Chevron Left
Вернуться к The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910

Отзывы учащихся о курсе The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910 от партнера Виргинский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 2,012
Рецензии: 523

О курсе

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

Лучшие рецензии

MC

Nov 06, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

GW

Apr 16, 2017

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 513 отзывов о курсе The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910

автор: Dorothy A

Apr 06, 2018

History tends to repeat itself so the more historical knowledge gained, the better understanding of current conditions. This course was one of the best I've taken and in particular the Professor's explanation of not only the data but the "why". So much occurs before and around an event that it is sometimes easy to jump to incorrect conclusions.

автор: Jose A P M

Sep 11, 2016

This course is very comprehensive. It giive us a realy Global perspective of the importante facts in History that changed the world in many aspects. I just loved it. The tests are not simple, so I advice people to take notes during the classes because it give us lots of information. In order to pass you have to pay attention even in the detail

автор: jhony d c p

Aug 19, 2017

excelente curso para tener un conocimiento amplio sobre los hechos y procesos históricos entre 1760 y 1910. el tutor estudia casos puntuales los cuales permiten tener un acercamiento mucho mas enriquecedor a algunos países que fueron importantes para el proceso histórico e inicio de la modernidad en algunos territorios europeos y del mundo.

автор: Samuel O

Jul 23, 2018

Considero que la explicación del Profesor Philip Zelikow es genial y aporta elementos muy claros y claves sobre la historia moderna. Hay que corregir los quizes porque realizan preguntas que no corresponden a la semana (a veces se pregunta sobre temas que no se han visto) pero es genial, recomendadísimo para los amantes de la historia.

автор: Beka K

Jul 03, 2017

Very informative and hard-working course. I recommend this course to those, who love world history, aren’t idle and are ready watching approximately two hours video-lectures and doing quizzes per week, each consisting of 20 questions. But, in spite of this, ultimately, my hopes have come true and I have got great pleasure by doing it.

автор: Armand R

Nov 24, 2016

Prossor Zelikow does a fantastic job with world history!! He gives a wonderfully refreshing "Big picture" view during this period of time. Thankfully he constantly reminds us of the "why this happened" instead of the usually boring "and then this happened..."

Crystal clear presentation and wonderfully informative!

Highly recommended.

автор: Anne H

Mar 17, 2018

What a fabulous series of lectures! This course was well organized, smart, and wonderfully presented! The Professor has done an amazing job of weaving together many dynamic concepts and themes, presenting them in a cohesive and interesting way. Without a doubt, this has been my best teaching experience with Coursera. Thank you!

автор: Alexandre Z

Jun 08, 2016

Very good, concise, relevant and with an excellent presentation. Gives you the big picture on history and also offers an insight in the decision making that shaped world history. Also it offers a big picture, focusing not only on Western history, but on China, Africa, India, Japan, Latin America and the Muslim world.

Excellent!

автор: Gary C

Dec 22, 2015

I have learnt a great deal in this course. A vast amount of history is covered in a logical and thematic manner. The professor's style is relaxing and warm. He is also well organised and lucid and because of this my learning was enhanced. This is a great course for those, like me, who are new to the history of these events.

автор: Charmaine L

Jan 05, 2019

Dr. Philip Zelikow was really thorough and amicable in the way he lectures. He's done an exceptional job in fusing the historical patterns of history with that of modern events, thus allowing us students to understand and relate to the importance of these historical events even better. Thank you, Dr. Zelikow!

автор: Santiago M

Oct 16, 2015

Es un curso donde se puede aprender mucho, además el profesor Zelikow habla con una espontaneidad excelente que lo atrapa en el curso y quiere seguir viendo más temas. El contenido del curso es excelente y las herramientas con las que cuenta para dar a entender el contenido de forma online es aún mejor.

автор: Kylee R

Oct 01, 2017

This course is fantastic! It is rigorous, yet Professor Zelikow skillfully makes the complex material very accessible. His enthusiasm is infectious. I greatly appreciate the efforts of Professor Zelikow, the University of Virginia and Coursera in making this course available. I can't wait to do Part 2!

автор: Qiyu T

Aug 23, 2019

Very well organized content! I love Professor Zelikow's way of teaching, he really draws the big picture of the global history and helps me to understand not only on what happened, but also why that happened. I can link what he teaches in the nowadays world. I would love to continue studying with him!

автор: Abhimanyu K

Sep 30, 2015

It was a great course and Mr. Zelikow is such a noble soul. I loved studying from him. In this information age, MOOCs will revolutionize education when people like us from far away countries have the chance learn from these terrific professors from all across the world. Thank You professor once again.

автор: Jorge P

Aug 11, 2017

Excellent, insightful presentation of the "why?" behind the "what?" from 1760 through the Great Acceleration. The conversational style keeps things interesting and give one a good foundational understanding of the most important developments around the world, and is peppered with great little facts.

автор: Sandra M

Nov 12, 2019

It is a very well analyzed view of history by grouping key concepts doctrines and sets of developments that are shaping the world leaders experiences decisions as well as the evolution of their societies. Much better than a strictly chronological historic recitation. Compliments to Pr Zelikow.

автор: Huda J

Sep 13, 2019

An absolutely complete and rich course carefully prepared by Professor Philip Zelikow. I feel privileged for attending his outstanding lectures. Grateful for learning such rich and complete content on World History. This course is going to make an enormous difference in my career and my life.

автор: Faisal M

Dec 20, 2017

As a teacher of History, this was an excellent professional development course which taught me new things and allowed me to refresh any previous knowledge. I feel a lot more confident going into my lessons and teaching the lessons that I need to get through. It's really good value for money.

автор: CHRISTOS B

May 02, 2020

A very meaningful course. I learned lots of things about the history of other nations and the forces that spape the world we live now. And, more important, I saw ways of thinking about history of humans societies in order to understand better my society and the present. Thanks a lot!

автор: Ryan M

Nov 28, 2017

Philip Zelikow is an excellent professor whose extensive experience as a US diplomat certainly comes through. His explanations of why things happened and his in depth analysis of key historical events adds a lot of value to this course. I would recommend this to a friend any day!

автор: Amanda C

Apr 28, 2017

Amazing course! Learnt so much, and gained a better appreciation of not just knowing what happened, but analysing the set of options available to individuals at that time to understand why history happened the way it did. Extremely engaging narration and curation of materials.

автор: Michael P M

May 28, 2017

I found this course to be extremely interesting and very well presented by Professor Zelikow. I was impressed with his deep knowledge of the subject and the way in which he could draw on wider lierary and artistic materials to further elaborate on the topics he discussed.

автор: Nishant K

May 05, 2020

It was a comprehensive course. The presentations were very much interesting and to the point. I liked the way things were approached and explained. Various concepts and complicated ones were very lucidly explained and it was a fun going through the presentations. Thanks.

автор: Admario L R

Dec 06, 2015

Great course: professor Zelikow puts into perspective facts that give us an understandable course of History and the role played by choices made by people rather than reviewing purely theoretical explanations or ideological trends to base conclusions. Really enjoyed it!

автор: Bryan C

Mar 04, 2018

Excellent survey of history, and I personally appreciate the amount of effort the professor put into organizing the material. He really sets the bar for online presentation, and I would not hesitate to recommend this course to anyone who is interested in world history.