Chevron Left
Вернуться к Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential от партнера Университет Макмастер

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 11,381
Рецензии: 3,290

О курсе

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Лучшие рецензии

SM
21 июня 2020 г.

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

LV
30 апр. 2020 г.

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

Фильтр по:

251–275 из 3,289 отзывов о курсе Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

автор: Suporn P

27 апр. 2020 г.

This is the first MOOC course that engaged me throughout the entire journey and I was able to complete the course within a week. The instructor introduces interesting concepts that are useful for breaking through obstacles in learning, uses simple words to explain complex concepts, and reiterates the concepts with small quiz throughout the course. Highly recommended.

автор: Nicole M

7 июля 2017 г.

I LOVED this course. Each week I learned something new. The insights and additional resources help jumpstart my motivation. The course started at an ideal point in my learning. Since taking the course I have seen improvement in my study habits and I have the tools and resources for when my motivation is at a low point. I can't wait to see a continuation for Mindshift

автор: Zhao L

13 июля 2020 г.

This MOOC comes up with some interesting ideas about learning, not just academically, but in a more general way. Those ideas give me a lot of insights, and help me rethink and adjust my way of study. The most attracing thing of this MOOC is that the lecturer is energetic, aloquent, and always putting a smile on her face, which makes learners feel good and positve.

автор: Lucía A R G

4 июня 2020 г.

Thins course chance my life in all. In the past I don't value my abilities and my past. My last works I don't value too and I don't prove new things because I have negative thoughts, or I thought it is inconsistent! . So, I started to make chance with this course. I apply the tecniques and use the tools. And I have positive results. I recommend taking this course

автор: Stephen G

5 июня 2017 г.

Another well presented MOOC by Barb. It exposes and breaks down learning difficulties that are personal, common and not generally given definitive answers and simplifies responses that capture complex concepts.

If you are looking to take on a MOOC on a foreign subject or subject that you are not that passionate about (yet), this would be a good MOOC to take first.

автор: Sarah s

14 апр. 2020 г.

one of the best courses i have ever taken

makes your mind blow !!

highly recommended

. . . . . . . . .. . .. . .. . . .. . .. . . . . . . .... .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . .. . . .. . .. .. . .. . . .. . . . .. . . .. . . . .. .. . . . . . . .. . . . . . .. . . . .. . . . ... . . ... . ... . . .. . . .. . . .. . . .. . . . . .. . . .. . . . .. .

автор: Christopher G

29 апр. 2020 г.

Loved this MOOC. Second best after Learning How to Learn (which is the first part in this series). If you liked/loved that MOOC, you will love this MOOC too. It builds on concepts established in that one and adds a little bit more. I have experienced a mindshift while taking this course and you will too as long as you are paying attention and have an open mind!

автор: Anel O

1 мая 2017 г.

Barbara and her team are amazing. I can relate so much to many examples given in this course from how we can feel when learning something new to how we can refrain a stressful feeling to keep going with a positive learning experience. I highly recommend this course to gain confidence in our abilities and keep our brains fresh to learn how to learn new skills.

автор: Nikhil P

24 авг. 2019 г.

This course and its predecessor (LHTL) teaches one, invaluable techniques to improve learning and remember for a longer duration and be more creative. These techniques can be implemented in our daily lives very easily and makes us more confident and helps us to overcome our fears and sense of inadequacy due to poor memory retention or poor learning technique.

автор: Wd B

3 янв. 2021 г.

A useful and valuable course. The MindShift presentation was insightful and reconfirmed that a path to life-long learning is ok in my older years. Bob and Terry captivated my attention and guided me to reframe my approach to learning. This presentation should be taught as a career development course to help students navigate their current and future learning.

автор: Gabriel T

18 дек. 2017 г.

It's been a remarkable gain to find out I was already using some of the concepts presented here for a long time without knowing, and of course to discover some of the new, complementary once. I find this course to be very effective on your thinking behavior , especially if it is done in completion to their related MOOC : Learning How to Learn. Good Job guys.

автор: Adilvane

20 сент. 2017 г.

This class was fantastic for my kids and me. Some of the videos I had to call my daughter (7th grade) to watch and take notes on how to better knowledge received in class and online. I also had the opportunity to take some of the tips to my nephew, he is a senior high school and doing some online classes, and some of the tips from Barbara were just amazing.

