Chevron Left
Вернуться к Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus от партнера Имперский колледж Лондона

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 4,728
Рецензии: 839

О курсе

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

Лучшие рецензии

JT
12 нояб. 2018 г.

Excellent course. I completed this course with no prior knowledge of multivariate calculus and was successful nonetheless. It was challenging and extremely interesting, informative, and well designed.

DP
25 нояб. 2018 г.

Great course to develop some understanding and intuition about the basic concepts used in optimization. Last 2 weeks were a bit on a lower level of quality then the rest in my opinion but still great.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 837 отзывов о курсе Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

автор: Frank N

10 февр. 2021 г.

This is excellent ! The instructors are awesome. You could tell they are ready to help us learn. I did not have a technical background and had no prior knowledge. Just have your basic math skills intact and you would have a great experience with mathematics.

Note: I have already moved on to other higher level courses in data science and have come back to testify.

автор: David A E G

21 авг. 2020 г.

A beautifully designed course, in which I could strongly settle the principles behind Linear Regression and Neural Networks. It did a wonderful job, filling the gaps I had from some other material I had checked on the web, but that was too technical, from a beginner's point of view. I feel so motivated by this course, that I will finish the specialization!

автор: Douglas W

4 мая 2020 г.

Such an impressive set of instructors! I loved the enthusiasm at which the material was taught and injections of British humor. Now, this is not an easy course, but one that requires work. Plan on reacquainting yourselves with pencil, paper and practice. So, do the work, repeat videos when required, rely on classmates in the forums and you'll do fine.

автор: Ludovic G

7 дек. 2020 г.

Simply brilliant ! Although the exercises might tend to be fairly simplistic, the quality if this course is top-notch. I truly believe it is one of the best material out there to get a grasp on fundamental concepts underpinning machine learning and data science.

I would definitely recommend the entire specialisation to anyone interest in this field.

автор: Manas G

15 июля 2020 г.

This is legitimate the best course on coursera. The video production and animations are beyond words. Also the amount of efforts put into quizzes and assignments is clearly visible. They are soo much helpful in understanding and practicing of the concepts taught. I loved doing this course. I wish there were more courses like in this specialization.

автор: Aileen F

27 нояб. 2020 г.

Highly recommend it for engineering students or even graduates, since some schools in my country do not teach some of these topics and programming in their engineering programs. The discussion accompanied by graphical and interactive tools really helped me understand some of concepts. The quizzes and assessment focus on the important points.

автор: Camilo M

29 июля 2020 г.

The explanations are very clear and intuitive, the teachers explain very well and give guidelines so that you can do your own analysis and experimentation. The programming exercises are not complex but you must pay attention and take notes. So far both courses (linear algebra and multivariate calculation) are very, very good.

автор: Natasha M D

10 апр. 2021 г.

Probably my favorite course series on Coursera! Even though I already took calculus and algebra years ago, I feel like I have gained a greater intuition through this and the previous algebra course. These are probably not introductory courses, but more to gain a deeper intuition of using calculus for machine learning.

автор: Adithya P

26 сент. 2020 г.

The instructors are amazing, they make things quite easy to understand and the assignments would give a proper measure of your understanding of the lectures. The content covered in the course gives you a perfect idea of visualizing 3d or multidimensional models(data). The forum has a healthy discussion on the subject.

автор: Idris R

28 окт. 2019 г.

Fun and challenging course! It's priceless to learn all the math behind neural networks and other machine learning algorithms without having to learn all of calculus and all of linear algebra. Those are large fields and having the material presented in a way that focuses on the most relevant pieces is hugely valuable.

автор: Agamjyot C

16 июня 2020 г.

This is a must take course, if you want an insight into how the world of machine learning really works. This MOOC focused more on the intuition rather than just deriving out expressions for the heck of it. Everything has been explained in a very nice and simple manner, I have learned a great deal from this course.

автор: Kuntal T

13 дек. 2020 г.

If you want to see the "Art of teaching", you must take or go through this course. Prof. Dye and Prof. Cooper explained the subject in a very nice way and I think every undergrad should take this course to clarify their understanding and for any person who whats to teach much watch it to learn how to teach.

автор: Umesh S

11 дек. 2020 г.

Excellent course !! .. nice balance of mathematics and intuition building. Pace is fast but its fun. Some assignments are challenging but very rewarding once you get it right. Will recommend to all data science enthusiasts to go through this course to build right base before digging deep in ML algorithms

автор: Taranpreet s

17 сент. 2020 г.

I was quite satisfied with the learnings from the course 1 of the specialization, this course amazed me about how the calculus and linear algebra are knitted together to solve optimization problems efficiently. Quizes are very helpful in reinforcement of the concepts. Instructors are great as well.

автор: Xin Y

16 апр. 2020 г.

Excellent course! All concepts are clearly explained. On a difficulty scale of 10 with 0 being easiest and 10 being hardest, quizzes are around 4 and programming assignments are around 1. The lectures are very well designed, with quizzes helping to reinforce key concepts you learned in the videos.

автор: Nikesh K

16 апр. 2020 г.

I loved this course. Instead of going deep into mathematical terms, the professors try to create an intuition of those terms and the geometrical explanations further improve the understanding. So if you feel that you lack an understanding of the concepts then definitely go for this specialization

автор: David Z

26 нояб. 2020 г.

Great layout of topics and amazing approaches of handling course materials. Provide a great feel of mathematics and its application. Wow, i can't say thank you enough. Having done the abstract Mathematics with computer Science, this has made meaning to the importance of the program i pursued.

автор: RISHAV K

1 янв. 2021 г.

The course is excellent and informative, but keep in mind that it is not for absolute beginners. If one has some experience or if one is willing to take reference from other sources available on the internet. Then, it would certainly improve one's understanding of the underlying mathematics.

автор: anurag

8 апр. 2020 г.

Great foundation course on maths involved in Machine learning . Also such a refreshing view on calculus that is taught in bachelor degrees of engineering. I was able to visualize each concept taught here thus making the learning much more fun and easy to remember, thanks to the professors.

автор: Nguyen N D

13 июля 2020 г.

I learned a lot from the materials. I found the programming assignments in every module is really fascinating with some really cool outputs! The instructors had smooth explanations, easy to understand. But one thing to improve is to have more examples of its applications in real life.

автор: Renato

1 мая 2020 г.

The class is great, give you the fundamentals of multivariate Calculus, made me remember a lot and I have learnt a lot as well. A lot of work with you do everything yourself but it is fun specially because they mix the math on the paper and the math on the coding (python) really fun.

автор: Lay K L

26 дек. 2019 г.

The focus on building intuition about why were are using a certain technique to approach a certain problem, instead of grinding on endless calculus problems in a traditional undergraduate class is very helpful for learning quickly - the class covers a lot of material in a short time.

автор: Mikhail D

24 мая 2020 г.

As good as the linear algebra course. Lots of important concept in calculus explained in a visual, intuitive way, without bothering the students with too much detail but making sure that they actually understand the concepts well. Both instructors and great and passionate lecturers.

автор: Maksym B

20 сент. 2020 г.

Great course with an emphasis on intuition. The course is not complicated if you have taken calculus at school. It was a good refresher for me for basic calculus concepts and it has provided with great high-level understanding of the mathematical objects like Jacobian and Hessian.

автор: Alagu P P G

24 июля 2020 г.

this is a great refresher course for the intermediary basic on multivariate calculus.what you would learn is the math behind data analysis-regression,hessian,Jacobian more of the application of multivariate calculus.AND DO VISIT KHAN ACADEMY +FORUMS FOR FURTHER CLARIFICATIONS