Chevron Left
Вернуться к Социальные факторы умственного здоровья и умственных заболеваний

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Социальные факторы умственного здоровья и умственных заболеваний от партнера Торонтский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 294
Рецензии: 101

О курсе

Learn how social factors promote mental health, influence the onset and course of mental illness, and affect how mental illnesses are diagnosed and treated. This course explores how our understanding of mental health and illness has been influenced by social attitudes and social developments in North America and around the world. The course begins by situating our contemporary mental health practices in historical context, then looks at different aspects of mental health, mental illness and mental health services and their connections to what’s going on in our social environment....

Лучшие рецензии

AW
27 сент. 2020 г.

A very enlightening course. This opened my eyes a lot more to what Mental health is all about and how patients with diverse mental illness struggle through their journey to healing and recovery.

HA
18 авг. 2020 г.

This is a very interesting and eye opening course. Professor Williams explained in such a way that students like me with zero knowledge could understand and be interested. Highly recommended.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 102 отзывов о курсе Социальные факторы умственного здоровья и умственных заболеваний

автор: Dean M

21 янв. 2018 г.

Needs to be updated. Everything is prior to 2013 data when the DSM has been updated

автор: Yomna A M A Z

27 мая 2019 г.

it is indeed a good and rich course. but i didn't like the idea of a) peer graded assignments and b) not having exams on each part so that we could feel the sense of a real course not just a huge amount of information without evaluating how much did we understand from it.

автор: Oran B

10 нояб. 2016 г.

I am currently in my second year of counselling and I found this course really helpful to understand the social impact of mental health and illness. The course is very informative, with excellent learning resources. I have recommended this course my peers, I am a full-time teacher, as a way of understanding the extended context of our learners.

I thoroughly enjoyed to course and would take any other course taught by Charmaine. Her teaching style and passion for subject knowledge hand me hooked on the course right from the start!

автор: Dorothy H

21 сент. 2017 г.

This course I think would really only be pertinent for people who live and work in Canada or who would want to or are very interested in this subject as it relates to Canada's history and practice.

The name should be: The Social Context of mental Health and Illness in Canada.

автор: Katerina M

24 авг. 2020 г.

Very dissappointing course. It is outdated. It is evident that it was created in 2013 and has not been updated since then. As a consequence, it refers to disorders that don't exist any longer in the current taxonomies and is based on DSM-IV althouth the DSM-5 was released 7 years ago!

автор: Nicola J

29 апр. 2019 г.

I found this course very interesting and engaging. It looks at how mental health and illness are socially constructed and how this can lead to stigmatisation and negative outcomes for the person with a mental health condition. The other side of the coin shows how when support networks are in place and when mental disorders are de-stigmatised the outcomes for many people are considerably improved. My thanks to the educator and course organisers for this informative course.

автор: Ilhwan D

27 февр. 2017 г.

An amazing course! Dr Williams is a great and engaging lecturer, and the information is presented extremely well. Furthermore, the content is very interesting and adds aspect rarely touched in other courses on mental health, such as cultural aspects and effects of colonialism.

автор: Steven Z F

10 нояб. 2016 г.

I like this course, it helps me a lot during my master of social work application season.

автор: Prompiriya P

21 июля 2020 г.

While this course is informative, some of the information is outdated because the course is made long ago. Furthermore, lecturer talks very fast while often stumbling with words or sometimes accidentally uses the incorrect term in one video before addressing it in the following videos which makes it confusing. Overall I don't enjoy listening to the lecture compared to many other courses. And if you can find courses with updated information, go for it instead.

автор: Aksiniia I

14 июня 2018 г.

P

автор: Karen B

31 мар. 2020 г.

Thank you to the University of Toronto and to Charmaine Williams for this very useful contextualising of mental health and illness. Having experienced a recent mental health crisis with a family member, this really helped to frame our experience in a new and valuable light. I also feel validated having responded to my experience by becoming a peer advocate teaching psychoeducation courses for carers of loved-one's with mental health difficulties in emotion regulation. It is certainly helping me, knowing that it can help others and keep strained families in tact and emotionally available to one another.

автор: Joseph C

16 июня 2020 г.

An amazingly enriching course from beginning to end. The social context used in the course is based on a global perspective, touches on a wide variety of social dynamics (such as feminism, modern day colonialism, theory of gender, and ableism) and delivered in an interesting, encouraging and light-hearted manner. Professor Williams shares with you a fair and insightful critique on modern understanding of mental health and illness and on how we arrived to where we are today. I would highly recommend this course to professionals and beginners alike. Thank you Professor Williams!

