Chevron Left
Вернуться к The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910

Отзывы учащихся о курсе The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910 от партнера Виргинский университет

4.8
Оценки: 1,550
Рецензии: 376

О курсе

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

Лучшие рецензии

MC

Nov 06, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

GW

Apr 16, 2017

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 366 отзывов о курсе The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910

автор: Anne M

Apr 25, 2018

I am giving this 3 stars for one reason. Although the instructor was terrific and the subject matter interesting, you cannot take the quizzes/tests without purchasing the course (I like to test my retention of the material). As I am an elderly and retired audit-only student and have NO interest in getting a certificate or using the course for college credit, I found that off-putting and dropped the class. Hopefully, other Coursera courses are not going to adopt the same requirement.

автор: Benjamin W

Dec 21, 2015

There is much to praise: nice mapwork, a steady and organized march through time, and some interesting case studies (I especially enjoyed the lecture on Henry Adams).

However, the title is a complete misnomer, as the course is regrettably white bread history. I found the approach stale and western-centric, as the content actually covers western Europe and the stretch of its influence through the time period. I also found myself questioning the veracity of many conclusions, as the lecture often had difficulty citing more than a couple specific points of evidence for his arguments.

автор: Ulises A

Jan 31, 2019

Increíble síntesis de los hechos que definen el mundo moderno.

автор: Kelvin L

Dec 31, 2018

Very informative course. Highly recommended.

автор: Oscar T

Dec 16, 2018

Muy bien presentado. Una perspectiva esclarecedora de una época esencial para comprender nuestro presente.

автор: Charmaine L

Jan 05, 2019

Dr. Philip Zelikow was really thorough and amicable in the way he lectures. He's done an exceptional job in fusing the historical patterns of history with that of modern events, thus allowing us students to understand and relate to the importance of these historical events even better. Thank you, Dr. Zelikow!

автор: Afshin

Jan 06, 2019

Great professor!

автор: Manjula g

Feb 20, 2019

The course is very informative and useful , and easy to understand the concepts.

автор: Fernando H U

Feb 25, 2019

This is a very good course with one of the greatest teachers I have ever seen.

автор: Dimitris S

Feb 15, 2019

An analytical and coprehensive presentation of the most important century in human history focusing on interpretations of stunning developments rather than a dry quote of dates and names

автор: leslie c

Feb 28, 2019

Amazing course, great professor! I can´t wait to begin Part 2

автор: Abdurrahman

Mar 15, 2019

Great course, nice community, much engagement. Thank you for this.

автор: John H

Dec 22, 2018

Awesome high level view of history.

автор: Vinayaka H

Dec 22, 2018

I was interested to learn History but books were so boring for me, so I chose Coursera and now I can explore World History, how global forces interact with each other and influence lives of people in the community through this course.

Throughout the course Dr. Philip will not only explain about the history but he also tries to reason "Why it happened ?". In some of the videos, he even decodes the message hidden in art works of the past.

It is indeed a fascinating subject which is beautifully narrated. I look forward to take the second part of World history.

Thank you

автор: Raissa L

Feb 06, 2019

Absolutely amazed with this course. Philip is extremely knowledgeable, gives you the baby steps in order to understand each class. I'm looking forward to take another class with him. Couldn't recommend enough!!

автор: Akhilesh S

Jul 12, 2018

This has been a really intriguing course. Professor Zelikow passionately narrates the significant historical developments during the early Modern age, and also goes on to answering some of the 'Why' questions that crop up.

автор: Pedro S N

May 05, 2016

A clear and lean approach of this period. Well done UV!

автор: Roman G

Dec 24, 2015

just a great course

автор: Ellis W

Oct 13, 2015

A rewarding walk through the What and Why of an interesting period in history.

автор: Jose A P M

Sep 11, 2016

This course is very comprehensive. It giive us a realy Global perspective of the importante facts in History that changed the world in many aspects. I just loved it. The tests are not simple, so I advice people to take notes during the classes because it give us lots of information. In order to pass you have to pay attention even in the detail

автор: Jorge P

Aug 11, 2017

Excellent, insightful presentation of the "why?" behind the "what?" from 1760 through the Great Acceleration. The conversational style keeps things interesting and give one a good foundational understanding of the most important developments around the world, and is peppered with great little facts.

автор: Scott E

Oct 30, 2015

Great lecture series. It really make you want to travel and see where this stuff happened.

автор: John M

Jan 04, 2016

T

автор: Luis A A N

Mar 25, 2016

9

автор: Natalia

Jan 06, 2016

very good overview of world history