Chevron Left
Вернуться к Mountains 101

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Mountains 101 от партнера Альбертский университет

4.9
Оценки: 837
Рецензии: 296

О курсе

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Лучшие рецензии

SK

Dec 23, 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

KC

Apr 27, 2019

Absolutely loved every second of it! Reignited my love for geography and the outdoors with sleek, informative- documentary styled lectures. I found the course holistically enriching and fun!

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 293 отзывов о курсе Mountains 101

автор: Benjamin A

Feb 24, 2018

Great diversity of topics. Awesome collaboration between professionals in the scientific community. Fully appreciate the knowledge and inspiration acquired throughout the course. Thank you!

автор: Annie C

Nov 11, 2018

I've always liked the outdoors, and Mountains 101 provided me a lens with which to view and appreciate mountains. The course delves deep into everything to do with mountains globally, focusing on the Canadian Rockies as a home base. Topics cover the history of mountains in literature and society, biology and conservation, geology and the climate impact of mountains, and even tips on how to explore mountains safely and comfortably. The visuals are stunning and I appreciated the well-rounded approach of this course. Zak and David are articulate, engaging, and easy to understand, and the many on-location interviews with experts only added more to the course. I'm already planning a trip to the Canadian Rockies!

автор: Alan B

Jun 22, 2017

This is a very comprehensive and interesting presentation of the place mountain occupy in our social, economical, and spiritual life. I definitely would enjoy visiting the Canadian Rockies.

автор: Yves S

Aug 04, 2017

Good intro course, I just hoped that the focus would have been more on the geological part and a bit less on the cultural part. But still, those parts enhanced the variety and completed the view one has on mountains, so I can live with it :-)

All in all quite a complete intro on mountains - recommended!

автор: Sean G

Jan 16, 2019

GREAT VIDEO AND PHOTO'S, VERY INTERESTING

автор: Mohamed M A E

Jan 30, 2019

I really enjoyed sharing and following this wonderful course. Very well designed, organized and professionally presented.

Many thanks and hope to see you again in another course.

автор: Hans K

Jan 31, 2019

Very well structured, enetertaining and full of knowledge!! I would recomend it 100%!! Great job by the Uneversity of Alberta!!

автор: Luis s s

Jan 31, 2019

curso recomendado si te gustan las montañas y quieres conocer más sobre su dinámica y ecología-

автор: Mark

Jan 20, 2019

Very thorough and informative, well presented and thought out course; well done!

автор: KASHIF H

Feb 01, 2019

I love to learn and this course was awesome and really good learning experience !

автор: Daniel T V

Feb 01, 2019

Fantastic course, I enjoyed it so much.

автор: David S

Feb 02, 2019

Everything about this course was wonderful! Great information, great instructors, very fun course!

автор: Amber M

Feb 02, 2019

Loved the course and learning an all around study of mountains from history to preservation to the wildlife and biodiversity. Also appreciated the tech tips! This is a great course for all nature lovers.

автор: Michelle O

Feb 01, 2019

Thank you for creating this fantastic course! I loved the interdisciplinary approach, and the many segments featuring experts from various areas of mountain research. Professors Hik and Robinson also did a great job of guiding through the course material. Overall I learned a great deal about mountains, which will inform my own projects going forward. I recommend this course to everyone!

автор: Christopher W

Feb 02, 2019

Mountains 101 provided a broad, interdisciplinary review of topics pertaining to mountains. The course instructors presented the material in a way that was both informative and interesting. The visual accompaniments to the lessons which depicted terminology or a biological/geological process were outstanding. I would recommend this course for anyone with an interest in mountains.

автор: Jacquie H

Feb 05, 2019

Beautifully delivered. Very inspiring course. Thank you.

автор: Marcia K

Jan 03, 2019

I have lived in or near the mountains all my life and I learned so much.

автор: Nouman a

Jan 04, 2019

great platform to learn

автор: Anuj D R

Jan 08, 2019

Good course for all interested to know the value of mountains, its origination and impact on climate. Will recommend everyone to attend it.

автор: Xiang J

Jan 11, 2019

if you like outdoor activities, It's pretty good.

автор: Ryan

Feb 21, 2019

Great course!

автор: Krish R

Feb 22, 2019

Great introductory course on Mountains. Thank you very much.

автор: Bo P

Feb 13, 2019

What an amazing course. So much time effort and thought was put into this course. The quality of the content was amazing and as a lover of mountains I found this so interesting. Above all, the passion that went into this course made it perfect. Now when I'm in the mountains I enjoy the even more! Oh and the last video...nice touch! ;)

автор: Jingtian Z

Feb 16, 2019

The course is very good!

автор: Joan V M

Feb 08, 2019

Amazing! I enjoyed and learned a lot, thanks!