Chevron Left
Вернуться к Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age от партнера ??????????? ???????????

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 484
Рецензии: 114

О курсе

Most professions these days require more than general intelligence. They require in addition the ability to collect, analyze and think about data. Personal life is enriched when these same skills are applied to problems in everyday life involving judgment and choice. This course presents basic concepts from statistics, probability, scientific methodology, cognitive psychology and cost-benefit theory and shows how they can be applied to everything from picking one product over another to critiquing media accounts of scientific research. Concepts are defined briefly and breezily and then applied to many examples drawn from business, the media and everyday life. What kinds of things will you learn? Why it’s usually a mistake to interview people for a job. Why it’s highly unlikely that, if your first meal in a new restaurant is excellent, you will find the next meal to be as good. Why economists regularly walk out of movies and leave restaurant food uneaten. Why getting your picture on the cover of Sports Illustrated usually means your next season is going to be a disappointment. Why you might not have a disease even though you’ve tested positive for it. Why you’re never going to know how coffee affects you unless you conduct an experiment in which you flip a coin to determine whether you will have coffee on a given day. Why it might be a mistake to use an office in a building you own as opposed to having your office in someone else’s building. Why you should never keep a stock that’s going down in hopes that it will go back up and prevent you from losing any of your initial investment. Why it is that a great deal of health information presented in the media is misinformation....

Лучшие рецензии

JM

Jul 29, 2019

This course is great! I recommend it to anyone who wants to be able to reason better and have more capabilities in making decisions. Thank you Dr. Nisbett and Coursera for providing this course.

NP

Aug 07, 2017

A very good course prof Richard has explained very difficult to understand concepts in a very simple language and made it easy for students to grasp the subject matter easily.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 113 отзывов о курсе Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age

автор: Peter B

Dec 24, 2018

Excellent introduction to basic tools (awareness of some cognitive biases / heuristics, the importance of contextual factors, etc.) for sharpening our minds: It´s a must! :-)

автор: Javan M

Jul 29, 2019

This course is great! I recommend it to anyone who wants to be able to reason better and have more capabilities in making decisions. Thank you Dr. Nisbett and Coursera for providing this course.

автор: Saadiq H N

May 27, 2017

Excellent! A very informative course delivered in a very effective manner. I would highly recommend this course to all who have any interest at all in critical thinking.

автор: Jess I

Oct 10, 2017

The professor is likable, the content is engaging and accessible, and the lessons are applicable to everyone's daily life in both personal and professional situations.

автор: Mohan

Dec 05, 2017

The content will be probably be very familiar, maybe too familiar to people who are professionals in any logic-intense field like engineering, philosophy or science. Overall, a good refresher and you get to tag some of the things you know but don't know the term. Like fundamental attribution error, confirmation bias etc. Recommend to people who are less trained in logic, or who needs a refresher

автор: Omar V M

Sep 07, 2018

Even if I'm not particularly sure that the learnings of this course will not fade from my memory, like many other learnings just had, it was for me an interesting journey, and one that I took with great joy and enthusiasm. It is not a big deal to finish a course, but I suppose it was motivating to get into the train of thought of the instructor every once in a while. Certainly as many other individuals, I aspire to become wiser in order to make better decisions, both in my personal life as well as in my workplace. Part of my perceived self-endowment is to spread the word with other people interested in improving their thinking about the tools provided by this course. Thanks to Prof. Nisbett and thanks to the Coursera staff and other participants of this course.

автор: Sergey S

May 21, 2017

Hi and thanks for this course.

It inspires me to study deeper statistics, logic and other topics included in the course.

The only issue that I faced with is how should I use that in a real world? Lot of (or even all) information given in this course was new to as an academic subject. And I feel lack of understanding how can I use it in practice. So, my feedback is add some practical assignments (with no review, of course) or give some hint about how start using that. It'll be very handy.

Anyway, thank you for that. That was really great.

P.S. I would be very appreciate if you can give some ideas about my issue. You can text me on sergejshishkin@gmail.com

But of course, it's only by your grace. I've no reasons to expect and insist on it.

автор: Mariya K

Jan 13, 2019

This is a great course which is a must-do for every modern person trying to deal with the huge amount of information and data which floods us every day. You will learn basic principles of statistics that will show you how to form expectations and how to explain some seemingly strange events. It will also teach you basic principles of logic and dialectical thinking, along with the differences between them, to help you understand not only the world, but yourself, too.

автор: Radu C

Jan 09, 2018

Well structured course and very helpful. It presents the matter of critical thinking in a pretty abstract away allowing to cover a lot of subjects while also presenting the most important aspects. I observed changes in my way of analyzing information in every day life. The course does not provide in depth mathematical / logical concepts but it teaches you when to observe the need to use such a concept and how to search for it which is more valuable in my opinion.

