Chevron Left
Вернуться к Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus от партнера Имперский колледж Лондона

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 4,775
Рецензии: 850

О курсе

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

Лучшие рецензии

DP
25 нояб. 2018 г.

Great course to develop some understanding and intuition about the basic concepts used in optimization. Last 2 weeks were a bit on a lower level of quality then the rest in my opinion but still great.

JT
12 нояб. 2018 г.

Excellent course. I completed this course with no prior knowledge of multivariate calculus and was successful nonetheless. It was challenging and extremely interesting, informative, and well designed.

Фильтр по:

776–800 из 853 отзывов о курсе Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

автор: mnavidad

24 нояб. 2018 г.

This course was super hard but worth it...

автор: Salah E

23 июля 2020 г.

again it is too hard and pushed my limits

автор: Eric G

16 июля 2019 г.

A brief but also very in-depth course

автор: sreekar

23 окт. 2018 г.

Great instruction and good materials.

автор: Gurbaaz S G

14 мая 2021 г.

it was good and interesting course

автор: Julia K

6 окт. 2019 г.

A challenging but exciting course!

автор: Mr. S G

17 апр. 2020 г.

The course was well taught.

автор: Armen M

22 апр. 2020 г.

It was a very hard course

автор: Elnur M

24 мар. 2020 г.

Didn't like last two week

автор: Manuj M

10 июня 2020 г.

Professors were awesome

автор: danthedoubleD

14 мар. 2019 г.

hopefully it is useful

автор: Philip A

16 мая 2019 г.

Excellent Instruction

автор: Kamlesh K

19 июня 2020 г.

It's just amazing.

автор: Dr. T C

19 июня 2020 г.

Very Good Course

автор: Jannatul F A

28 апр. 2020 г.

Its very helpful

автор: raghu c b

2 апр. 2020 г.

Less detailing

автор: Stathis

19 окт. 2019 г.

Good refresher

автор: Alfian A H

22 мар. 2021 г.

Very good

автор: Hemant D K

17 дек. 2018 г.

Its good.

автор: henry c

19 янв. 2020 г.

It is ok

автор: R. D B D

7 мар. 2021 г.

so hard

автор: Prof(Dr) S R

24 авг. 2019 г.

nice

автор: Long Q

10 окт. 2018 г.

g

автор: Tony J

19 авг. 2020 г.

Pretty good in terms of material covered. This course does a much better job of balancing what you should know vs pace than the linear algebra course (which breezed through or skipped a couple concepts that made it difficult to complete assignments or subsequent lessons).

Both courses so far would really benefit from another couple turns at the wheel in terms of polish, making sure that concepts are covered adequately and nothing is lost in the gaps. Also there is room for more and better 'further reading' pointers for those who are interested.

The biggest issue in both courses so far is the discontinuity when the lecturers (for whatever reason) switch in the last 2 weeks of the respective courses. Things seem to get lost or forgotten.

For example, in this course there's no mention in week 5 of how the previous week's topic relates to the material being covered, even though in the assignment there is a very interesting application of the topics in week 4 being presented, but it's completely hidden. And, judging from the forum posts from that week, the vast majority of students missed that insight.

I'm not sure why this course hasn't received any updates since it launched over 2 years ago. It's rough in more than a couple spots, but it could polish up really nicely.

автор: Maksim U

3 янв. 2019 г.

I did learn quite a lot throughout the course. The problem is that most of my knowledge came from elsewhere while the explanations by the course instructors were quite unclear till I referred to extra resources. At the same time, some other explanations were on the obvious side, so I'd say the instructions are kind of inconsistent in their difficulty. The real-life examples were relly good though. The same concerns the quizzes, some are absolutely great and intuitive, while the others just leave you puzzled about what you are even expected to do with no extra info offered when failed.

The course is kind of sloppier than the first one and the reviews say the third one is even worse, so I won't be doing it.

Finally, I cannot even complete the last graded assignment and get my certificate as well as some other learners because the thing just throws an error all the time. There is zero reaction from the crew that is supposed to be moderating the forums.

All in all, a fine "guideline" course. But do not expect to be presented much inside the course itself.