор: Geo S

11 июня 2017 г.

Great course, very informative for anyone who wishes to explore deeper aspects of music that have to do with biology and psychology.

автор: Manuel P Y

14 сент. 2020 г.

Excelente curso. Creo que no se ve la música desde un sentido biológico, si no también físico y matemático.

автор: Ian C

19 нояб. 2017 г.

Supremamente interesante y completo. Dio respuestas a varias preguntas que me formulaba frecuentemente.

автор: ALEJANDRO J S G

22 авг. 2021 г.

Great information and an excellent explanation in each module. Thank you very much and congratulations

автор: A.k.m. N H ,

16 апр. 2020 г.

If u wanna learn about Music Theory, Evolution & Neuroscience at the same time, hurry up and enroll...

автор: Ebraheem S

10 авг. 2020 г.

I have really enjoyed learning through this course and I wish to take my PHD about the course's topic

автор: Noel A

22 авг. 2020 г.

It was well organised, and I learnt more than what I expected myself to learn from this course!

автор: Isabelle M

30 окт. 2021 г.

It was a very good and fun course the format of every test was very badly messed up though.

автор: Alicja M

12 нояб. 2016 г.

The course was quite difficult for me. The questions in quizes are sometimes hard to answer. Very often there is no simple solution. Or maybe my command of English was not sufficient to complete the course without several mistakes. Otherwise, topics were covered deeply and were thought-provoking.

автор: Rafail K

30 сент. 2016 г.

Great topic, but the course was less interesting and profound than I expected. The professor could be a little more motivating. Worth the time though!

автор: lisa B

10 мая 2016 г.

It is odd that a course that concentrates so vehemently on speech tone, as a segue to music would be taught by a monotone and mostly unenthused professor. Often verbose, but never succinct, I had to listen to his drone twice to glean anything of value.

His tests were wrought with "gotcha" questions, having nothing to do with the important material of the course. As a physicist, I was very disappointed in his treatment of the important equations associated with the mathematics of music (mentioned as "too hard" to understand).

There was nearly no mention of rhythm and its importance in music, as relates to biology and/or emotion, and no mention of how those rhythms relate to heartbeat.

I am deeply disappointed, but I do hope this critique is seen as an opportunity to create a better course.

автор: Ben B

7 янв. 2017 г.

The course tackles an interesting topic: why do we enjoy music?

But there are two problems with this course:

1) It fails to provide convincing evidence for its claims; the evidence is circumstantial and flimsy.

2) The lecturer is, how shall I say this politely, monotonic. He lacks enthusiasm.

My recommendation: if you are interested in the topic, take this course and make your own mind up. Maybe it will convince you. If not, you will have learnt a bit about human perception a sound perception.

автор: Catherine S

3 апр. 2016 г.

The content was interesting, but the quizzes didn't relate to the lectures very often. It was as if there was a major piece missing in this course. One of the questions even referenced a book that was never mentioned or made available. Also, several of the musical sections seemed to be in the wrong place. I think maybe this is one of the classes that doesn't work well in this format.

автор: roma g

29 дек. 2016 г.

Very dry and uninspired.

The lecturer monotonically reads off some material.

The explanations don't usually make any sense.

The quizzes are a guessing game, arbitrarily connected (or not) to the lecture material.

In retrospect: a waste of my time.

автор: Vincent G

8 февр. 2017 г.

Very interesting subject. I was really wainting for a course like that but, with all due respect and aknowledgement to the instructors, their is many ways this course could have been an inspiring and exciting journey. Vincent

автор: Jordan H

20 мая 2017 г.

The entirety of this course has been awful. The instructor gives no vocalization to emphasize the importance of any material, and the quizzes honestly seem to have questions based off of his opinions rather than any real definitions or fact at times (and if they were, what he says and what is written are always two different statements, which leads to confusion and uncertainty of material). After failing almost every single quiz in the entire course, I would always return to the material and never find any sort of clear answer, leaving me to continuously guess and hope for the best. I did stick it through to the end of the course, and even though I personally thought it would get better every time I progressed through one lesson to the next, I was always disappointed. The instructor made everything seem so unimportant that you can never really tell what actually has any true meaning to the class, and again, a portion of it was honestly opinion based as far as I can tell. The later lessons (such as 5 and 6) were honestly the whole reason I wanted to do this course, however, I was thoroughly disappointed with the entire experience. I would not recommend this course to anyone.

автор: Janis F

21 июля 2016 г.

I didn't understand very much of this course. Instructor relies heavily on the use of various charts. They were seldom explained in a way I could understand. Instructor seemed to believe that underlining things in the charts served as an explanation. After completing the entire course & listening to many of the lessons several times, I can't tell you "what we like to hear and why". Instructor speaks in a monotone with no emotion. Seems bored stiff. Seems like he's just talking, but his mind is elsewhere. Quizzes frequently contained questions for material to be covered in a future lesson

автор: Alex W

4 нояб. 2022 г.

This course was really helpful in deepening my understanding of sound in both music and Biology as the name implied. The lectures were very helpful and the information has stuck with me. I would recommend this to anyone interested in sound, music, or biology.

автор: Aïdita M

30 сент. 2022 г.

Un curso que estoy recomendando a colegas sin dudarlo.

Lo único que verificaría es que los text evaluativos estén disponibles también en esáñol así como hay traducción a la lengua de los videos.

Muchas gracias!

автор: Gisel C

22 мар. 2020 г.

Thanks so much Dale for your teaching! I'm highly interested in this and would like to know more about this and get more involved!

автор: maria e b m d

27 янв. 2020 г.

muy didáctico aun cuando no seas médico ni músico. explica bien un analsis de la música como parte de la expresion del ser humano

автор: Jooe D V

30 мар. 2020 г.

M encanto el curso porque pude aprender muchas funciones del habla generado por la música y sus distintos Orígenes culturales