автор: Lenka S

Feb 22, 2018

Thank you Mr. Nisbett! I live on the other side of the planet, currently on maternity leave spending most of the time at home taking care of my baby and I must say that taking up your course was very refreshing for me and I enjoyed it a lot! It was not hard on definitions as promised, yet the course gave me a lot of inputs to think about and I find it very relevant these days. I will definitely participate in lot more courses from your University in the future.

автор: Kavya S

Jun 10, 2019

Sir Richard Nisbett ensures an enjoyable learning experience full of anecdotes and surprising facts. This is a course everyone should do irrespective of the stage in their careers. The quizzes are the perfect difficulty level- questions are thought-provoking but not so difficult that the learner needs to rack their brains too much. They also have the perfect length of 4-15 questions which prevents quizzes from being burdens on the learner.

автор: Chia C L

Jul 25, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. While going through the course materials, I get to apply some of the things I have learned and reflect them in my life e.g why we tend to generalize someone's behavior with just one observation, ...etc. I will want to continue to apply concepts I find important esp. to my daily life. In short, this course is not just useful;

it is transformative! Thank you! May you be well and happy ^^.

автор: Eren J G

Oct 20, 2019

Mindware: Criticial Thinking of the Information Age is a great fundamentals course that helps you learn by heart some very important concepts. It is a great primer about anyone who wants to delve further into statistics. The fact that it is not at all math - heavy prepares you for any statistics course that you might take. The implications of the concepts talked about in the course tie in with psychology really well.

автор: Dinara S

Aug 04, 2017

This is one of the best courses for everyone. It describes very common life situations and give you the right answer on them. The course is built very interesting. First you should answer the questions or make exersices and afterward the professor explain to you your mistakes (if you made them) and describes the logic of conclusions in a very clear way. I definitely recommend this course to all. Thank you!

автор: Henry D

Jun 25, 2017

I found this course very useful and informative in many ways. The content is particularly relevant for the current "information age". Learning and applying the thinking skills and analytical tools outlined by Dr. Nisbett have a tremendous positive effect on how I look at things in both a business and personal situations. Thank you for providing this course through Coursera.

автор: Regina K

Jun 23, 2017

The course was very helpful to deal with the huge amount of unfiltered information in an appropriately critical way. I have now a much higher awareness of judgment errors and feel better prepared for conluding the right things from the information that I get. Thank you very much, the course helped a lot and it was especially easy to handle because of the many examples.

автор: Stefan V

Aug 16, 2017

This is a great course for anyone who wants to improve the way they approach problems and choices. It introduces topics that are useful in everyday life but are generally accessible only in higher education (Behavior and Social Sciences, Economics, Philosophy). The video materials are great and the course is fun to go through. I definitely recommend it to anyone!

автор: Lukáš H

Jul 19, 2017

This course gives you the skills you will need in the 21st century. It helped me to understand data and filter out the noise from relevant information. If you want to know what is really going on, what works and what is not and make up for your cognitive limitations and heuristics, go for it. One of the best courses you can take in the information age.

автор: Kristen B

Nov 23, 2018

Cannot speak highly enough about this course. Concepts taught are relevant and practical, and you begin to use them while you're still learning. Delivery is easy to listen to and authentic. This course will change the way you view the world, the way you take in information, the way you approach issues, and the way you view yourself.

автор: Jameel C

Apr 02, 2019

A very Practical and Real life skiIls course. I found this course very well structured in terms of organising the way to use the thinking tools that I discovered in the course This is a must course for everyday thinking. Also Professor Nisbett brings a very warm and engaging way to his lectures that makes you come back for more.

автор: Danica B

Apr 28, 2017

It's an amazing course designed to help us think better in the world we live in. I'd recommend it to everyone as a basis to start evaluating your own ways of thinking, finding the flaws and creating new ways and healthier habits when making decisions.

It's fully worth the time. Thank you for such quality content.

автор: Vera

Jul 17, 2017

It's really great! It's my first course I've completed so far, and I admit I just scratched the surface. I will learn more about logic and principles of making choices on my own, but this course gave me the initial spark of interest.

You should definitely consider it useful for your life!

автор: Narita R

Jan 10, 2019

Excellent course. Everyone should know the basics of the critical thinking especially in today's world when most of our decisions are influenced by news and social media. This course gives a new perspective of thinking critically about the big and small decisions in our lives.

автор: Alexandre Z R

Apr 25, 2017

This course was very successful in bring to light many concepts we need to carefully understand to don't evaluate everyday problems. It's based on explanatory examples that are much more acessible to everyone that complex mathematical notations. It worth to do.

автор: Sharena R

Jun 11, 2017

Thanks, Dr. Nisbett! This was my first Coursera course, and I am happy that I came across it when I was planning on reading the book "Mindware" anyway. I enjoyed the book very much and took this course as a companion to the book, rather than vice versa.