Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to Multilingual and Multicultural Education

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to Multilingual and Multicultural Education от партнера НИУ ВШЭ

4.4
звезд
Оценки: 92
Рецензии: 31

О курсе

The processes of globalization are highly complex and influence the multi-layered structures of societies: economic, socio-cultural, political, linguistic and education aspects among others. A remarkable increase in global migration flows, especially over the last decade, required from the host countries to pay particular attention to the provision of equal education opportunities. Children of migrants, frequently not being (fluent) speakers of the official/national language(s) of the host country, need, and above all, have the right, to get access to good quality education. In addition, in today’s highly competitive labour-market, learning global/international languages (e.g. English) is seen as a necessity. How and at what age should children start learning an additional language (or languages)? Do bilingual/multilingual children perform better at school than their monolingual peers? Which language/education policies are successful and which are not? What challenges students and teachers face in a multilingual/multicultural classroom? What measures do educators, schools, communities need to take in order to make the multilingual and multicultural learning space more effective? The course Introduction to Multilingual and Multicultural Learning makes an attempt to provide answers to these and other related questions with reference to the latest research and discussion of different case studies. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - critically evaluate various teaching practices in multilingual and multicultural settings; - critically evaluate various language policies and planning programmes implemented in multilingual education settings; - obtain valuable insights to better understand the learning needs of students in a multilingual/multicultural classroom; - apply the knowledge you will have gained in this course, in multilingual/multicultural classrooms; - obtain essential skills to deal with immigrant/minority language students. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Лучшие рецензии

JA
10 февр. 2021 г.

This course was extremely helpful for a person that works with ESL students and needs continuos preparation to effectively manage a multicultural and multilingual classroom.

FP
8 окт. 2020 г.

I learned a lot, thank very much to my virtual Professor, Denis Zubalov, Coursera, DOST Philippines - Caraga, and ASSCAT! Dugang kadasig!

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 31 отзывов о курсе Introduction to Multilingual and Multicultural Education

автор: Luz M S R

15 авг. 2019 г.

The course offers important and interesting information, but the teacher limits to read the slides instead of explaining them. The topics and the tests are in disorder, and they contain some small mistakes. However, it did help me improve as a teacher and learn new things. It offered a new perspective on MME

автор: Chiara A

2 нояб. 2019 г.

Very interesting course that gives a very broad overview of the topic of multiculturalism and multilingualism.

автор: Isabella D S

13 июля 2019 г.

Great course! Thanks to Denis, It is perfect for those teachers that work in International Schools. Recommended!

автор: Valerie P d L

3 авг. 2021 г.

The information was useful but REPEATEDLY the test questions asked about subject matter that had not yet been taught. This happened usually once or twice PER TEST, and I would later learn the answer/concept in a future unit. The course needs to be reviewed and edited. Obviously this course was active years ago, but the forums are completely dead now and there is no interaction. No additional assignments to apply the concepts. I would have appreciated recommended further reading. The mistakes in the quizzes, the lack of interaction, homework, and additional resources makes this course extremely dry. Considering the topic is EDUCATION, the course could have been much more dynamic.

автор: Marilyn

7 авг. 2020 г.

I think the structure needs improving and some of the questions are grammatically confusing.

автор: 刘佳文

29 сент. 2018 г.

This course is very useful in training a teacher's multicultural and multilingual consciousness, very practical in today's multicultural and melting-pot world. It really widens my horizon. Many aspects of this topic never occurred to me until I took this course and listened to the videos provided by the professor. M&M education is a very complicated cause, which demands careful thoughts, systematic operations and unsparing love for this field, with many things having to be taken into consideration. I highly suggest you take this course, no matter if you want to be an international teacher, whether you will participate in the educational field or not, because this course will open up your mind and facilitate your understanding of this world as a whole, in which diversity, pluralism and integration is the trend and ultimate goal of human society. It will be beneficial whatever walk of life you're from, as long as you are living in this multicultural world and continue interacting with other people, relatives, friends, teachers, classmates, bosses, colleagues...I promise!

автор: Oxana S

13 мая 2018 г.

As a teacher of English and Spanish to all age groups in various settings myself, I am very glad I signed up for this course on multilingual and multicultural education. The material is completely relevant to my work, and I believe it will be very useful as I design my language curricula for the upcoming academic year. I am hopeful that what I learned here will help with individual learning as well as group cohesiveness, since my classrooms have diverse students with different backgrounds. The instructor, Denis Zubalov, was also very clear and concise, leaving no ambiguity in his presentation of course materials. I highly recommend this course, and I look forward to upcoming courses in this series.

автор: Asterilla J M

18 июня 2020 г.

This course sets a solid comprehensive, academic foundation for Multilingual and Multicultural Education through a examination of the most fundamental theories in the field. A great way to get your foot into the door into understanding the field.

автор: Titov D

12 окт. 2019 г.

For me this course about multilingual/multicultural education is really interesting, because I work abroad now. The course has a good lecturer, structure and design, I recommend it to everyone who is interested in this topic.

автор: Gabriela T d S

22 авг. 2020 г.

The videos are short and useful and my notes have never been this organized. I'm thankful to prof. Denis Zubalov and HSE for developing and offering this course that provided me the skills a language teacher must have.

автор: yael v g

4 дек. 2019 г.

Excelente curso, aclaración de muchos conceptos y muy necesario para educadores de idiomas extranjeros / educadores que trabajan en sistemas educacionales multilinguales y multiculturales

автор: jessie a

10 февр. 2021 г.

This course was extremely helpful for a person that works with ESL students and needs continuos preparation to effectively manage a multicultural and multilingual classroom.

автор: Abderrahmane L

19 сент. 2020 г.

actually pretty good, i learned the deeper meaning of some terminologies that are commonly used by people left and right , thank you mr. zubalov denis

автор: Francis T P

9 окт. 2020 г.

I learned a lot, thank very much to my virtual Professor, Denis Zubalov, Coursera, DOST Philippines - Caraga, and ASSCAT! Dugang kadasig!

автор: Baktiyar A

21 июня 2020 г.

if there were some self read material like other University course it will be more better, but I gained knowledge and thank you so much.

автор: Radia A A

28 июля 2019 г.

It has given me a new mindset and different perspective in the field of multiculturalism and multilingualism.

автор: Jessyca M

16 июня 2020 г.

This course gave me the opportunity of expand my knowledge about education in an inclusive pedagogical view.

автор: Innez M

13 февр. 2021 г.

Really interesting and well developed course, not exactly what I was expecting but great nonetheless

автор: Shirley J

24 нояб. 2020 г.

Me gustó mucho este curso, porque abarca temas desde la pedagogía inclusiva.

автор: Cherry A V

8 сент. 2021 г.

Excellent and thank you so much to our Professor

автор: APOSTOLIA F

10 янв. 2021 г.

Very interesting course with top lecturer.

автор: Hamida M

22 нояб. 2020 г.

Thanks for this valuable course.

автор: Ronny V

7 окт. 2018 г.

Great!

автор: Edmar O

11 нояб. 2019 г.

This course serves its purpose as an introduction to multilingual and multicultural education as it offers the historical, political, pedagogical, and practical perspectives of the language education in such setting. I just want to see the references integrated in the downloadable button of each week.

автор: Paul V d E

9 сент. 2020 г.

Interesting course. Slides could be improved (max 6 lines with max 6 words per line). Instructor sometimes speaks too fast for this kind of course (even if you can stop and rewind). Some very creative pronunciation.