Chevron Left
Вернуться к The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910

Отзывы учащихся о курсе The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910 от партнера Виргинский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 2,738

О курсе

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

Лучшие рецензии

MC

5 нояб. 2018 г.

Dear Professor,

I am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

DT

17 мар. 2022 г.

Excellent if concise overview of a fascinating period of Global History. Presented in a very engaging manner but with a logicakl structure to tie together what often appeared to be disparate strands.

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 700 отзывов о курсе The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910

автор: Lucas M S

21 мар. 2021 г.

Los contenidos expuestos en el curso son sumamente interesantes, el profesor tiene una habilidad innata para explicar los temas, y, en general, es un curso excelente, tanto para aquellos que ya saben algo de historia, como así tambien para los que estan recien incursionando en la materia.

автор: Li C

3 мар. 2022 г.

The instructor is excellent. He guides the students through the complex period with enough details about the events without losing perspectives of the broader picture. The insights about history being shaped by situations and choices are great reminders as we analyze the world today.

автор: CHRISTOS B

2 мая 2020 г.

A very meaningful course. I learned lots of things about the history of other nations and the forces that spape the world we live now. And, more important, I saw ways of thinking about history of humans societies in order to understand better my society and the present. Thanks a lot!

автор: Ryan M

28 нояб. 2017 г.

Philip Zelikow is an excellent professor whose extensive experience as a US diplomat certainly comes through. His explanations of why things happened and his in depth analysis of key historical events adds a lot of value to this course. I would recommend this to a friend any day!

автор: Ramnath S K

11 янв. 2021 г.

Anyone interested in the broader perspective of World History and not merely facts and dates, this course is the GO TO. Excellent insights. One should do both the parts in sequence. I have a better knowledge and perspective having done these courses. Wouldn't mind repeating them.

автор: Amanda C

28 апр. 2017 г.

Amazing course! Learnt so much, and gained a better appreciation of not just knowing what happened, but analysing the set of options available to individuals at that time to understand why history happened the way it did. Extremely engaging narration and curation of materials.

автор: Michael P M

28 мая 2017 г.

I found this course to be extremely interesting and very well presented by Professor Zelikow. I was impressed with his deep knowledge of the subject and the way in which he could draw on wider lierary and artistic materials to further elaborate on the topics he discussed.

автор: Nishant K

5 мая 2020 г.

It was a comprehensive course. The presentations were very much interesting and to the point. I liked the way things were approached and explained. Various concepts and complicated ones were very lucidly explained and it was a fun going through the presentations. Thanks.

автор: Admario L R

6 дек. 2015 г.

Great course: professor Zelikow puts into perspective facts that give us an understandable course of History and the role played by choices made by people rather than reviewing purely theoretical explanations or ideological trends to base conclusions. Really enjoyed it!

автор: Bryan C

4 мар. 2018 г.

Excellent survey of history, and I personally appreciate the amount of effort the professor put into organizing the material. He really sets the bar for online presentation, and I would not hesitate to recommend this course to anyone who is interested in world history.

автор: Diogo A

22 нояб. 2020 г.

It is astonishing how engaging and interesting Professor Philip Zelikow manages to structure and present the course material. I found this course (along with its second part) superb, and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting an overview of recent world history.

автор: Emiko F

16 мая 2020 г.

This course is amazingly interesting. A coherent view of the dynamic period over the world was clearly and interestingly depicted by the lecturer. We can learn a lot of insights to understand and predict the current world based on what happened in the modern world.

автор: Sandra R

15 дек. 2015 г.

Instructor is knowledgeable and enjoyable in his lectures. I have completed the requirements for a degree in history prior to taking this course (although I never applied for it). I have learned more by taking this course than I did in the same course in college.

автор: Joseph C

9 сент. 2015 г.

Excellent. The professor was just about perfect - high energy and very relaxed. He was a natural in front of the camera. The subject matter was interesting and informative. Coursera and UVA are to be congratulated for providing such a great product. Nicely done.

автор: Ann-Maree W

18 июля 2019 г.

This was a very interesting course! Philip Zelikow is a very good storyteller, who teaches you how to ask questions around these historical events. And he included a lot of nice maps and illustrations that I hope to use in the Global Art History class I teach.

автор: John V

27 мар. 2021 г.

This was one of the most fascinating courses I've taken. Far more interesting and engaging than 90% of the course in my actual master's degree! Philip Zelikow is an excellent tutor with a very engaging manner and exemplary method of explaining complex events.

автор: Josep E

13 июля 2022 г.

Great from every aspect...content, pace, intensity and depth for my purpose. And, indeed a great lecturer who knows how to summarize and make things interesting, logic and very very much underrstoodable and lets you get the whole picture. Congratulations!

автор: Michael H

22 июля 2020 г.

I loved this course! Professor Zelikow as an excellent instructor and his passion for history flows through this course. It was not just memorizing facts (when), but it more of the "why" did this happen in world history? I can't wait to take part 2!

автор: Monica S

19 нояб. 2015 г.

Great Course! Shows the political evolution from a Feudal System until we have a Modern World that starts changing very fast through scientific knowledge, and the struggle from imperialism to democratic societies, to dictatorships, military goverments.

автор: Maria F

13 февр. 2017 г.

Truly wonderful. I loved this course from beginning to end. The presentations give you just the right amount of information, without overwhelming you with facts and dates.

And there's Part 2, which is equally great.

I thoroughly recommend this course.

автор: Bonnie W

21 июля 2022 г.

This was exceptional! I especially liked the way the professor pulled in works of art and political cartoons to illustrate points. It was exquisite use of 'multimedia' to my more scientifically trained mind and it really helped to drive home points.

автор: Mohammed A R

10 мая 2020 г.

I may be biased, being a history enthusiast, but this course is very interesting. It gives both the big picture and the vital details of historical events that reveal our story and how we came to develop the largest of cities with our great ideas.

автор: Dimitrios E

2 сент. 2018 г.

It was a truly amazing course that allowed me to learn so much about the period between 1760 and 1910, gave excelent insight to how people though and understood the world at that time and refueled my interest in modern history. I highly recomend it

автор: EIRINI M

24 июля 2022 г.

Finally I found a course that can help you learn history like a story... I can't even explain how grateful I am for this course's existence, as I am not forced to search random youtube videos to get a glimpse of a certain time period! Thank you!

автор: Nikolaos T

19 нояб. 2015 г.

I think Professor Philip Zelikow is a charismatic speaker. I enjoy listening such an eloquent teacher.

The content of the lesson is compact, complete, enlightening and inspiring.

I find some of the quiz questions ambiguous.

Thank you very much.