автор: Aimee R

5 апр. 2020 г.

Great information! The material in this course is fairly easy to digest, but you really have to think about where you are in your life and your own situation to get the most from the lessons. I really enjoyed the more-scientific lectures about the functions of the brain and how to maximize your memory. This definitely gave me a new perspective on learning!

автор: Aiena M

15 июля 2021 г.

One of the finest courses that I've come across. Insightful and inspiring, it will give you enough meat to ponder for years! The best way to digest them is to take them in chunks, and find out ways of incorporating things in your life that clicks with you. If you need a mind-shift which is scientifically proven about learning, this is the best course!

автор: GOPINATH S

9 июня 2020 г.

If anyone wants to think creatively, take decision, learn new things, change carrier, and understand the real facts about how your brain reacts to your actions, take this course up. Very well designed lectures, excellent delivery, appropriate examples and astonishing animations make this course very unique. Thank you for providing such a wonderful course.

автор: Miriam R - B

8 мая 2020 г.

Thank you so much to our dearest teachers and also to the people behind this great MOOC! This is really helpful and amazing! Most of all, learnings are very useful in real life but ofcourse we must take an action and use our learnings. As said if you don't use it, you'll lose it. Happy to take the opportunity of learning these online courses. God bless.

автор: Alan M

30 апр. 2020 г.

I found this course to be inspiring and also consolidating what I already knew or already practised. It also reminded me of techniques I had forgotten. I found this presentation style felt "light weight" and didn't seem to be introducing a lot of new material, but after completing it, I could see that I had remembered and practised a great deal. Thanks.

автор: Yuki H

6 мая 2020 г.

Amazing course with a lot of creative, fun and helpful ways in helping learners to better understand course concepts! It teaches a lot of interesting insights that can further educate learners, as well as boosting their confidence! Fantastic usage of illustrations and techniques in helping learners in their study. Great instructors with sense of humor!

автор: Sripooja M

20 февр. 2019 г.

Learning how to learn has a great impact on the way I think, I did not want the course to end. When I saw that Mindshift is an add on to LHTL I was very happy as wanted to learn and understand more. LHTL, Mindshift are two great courses! I enjoyed learning lot of intriguing stuff. Thanks to the content makers for providing such well curated content :)

автор: suraj p

30 нояб. 2020 г.

its a great course and i suggest everyone go through this with. Dr. Terrence and Dr. Barbara are great teachers and there is a lot to things to learn from this course.

the only one comment i had about this course was the awful intro music, i had to listen to it so many times that i developed an earworm. it would be great if you got rid of that music.

автор: Anum A M

14 нояб. 2020 г.

I completed the Mindshift course on Coursera. It was a great course on Coursera. The Mindshift book is a companion to the course. I bought the book along with audio format. I listened to the audiobook while commuting to work. I love Barbara's voice as she narrated the book. Highly recommended to everyone who wants to have a lifelong learning journey.

автор: Aanusha P M

7 сент. 2020 г.

A high-recommend for anyone interested to learn new things or take up a new career or just want to stay vibrant and energetic. It gave me the much needed self-assurance and confidence to try things i like/want to do but was apprehensive to start. The statements with scientific backup presented in an easy to grasp way tend to give a happy MindShift :)

автор: Courtney S

29 июля 2020 г.

I really enjoyed this MOOC. I took away a lot of pointers to help me in making a Career change and Life in general. The lessons are short, I didn't feel overwhelmed. Depending on what is being talked about,depends on how much notes I took about a subject. I liked how certain subjects were broken down. It made it easy to understand and follow along.

автор: Vanessa K

7 июня 2020 г.

This course is highly recommended for any one at any age if you are thinking you are not able to learn any new things any more. Do not despair! The course is broken down into very simple but impactful parts with videos not more than 5 minutes each. This helps to prevent fatigue and also helps in my learning. Engaging, fun and very useful materials!

автор: Lisardo P G

6 мая 2017 г.

Another outstanding MOOC by Dr. Barbara Oakley and Dr. Terrence Sejnowski. Very instructive, motivating and inspirational. The course is mainly composed by catchy videos that are succinct, really funny, and in most cases, helpful and revealing. The tasks to be done are easy and they do not take too much time to be completed.

Definitely recommended.