автор: Megan R

10 сент. 2020 г.

This course was a great experience for me! I am able to recognize the determinants of health, have a better understanding of deinstitutionalization of psychiatric wards, which helps me with my understanding of the US prison industrial complex and how we might be able to deinstitutionalize that system as well. I have a better grasp on the variables that help shape a person's mental wellness and/or illness. I also have a deeper understanding of world history and the effects of colonialism and imperialism on cultures and how they view and treat mental health.

автор: Janine D

17 апр. 2020 г.

Charmaine Williams is an excellent Instructor. I have taken other courses on Coursera and the structure of the readings, lessons and assignments are very well organized. The Social Context of Mental Health and Illness will really open your eyes to how the world see's individuals diagnosed with a mental illness and what is society has done and is doing to those diagnosed. So many factors contribute to Mental health and Mental illness and this course will definitely give you a greater understanding. Thank-you Charmaine Williams!! Keep of the good work.

автор: Anoop M C

6 июня 2020 г.

it was a great learning experience going through this course on "Social Context of Mental Health and Illness". The lecturer is excellent, the way she lectures and her language are outstanding. my overall understanding on the different perspectives on mental health and illness is changed. the course is good opportunity to understand the concept of mental health in different cultures and social contexts. personally suggest that the course should be taken up by all those who would work in a psychiatry setting.

автор: Albine G B

27 июня 2020 г.

It was such a wonderful experience. Excellent job creating a classroom environment where students can interact and engage with the course material, share their views and thoughts, You also gets to learn from discussion forums, reviewing peer assignments. Gets an exposure to different perspectives. Would like to thank our course instructor Charmaine Williams. her classes are well organized, informative and compelling. Thank you, Coursera for providing us such a wonderful platform to learn.

автор: Stephanie M

28 сент. 2020 г.

I really enjoyed this course. I felt I learned a great deal about the social aspects of mental health. I enjoyed learning about the history of mental health. On a side note to that, I started watching Netflix series Ratched. It reminds me so much of the history I learned. The series itself is a little dark but entertaining. Thank you so much for such a great learning experience.

автор: Renee K

14 янв. 2021 г.

I enjoyed this course from beginning to end and the whole journey of learning about the social context of mental illness has made me have a broader aspect, As I may delve in and learn more in psychology. I'd highly recommend anybody interested in the social aspect of psychology. Great course and Thank you Lecturer Charmaine Williams for making the course very interesting.

автор: Nanna N H M

12 окт. 2020 г.

Fantastic course which gave a good insight into mental illness and health. After the course, I learned to see mental illness from many other aspects than I did before. I also learned how many different kind of factors that influence the promoting of mental health and how our view of mental illness have changed over time. Overall, a great course with a great teacher!

автор: Miguel N d O

15 окт. 2020 г.

The course The Social Context of Health and Mental Illness brought a new understanding about the process of psychic illness. I am already developing in my profession everything I learned in the course. I really liked how the teacher Charmaine Williams da led the entire course. Thank you very much for facilitating this very enriching waste.

автор: Desiree A

17 февр. 2021 г.

Thank you for a well organized course. I really enjoyed this course. I have been taking whatever courses I can on Mental Health. We have some much mental health going on in this world. I believe the more knowledge we have on mental health and illness, the more we can help people that are going through mental health or mental illnesses

автор: Sabah W

1 мая 2017 г.

A great course. Charmaine Williams is a fantastic educator who made the learning easy, practical and very useful. The course has enabled me to reflect on my situation with much greater awareness. It has also motivated me to be supportive of families who are experiencing difficulties with mental illness. Very grateful.

автор: Jann M

28 мая 2020 г.

A very interesting course right from the beginning. I really like Charmaine as a presenter and that she voiced her personal opinions about social issues such as discrimination of Indigenous Peoples, Racism, Culture, Ageism and Gender Identity. Thank you Coursera and Thank you Charmaine.

автор: Mwanahawa A

5 сент. 2020 г.

Wonderful Course! The material was interesting and engaging! Professor WIlliams' enthusiasm for the course was very contagious! I loved every moment of learning. It really broadened and deepened my understanding of mental illness and mental health! I highly recommend this course!

автор: Magdalene J

9 нояб. 2020 г.

Thank you Coursera and University of Toronto for this excellent course on the Social Context of Mental Health and Mental Illness. The lectures, readings and other resources provided in this course under the admirable guidance of Prof. Charmaine Williams is deeply appreciated.