Chevron Left
Вернуться к Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies от партнера Уэслианский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 1,560
Рецензии: 496

О курсе

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

Лучшие рецензии

RD

Aug 01, 2020

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

KK

Jun 03, 2020

one of the best course I did on Coursera. I really love learning memory and psychology at the same time. the examples given are really just awesome. One useful course during this COVID-19 pandemic.

Фильтр по:

176–200 из 484 отзывов о курсе Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies

автор: ANGELA C

Sep 14, 2020

A very nice opportunity to review the concepts about memory, a subject very important through all the stages of the life. Thank you

автор: Darlene d V

Aug 29, 2020

This is an excellent course, I would take another course from this professor. Thank you, I learn much and have much to think about.

автор: veronica g

Jul 15, 2020

It's a wonderful course!!! I really loved it!!! And Professor Seamon was very helpful and made very interesting the course. Thanks.

автор: Yenai J

Aug 13, 2017

I have fully enjoyed this course. I have learned a lot and the movies were great examples for the topics that were being discussed!

автор: Carole C

Dec 02, 2016

I loved everything in the course: the structure, going in depth in the concepts, the little quizzes and the movie clips. Thank you!

автор: Prabhleen A

Aug 03, 2020

It was an interesting course. I loved the peculiar movie selection and the way various aspects of memory is described through them

автор: POTHURI S V

Jul 07, 2020

It was a breezy course. My interest was kept intact throughout because of the the wonderful explanations of Professor John Seamon.

автор: Thomas d S

Apr 09, 2018

Came for Memento, stayed for the soothing, sexy voice.

This course is a perfect example of how to use entertainment for education.

автор: Siew L T

Jul 06, 2020

Interesting approach in the use of films to teach such a topic. It helps me to learn both visually and auditorily . Thank you.

автор: Tilman J

Jul 28, 2016

A thoughtful and sometimes touching course. It gave me a lot to think about memory and the changes that occur in us as we age.

автор: Karthigeyan

Aug 30, 2017

The course was really entertaining. Came to know a lot of concepts related to memories and also some good movies. Thanks!

автор: Stegaru M P

Mar 09, 2017

The idea of linking the concepts to movies is really good. I hope to see a course that continues what I've learned so far

автор: Emily Z

Jul 14, 2020

A charming and very quick (can be done in about 5-6 hours) class but very interesting! The movie clips are fun to watch.

автор: Amy Y

May 10, 2020

Amazing course. A very memorable and effective way of teaching using the movie as a guide and application for knowledge.

автор: Prateek R

May 19, 2016

Really liked the idea of using movie clips.. -- gives audio/visual illustration/example to textual psychology topics..

автор: Raluca M

Jul 06, 2017

This has been a very enjoyable course, well structured and entertaining. I have recommended it to some of my friends.

автор: Isha P D

Apr 10, 2020

Very helpful and really very interesting, Sir has a really high knowledge and puts things up very clearly! Thankyou!

автор: Germán E C H

May 22, 2018

i BEGAN TO STUDY PSYCHOLOGY IN MY CINEMA CHAIR.BY THAT PSYCHOLOGY AND MOVIES ARE MY BETTER WAYS TO STUDY HUMAN BEEN.

автор: RITESH G

Aug 31, 2018

Love the innovative way of learning the concepts on Memory through some excellent collection of movies. Thank you.

автор: Ronald M

Jul 04, 2017

This is great course about memory! I enjoyed all the movies that were used as examples in the course! Recommended.

автор: Christy L

Jun 27, 2017

This course was easy to follow and entertaining and it was especially useful for learning about ageing and memory.

автор: Mary H

Sep 14, 2017

Relating the concepts to movies made them easy to learn and remember. Very comprehensible and pleasant lectures.

автор: Jean S

Aug 06, 2017

Excellent course informative and entertaining. I especially enjoyed the film clips which illustrated the lectures

автор: Maria

Mar 31, 2016

Great course, i really enjoyed it. The material is very interesting and very well presented. Great job Professor!

автор: Lisa M

Jul 26, 2020

Very interesting course. I recommend it for an overall knowledge of the memory functioning. Thank you, Jackie ;)