Chevron Left
Вернуться к Metagenomics applied to surveillance of pathogens and antimicrobial resistance

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Metagenomics applied to surveillance of pathogens and antimicrobial resistance от партнера Датский технический университет (DTU)

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 217
Рецензии: 55

О курсе

The field of metagenomics and whole community sequencing is a promising area to unravel the content of microbial communities and their relationship to disease and antimicrobial resistance in the human population. Bioinformatic tools are extremely important for making sense out of metagenomics data, by estimating the presence of pathogens and antimicrobial resistance determinants in complex samples. Combined with relevant explanatory data, metagenomics is a powerful tool for surveillance. In this course, we teach about the potential of metagenomics for surveillance and give the learners an overview of the steps and considerations in a metagenomics study. After this course, the learners will know: - the difference between the concepts of metagenomics and other microbial genomics - the need to use controls in different steps of a metagenomics study - the advantages of metagenomics for the surveillance of antimicrobial resistance - how sampling design, sample size, sample material and sample handling influence the outcome of a metagenomics study - sample processing for bacterial and viral metagenomics - different sequencing platforms and their possibilities regarding metagenomics - the steps involved in a general metagenomics study, including quality control, mapping to different databases, and read count analysis - the principles behind various tools available for analysis of metagenomics data - how to interpret read classification results - the need for epidemiology in surveillance - the concept of global and integrated surveillance - the challenges for the use of metagenomics in surveillance - the potential of metagenomics for surveillance We look forward to welcoming you !...

Лучшие рецензии

IA
28 окт. 2020 г.

I really enjoyed the course. Covered all aspects of a metagenomics project in surveillance of pathogens and AMR, from study design to data analysis and result interpretation.

MD
30 мая 2019 г.

I learned a lot, they covered complex analysis topics in a clear, understandable way. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in microbial metagenomic analysis.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 55 отзывов о курсе Metagenomics applied to surveillance of pathogens and antimicrobial resistance

автор: Juan D C A

25 июня 2019 г.

This course allows interacting with functional exercise in a very real environment in bioinformatics approaches

автор: Maria C

5 янв. 2021 г.

Highly important course, general information for metagenomics, surveillance, and the forthcoming challenges.

автор: Andres P

19 апр. 2020 г.

Thanks, It was a great experience, the quizzes in the middle of the videos kept me engaged.

автор: Aseel A

23 авг. 2021 г.

Thank you, that was a very informative and valuable course.

автор: Michael S A

22 нояб. 2018 г.

This is a very useful course and I recommend it.

автор: Bakhtiar H

18 авг. 2020 г.

Great, practical and informative. Thank you

автор: Michelle L

29 сент. 2020 г.

Excellent! Definitely worth completing.

автор: Juan R S

2 дек. 2019 г.

Muy buen curso, a nivel de máster

автор: Alejandro M C M

5 сент. 2020 г.

Excelente curso y material!

автор: Clark L

12 июня 2020 г.

thank you for the learning

автор: Juan F G M

3 июня 2019 г.

Thank you! Good job

автор: Mark R

5 июля 2018 г.

简单清晰,适合没有接触过NGS的初学者

автор: ABHRAJIT D

19 сент. 2020 г.

nice

автор: Mona A A

3 июля 2020 г.

GOOD

автор: Markus B

27 окт. 2021 г.

I can highly recomment this course. The instructors are competent and their lectures outstanding. I also liked that they provide a brief written summary for each lecture and referred interested students to literature for further reading.

The exams were self-explanatory and I could complete them without consuöting the discussion forum. The exercises are appropriate. Although they are not very difficult (sometimes too easy), I learned a lot. However, they are divided into numerous sub-parts which makes some of them exhausting.

Nevertheless, I would enroll in courses offered by these instructures again.

автор: Elisabetta L

25 февр. 2020 г.

Very good and thorough overview of all steps. I was hoping to see more discussion on principles, rather than software, but overall a good balance of both. The virtual machine was a bit of a pain and did not work for all exercises, hence a long delay in completing the course. Case studies were excellent and i'd recommend having more, to illustrate applications and review methods. Following along someone doing he analysis (e.g. video of screen) would also be very useful. Thank you for the great work putting this course together!

автор: Ananya S

9 июля 2020 г.

I 've never completed a course like this before and I cannot express how great the instructors was and the overall content of the material. I would definitely recommend this course to my friends I will be looking into taking more of these classes through this in the near future. THANK YOU!!!!!

автор: Jesús T

22 окт. 2018 г.

Un curso muy completo que ayuda a expandir un nuevo panorama en el estudio de la vigilancia y resistencia antimicrobiana a través del enfoque de la metagenómica. La única observación para mejorarla es que quien lo tome debe tener buenos conocimientos interdisciplinarios como biología, estadistica, matemática e informática.

автор: Adhip M

30 авг. 2020 г.

Overall very good course.. Could be better if data analysis/ interpretation of long read seq technologies like Oxford Nanopore or PacBio SMRT was incorporated.. Thanks & deepest appreciation to the mentors and all involved in this fantastic initiative..

автор: Muhammad Z Q

17 апр. 2020 г.

This course proved helpful in anticipating the very basic idea of metagenomics analysis along with the useful explanation of data interpretation to dig out appropriate results.

автор: Vitalii B

19 окт. 2019 г.

Subject is very interesting, but final exam is pain. A lot of problems with VM, especially with disk size. And there's very little time to complete it.

автор: Sajid A

23 мар. 2019 г.

Felt a bit complex to understand at the end part but it's a good start to familiarize the field.

автор: Yu W

30 июня 2019 г.

This is an informative and helpful course, with practical exercises.

автор: Kathaleen H

5 мая 2020 г.

I found that the course was very informative and I learned a lot. What I didn't like was how the course was put together. You don't learn everything or are told what you need to learn on the side before taking the quizzes, making the quizzes harder than they need to be. I find you often learn info needed the week before in the week after. It would also be useful to have the final project work along with the course work you are doing rather than shove it all into one week at the end. Loved the course and the material otherwise.

автор: Кристина К

15 апр. 2021 г.

I've had a lot of trouble with the setup of the virtual machine. I believe it's just not made for every PC and operating system and maybe there should be some recommendations as part of the instructions as to which version to download. I couldn't set up a shared folder, therefore I was forced to download the files through the virtual machine's browser, which was extremely time-consuming and difficult.

Overall, I did enjoy all the lectures but I could use a little more detailed instructions for the exercises.